It was all going so well...until it wasn't...

in #life6 years ago (edited)


Yesterday was a hugely successful purge day, until it went very wrong.

We combed through, bagged up and burned everything that could not be given away.


I, Stacie D, had set myself on task to go through the totes that are going to my parents' house for storage. We started at six, 55 gallon plastic totes, one extra large hunting box and one extra large Christmas tote. When I headed into it yesterday, we were down to five, 55 gallon totes and the hunting box.

I've learned that it's all about consolidation.

But I knew going in again, determined to lighten the load, was going to be hard.

I started with my dance tote. All my ribbons and trophies and shoes. Quickly though I realized most of them were kept because it impressed my kids.

"Wow Mom! Look at this! You won this?!"

You really can't hear that enough...

But as I cleared them away, the same thought kept coming back to mind over and over.

"You can't make new memories if there is no place to put them."

So, with the Inventor's last line of...

"Mom, you are so cool!"

They were gone.


Next, came the tote full of baby memorabilia.

Fortunately, it was only 2/3 full...the rest were framed pictures of family...keep.

I easily went through it. I had already talked with the Artist about what he wanted to keep.

✔The baby calender that served as a baby book until I found the Inventor was coming. You can literally see where I stopped documenting coincides with him being a soon-to-be big brother. 😞

❌To the mylar balloons from his baby shower.

Then there was a stack of baby quilts their Mamaw and Grandma had made the three of them...absolutely keeping.

Lastly, a bag full of cards from their baby showers.

Since I had been mercilessly throwing cards away all week, I tossed this out too.

About a half hour later the Yeti came up to me and commented about how great we were doing. I think his exact words were...

Wow, I mean, isn't it great that we are passed the yuppie stage of keeping things like pregnancy tests and hospital bracelets?

And that is when my world imploded.


I vaguely remember turning sideways and bracing myself on my knees. I do remember that I was holding my breath until he asked me of I needed to be held, and to that I answered yes.

Just writing this is making me cry...

Inside that bag full of cards, held items I could never duplicate or get back. And now they were up in smoke.


As I stood there crying into my husband's shirt, there were only two things that brought me back to reality...

1.) I always wondered if keeping pee sticks was gross...which now I don't have to worry about.

2.) My 3 beautiful children were living PROOF that surpasses any hospital bracelet or pregnancy test.

I literally just took a deep sigh as I reminded myself again.


So, after the tears dried and we continued on with the day, I found we all made it out of that okay. Nothing really changed.

The Yeti has already made a fire joke to which he promptly asked..."too soon?"

Which I replied...

Gif source

We'll see ya on down road!


Join Us On Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

Hmmm hmmm... I am not passed the stage of hospital bracelets, greeting cards, and pee stick. But I bet you'll feel a lot lighter now that you've reduced the load. xo Aimee

So you kept your pee sticks too? That makes me feel better about the potential gross part haha

The cards were hard at first, but we have kept a box of letters written from family.

Affirmative. I definitely have a slightly gross pee stick. I only took one and there was no doubt it was positive. I think, because I was carrying twins my pregnancy hormones were sky high early. Ha ha ha!

Letters are good. That's why I have so many cards, because people write such beautiful messages. It's hard to let that go. I also like to have peoples handwriting. It's like having a little piece of them with me. -Aimee

Haha you had double the hormones! We always took two! Ya know...great news has to be doubled checked! hahaha I remember calling the dr. right away with the first and I was shocked they wanted wait until I was 8 weeks (I think) to see me. I was expecting them to rush me in and run tests! Hahaha They were excited for me...about as excited as you can muster when that is your job, but there was no medical emegency like I had built up in my head.

I really love handwriting also! It does feel like a piece of them...no one has the same handwriting.

Ah ha ha! I know the feeling of wanting to make the pregnancy "official" as if growing a tiny human inside you isn't official enough, right? Here in Alberta there is limited funding for midwives so I was told if I wanted one I had to apply as soon as that I saw that pink line. I also made an appointment with my doctor to "confirm" the pregnancy. It all seems so silly now, but a funny memory none the less. -Aimee

Haha right? I always wonder how differently our pregnancy's would like now. Our focus is way more holistic...so I can see us with a midwife now!

I feel for you. But like you said you have beautiful children that you can see every day. They hug and love. Things can't. The memories can never be erased.

Ahhhh that made me misty eyed! Thank you for that.

I can understand that initial reaction of "Oh crap!" I am a keeper of memorabilia. An organized packrat. I've eliminated a lot over the years, but I still have a few boxes of things I like to look at from time to time. Not everyone has sentimental feelings towards stuff. My sister has tossed out so many belongings, I don't understand why her house isn't completely empty. You have to just figure out what is important to you, and then don't let anybody else make you feel guilty about it.

Yeah...it is crazy how different people handle different memories. I've been pretty fortunate that no one has made me feel guilty.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17