Blame it on the Hormones- Gratitude #31steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life6 years ago (edited)


Image source

According to studies menopause usually begins when a woman is in her 40s or 50s. I’m in my late 50s and am going through it now.

I’m quite ignorant about the whole process, actually. All I know is my menstruation will eventually stop and I should experience the common symptoms of hot flushes and mood swings which I have. Another symptom I’m hoping not to get is weight gain 😰

Hot flushes, I can handle. Mood swings is another story. My sisters and I always blame it on the hormones. Anytime we’re super sensitive we blame it on the hormones. We can’t be sure that it is always the hormones but it’s good to have something to blame 😅

I’m sharing this today because it just happened to me 😭

Yesterday I made a birthday cake for my niece and decorated it with buttercream frosting. I might be good with fondant designs but I’m terrible with buttercream! I knew she likes baby blue and yellow so I made this 👇🏻


To be honest I was very pleased with it. It might look like a little wedding cake but it had the colours she likes and I thought the rosettes were very pretty.

This morning I showed photos of the cake to my sister. She thought it was pretty but boring. Sprinkles would be nicer. This was such a blow after feeling so pleased with what I’d done. And I hate sprinkles and birthday girl likes baby blue and yellow so what’s the problem? It’s just too boring.

An “argument” broke out and she brought up her friends who had commented on my boring designs donkey years ago. For sure that didn’t help. I was so angry I went to my room to cry. Thoughts of all the nasty things that have happened between us came flooding in! I couldn’t stop it.

I didn’t feel like going for the birthday party. I felt like smashing the cake! But I couldn’t because birthday girl LOVES my cakes! I had to rant to my other sister and get it out of my system. I finally blamed it on my hormones. This time I am pretty sure it was the hormones causing all these feelings.

I’m okay now. Still feeling a bit hurt but I know she didn’t mean to hurt me. It was constructive criticism to help me improve. To be totally honest (I’m a very honest person 😂) I don’t really care to improve because if I never see another cake again it will be too soon!


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://crazymum.vornix.blog/2018/07/08/blame-it-on-the-hormones-gratitude-21/

Sort:  

So sorry to hear that, mum. I know you don't care much for cake making other than the fact that it's meant for others to eat. I'm still very happy and proud of you for being very creative in your own way. Maybe not always aesthetically but the fact that you're so good at making things with your hands :)

Thanks ❤️

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Here are trending posts by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/trending/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Congratulations @crazymum! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Quarter Finals - Day 2


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thank you for your post. :) I have voted for you: 🎁! To call me just write @contentvoter in a comment.

Thanks for the vote 😊

This is a spammer, @crazymum. Don't bother with comments like these.

Ok, thanks 😬

The upvote was worth almost nothing anyways.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63997.36
ETH 3133.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15