Fully Booked For The Month Of July

in #life5 years ago


source
It doesn't look like much, but they serve great food.

Last week I tried to make a booking for July at the local Portuguese restaurant in our area. It is about 15 minutes away in a fairly rough area and the area has changed dramatically since it was established in 1975. It was a good area and now it is a slum/drug haven type area. It has really become a forgotten area and they have to do this to stay relevant I suppose


source
Every year they run specials for the month of July and I have heard so much about it I thought I would treat everyone. After phoning them I was told they are fully booked and some guests have already put their names down for next year.If you look at the prices you can understand why it is popular. Divided by 15.5 for the Dollar price and you can see a whole Chicken costs around $3.

source
The prawns don't look too bad either.

The reason why I bought this up was I was at the Chiropractors on Thursday afternoon and there was a patient in the waiting room talking to the receptionist. They were talking about food and mentioned this restaurant. I butted in and asked them if they managed to get a booking for next month and the patient who is Portuguese himself said yes "for the month of July". He has booked a table every day for July. Not surprising why I can't get a table then.


source

The food I have heard is really good and they have car guards looking after your car outside. I am a bit hesitant to book for the evening as the area is that dodge. I would go during the daytime, but not the evening. We have some other Portuguese restaurants in the area and what makes them all different is the sauces that they make themselves. The Chili sauce in an old spirit bottle is a common sight and they are all fabulous. They are all known for great seafood and serving the whole chicken dishes with a peri peri flavor. This is where the Nando's restaurant originated from and is now a restaurant chain around the world.

Sort:  

Wow looks good! For some reason I thought Portugal was on the Euro? What is the currency called there?

I am in South Africa,Johannesburg. This area I live in has a large Portuguese /Lebanese community. This explains why there are quite a few of Portuguese restaurants. This one remained in the original location whilst others moved as the area deteriorated and this is why they need to do specials. It is not an area you go to voluntarily and visit regularly. The currency is the Rand.

Mmm home made peri peri, looks a tops place!

Hi, @cryptoandcoffee!

You just got a 6.12% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

I don't think I am that familiar with Portuguese food. It definitely looks like something I would like to try though. Those are some awesome prices for the food. Why do you have so many different ones there in SA? Is there a big Portuguese community there where you live?

There are so many Portuguese people in my area you would think you are in Portugal. Lots came over when Mozambique went into civil war. There was a saying many years ago. When the Jews leave it is time to go and when the Portuguese leave it is too late. They ended up in the South of Johannesburg and I love their food ,so not complaining at all.

Oh wow, that is crazy. It definitely looks like a cuisine I wouldn't mind trying sometime.

You got a 13.42% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @cryptoandcoffee! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 40 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 67020.94
ETH 3270.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.62