Learning How To Ride the Waves of Change With Grace

in #life6 years ago (edited)


Hi Friends!

Change is a natural and normal part of any organization or platform. Learning to rise above it and take these changes with grace has been hugely impactful to my life and how I approach things.

Before I even talk about Steemit - I have another example for you.

Let me Tell You a Story



At my day job - we got a new President about 3 and a half years ago. He proceeded to fire a lot of the current executives, bring in his own people, and completely change the culture from something that felt like a family - to something that felt much more corporate.

Since then, many of my fellow co-workers complain that they feel stuck, like they have no opportunities, like they could get fired at any moment, and that things aren't "like the used to be". Their comments have often become reality for them. Most of them are stuck in lower level positions that they aren't happy with, and some of those people have been fired. I on the other hand, have received multiple promotions, accolades from top management, and Vice President's literally fighting over me to get me in their departments.

Is it because i'm the smartest, most talented, most organized, most creative... etc?

ummm... no.

It's because when everyone else was complaining about not having opportunities - I rose above it all and decided to just show up to work every day and put my best work into the world. I started to create opportunities for myself by voicing my ambitions to top management. I am now in a position that they created specifically for me based on what I told them I wanted.

I Have Been on Steemit for 10 Months... and Bring This Same Approach to My Content Creation



I am inching up on a full year here... and I will tell you that I have seen a lot of change in that short period of time. There have been different things that are the "big issue" of the time, that fall and are replaced by something else. Honestly, I commend those who fight those battles - but I have taken a different approach. I have chosen that no matter what seems to be going on, to just keep moving forward and to keep improving my content.

When the price of Steem dropped and a bunch of people stopped posting due to the lower payouts - I did the opposite. I used that time to really double down on my efforts and continue to press forward and show up everyday.

I Hope This Helps to Encourage the Dtube Community



I know there has been a lot of questions, concern and worry in the last 24 hours as everyone tries to figure out what the latest changes to Dtube means to them. I have had a lot of people reach out to me directly on Discord to see what I think. What I've been saying is that this is just another change in the constantly evolving world that is Steem and I'm not going to expend energy worrying about something that is out of my control. Instead, I'll keep moving forward and creating content that I think matters.

Throughout the various changes I've seen on the platform, I have always found that letting go of worry, rising above the moment, and continuing to put my best work into the world will attract the right people to me.

I hope that some of you that are still trying to sort out what you think found this encouraging. If you have any thoughts or questions on anything I mentioned in this post... I'd love to hear from you. <3

xo, Lea

21D684CB-CA72-4207-9485-43D5D4994863.gif


Equipment Used in this Vlog



In order to add an extra layer of transparancy and value to my vlog's, I will be adding a list of equipment used at the bottom of each one! If you ever have questions about the gear I use, or how I use it - please don't hesitate to ask.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I have a hard time accepting change. Actually, I fight it as much as I can and only give in when I see there is no other way. I wish I was more open like you and could flow with these changes.

Actually, I think I'll start making the conscious effort to accept the things I cant change. Who knows, my life might become better for it.

I commend you for being willing to give it a try! Accepting the things we can't control is HARD. I always feel more at peace when I'm able to do it though.

Best of luck giving it a try! :)

Thanks and I hope I succeed too.

Hi @coruscate, greetings from Nigeria
This is very true @coruscate, what you say to yourself everyday is what you become.

If you speak good and positive things into your life, then the positive things would happen to you
And if you speak bad and negative things into your life, well then the reverse is the case.
I've actually been doing the same thing, posting more than i did before since the price of steem started falling.
This is only for a moment so why stop doing the things you love doing for something that is only temporary.
Thanks for this piece dear.

Rise above! Love the positive attitude it helps out a lot in life. Your right things change not stressing or worrying is the best attitude I think also. Just keep going and stick with the groove...Good message

I LOVE THIS!! Its definitely your mindset about things that makes all the difference. Time stressing about these changes is time wasted. 💛

Always forward thinking :) it's been a reflecting time for a lot of us. I think everyone will naturally adapt to what's best for them. And that's basically what's been happening this entire time.

Cheers for the reminder, I'm using the new DTube curation system to appreciate the time I get back from focusing less on video and doing some others things on Steemit.

Are you sure you're not the smartest, most talented, most organized, most creative... etc? 😉
What you put out comes back to you and the more you put out your best the more you become the best!

Hahaha I’m positive... but thanks for the vote of confidence. 😉

Law of attraction for the win!! ♥️

You’re such a beautiful and strong woman and your energy is contagious! I’m so happy to have met you!

aww I am SO glad we met too!!

Thank you for this motivational story. I agree that change is a natural part of live. Learning to “roll with the punches” gets you a lot farther in life than getting stunned every time you get hit with something new. To be quite honest, I don’t really pay much attention to the payouts and what not.

I joined this platform with the intention of sharing my art and passion with the crypto world. Earning Steem for my posts is an extra incentive. I figured since I was posting on Facebook/instagram, may as well try my hand in the Steemit world. Maybe when “the big bucks” start rolling in, I will give these changes some deeper thought.

Upvoted. Yes, agreed, taking changes through grace is fundamental, it is key, it is vital, for transitions, forgiveness, recovery, progress, in life, in relationships, in local communities and especially in families.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04