New Additions to the Family - Gratitude #74steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life5 years ago (edited)


After Oreo’s passing I was pretty sure I wasn’t going to adopt another dog. It’s a huge responsibility and a lot of work. But look at what I did!

It all started when #1 came back in August for our sisters vacation. She had adopted a puppy in April and felt that we too should have a pup to bring life to the house. She actually almost bought us a miniature poodle! Thank God #6 advised her to speak to me first.

I have nothing against poodles. I just prefer medium sized dogs to lap dogs. And I also told her that if I were to get a dog it would be from a shelter. I really don’t want to support puppy mills or encourage more breeding when there are so many strays and abandoned dogs that need a home.

#1 and @rpattwell really wanted me to adopt a dog while they were here, before they went back to the UK but unfortunately time was short and I didn’t want to make a rash decision so I didn’t.

One month down the road my nephew posted a photo of two puppies on our Subang family chat group and asked if anyone wanted to adopt them. He was walking back to his gym, after lunch, and saw two puppies in the the trunk of an abandoned car. It was full of crap, poop and pee!


I said I would love to have them if my housemates would let me. That same afternoon there was a response from my dad. It shocked the whole family. With that out of the way #2 (@megstar) said she wanted one too!

We had to wait till the next day to collect them. And since we were wavering in our decision we agreed that fate would decide for us. If the pups were not there the next day it was not meant to be. But as fate would have it, they were there! @amco and I collected them from my nephew’s gym.



The names that popped up when I saw their photo were Truffle and Nugget. Details aside, I ended up with the black pup I named Truffle and #2 with the brown pup she named Biskit.



Wefie with Truffle

I have no proper experience with puppies. Oreo was two when we adopted him and he was very well behaved. We can’t let the pups loose all the time because they’re not trained and love digging, and we have a fish pond. We keep them in Cabbage’s run and let them out for toilet training, meals and play time.



They are adorable but they are a handful. Luckily #1’s daughter was here and she was such a blessing. Whenever the pups yelped she’d be there before me! But we couldn’t keep her here forever. She had to go back to the UK 😢


Barefoot, in the rain

#2 had great fun with them.


But lately she hasn’t been feeling great, and on top of that she had a fall! So I have been on duty 24/7 for the past week. I really don’t mind handling both of them but training is a problem and I am so sleep-deprived. During the first week I took them out to pee every two hours, even in the middle of the night!

Can things get any worse? Yes, they can. I have been experiencing pain in my right hip and saw a physiotherapist about a week and a half ago. I have osteoarthritis. I would love to run and play with the pups but I can’t.

Luckily @branlee87 comes over on Saturday evenings to tire them out while @siren87 took pictures and videos of them.




They are growing extremely fast and are very strong. I had to cover the top of the run (let’s call it their pen 😊) to prevent them from escaping. But this morning when I returned from marketing I found this! Now I have to put a weight on it!


Let’s hope these two old arthritic aunties can keep up with the pups and not end up rehoming them 🤞🏻


 

20180516_002249_0001.png



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://crazymum.vornix.blog/2018/10/10/new-additions-to-the-family-gratitude-74/

Sort:  

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Do checkout other posts made by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/created/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Congratulation @crazymum! Your post has been recently featured on #TeamMalaysia's Daily Pick Series! They are very adorable and cute!

Have a nice day and STEEM to the moon!

Thank you so much! Really appreciate it 😊

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75