Remineralising Toothpaste Recipe - Gratitude #69steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life6 years ago (edited)


Shortly after I found out that the commercial toothpastes we were using had questionable ingredients I decided to try make my own. I couldn’t believe how easy it was. Just a matter of mixing two or three ingredients in a bowl.

Of course I started with the simplest recipe which ingredients I already had in my kitchen, coconut oil, baking soda and peppermint essential oil (optional). Coconut oil is antibacterial, antimicrobial, and antifungal. Baking soda is a very mild abrasive which aids in cleaning and whitening teeth, and restoring pH balance. Mix these ingredients until you get the consistency that you like.

But I found this recipe too oily. My toothbrush got oily, my mouth got oily, my hand got oily, my sink got oily! More research. Some of the websites said toothpaste isn’t necessary so I tried not using toothpaste for maybe half a year and for the first time in my life my teeth stained! Back to the drawing board.

I continued my search and came upon recipes for remineralising toothpaste. There are a lot out there but I chose this one because I had the ingredients.

@reconstitution and I have been using this toothpaste since April of this year and it seems to be working for us. Of course it won’t feel like commercial toothpastes. Here is the link to the blog with the original recipe. It explains everything you’ll want to know about remineralising toothpaste.

3 Tbsp bentonite clay

Distilled water

1 1/2 Tbsp xylitol

Small pinch of pink Himalayan salt

22 drops of spearmint or peppermint essential oil

Here are the ingredients and utensils I use:



I actually found another remineralising recipe using calcium powder and baking soda. I just might try that for our next batch. After all it’s best not to stick to one recipe for too long.

20180516_002249_0001.png



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://crazymum.vornix.blog/2018/09/16/remineralising-toothpaste-recipe-gratitude-69/

Sort:  

So, creative

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you but it’s the bloggers who share their recipes that are creative 😁

Keep it coming

Posted using Partiko Android

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Here are trending posts by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/trending/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14