Life-long Friends - Gratitude #34steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life6 years ago (edited)


2017 Three couldn’t make it that day.

Many of us still keep in touch with our school friends but usually it’s just a few. 2? 3? Maybe 4? And not every day. I have a bunch of them, 10 to be exact, who I meet up with once or twice a year. We all live in the Klang Valley except for one who lives in Australia. But she returns to Malaysia every year to visit her family and we try to meet up then.

After graduating from high school seven of us continued to stay in touch. For the life of me I don’t know how we did it without mobile phones and social media! 😂 But after Facebook came along we slowly found the rest of our “gang”.


1991. Five of the seven. #6 is taking the picture 😁

It took quite a few years before we found two of my best friends, one from primary one (7 yrs of age) and the other from secondary one (13 yrs of age). What a joy it was to see them again!


Primary 1, 1967. That’s me sitting on my teacher’s right and my best friend standing on her left


2015


Secondary 1, 1973. I’m sitting on my teacher’s right and my best friend is the first on the left of same row


2017

I can’t remember much from my primary days. But in my teenage years my best buddy and I did everything together. We were in charge of the school’s mini zoo and really enjoyed cleaning the cages and feeding the animals.

One day during geography lesson our teacher was having a “private session” with her favourite students. As they listened to her stories we did our own thing. We were caught “not paying attention” and were told that if we were not interested in her class we didn’t have to attend it!

You know, you shouldn’t say things you don’t mean, especially not to me. So, guess who didn’t attend the next geography class? When the bell rang we went to the backstage of our hall with our novels. I was reading “Exorcist” 😅 Of course we were called to the teachers’ room and were given a lecture. Those were the good old days!


That’s our geography teacher. I’m in the second row from the back, 2nd on the left. My friend is in the same row, 6th from the right.

Today the three of us are self-employed. I have my cake business, one of them runs her own catering business and the other owns a sundry shop and is a grandmother 😊

All eleven of us are in a WhatsApp chat group. Every single morning we greet each other and occasionally share some inspirational quotes or silly jokes, and photos of new family members and vacations.

I’m such a lazy bum! Whenever they arrange a gathering I’m like “What? It’s been a year already?” But when we get together we have so much fun! What we have here is great. We keep in touch every day and meet up once or twice a year. Perfecto! 👌🏻

 


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://crazymum.vornix.blog/2018/07/13/life-long-friends-gratitude-34/

Sort:  

You got the exact same face from when you were young! It's pretty F-ing cool that you stuck it to that teacher like that. Probably said that to you cos she figured you probably didn't have the guts to ditch her class. Awesome!

You’re a teacher. Live by example. Say what you mean and mean what you say! 😠 Testing the wrong person! 🤨

Hello crazymum!

Congratulations! This post has been randomly Resteemed! For a chance to get more of your content resteemed join the Steem Engine Team

Congratulations @crazymum! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Semi Finals - Day 1


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

This post has been curated by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00