Yesterday We Sang In the Most Beautiful Place in Quebec with Marc Hervieux (The French Pavarotti)

in #life6 years ago (edited)

la-basilique-notre-dame-de-montreal-0.jpg

Have you ever had the feeling that your whole being is transported or elevated in the midst of music? Well, that's what happened to us yesterday when we had the privilege of singing in the Notre-Dame Basilica in Montreal.

The Saint-Lawrence Choir, the choir we have the privilege to be a part of, was accompanying Marc Hervieux for the biggest Christmas concert of the year. The line to get into the basilica was multiple blocks long and people were really excited to be there.

Choir singing is a big deal now in Canada

That might be surprising to a few but more people are involved in choirs than they are in hockey teams in Canada.

Music is such a powerful tool of bringing people together and to sing the songs that are at the foundational level of our culture is an experience beyond words. To be honest, I've never to date met a music director who was not deeply religious. There is something divine in music that cannot be rationalized away...music can touch our being in a way that no idea or word can.

O Magnum Mysterium

My personal highlight of the night was to sing O Magnum Mysterium. It's about the great mystery of the incarnation...how God would make himself man and humble himself to the lowest place among the people.

If you get the chance to listen to this, closed eyes with headphones, I promise you...it's quite something. This song is a long progression that peaks around 4 minutes...guaranteed to bring shivers down your spine.

Our choir director Philippe Bourque made us learn it by heart and when we played it together last night it was just one of those "moments" in life when we were transported beyond ourselves into the eternal. Words fail to describe.

If you pass by Montreal and want to hear one of our concert, check out the website of the St-Lawrence Choir.

Conclusion

Anyway, I know this has nothing to do with Steem but I thought I would share a little bit of what's going on in my life and to invite you to experience the great spiritual joy of Christmas with me in music.

Here are a few photos (bad quality I know) from last night.

I wish you a Merry Christmas, Peace on Earth and Good Will Towards Men.

basilic.jpgbasilic2.jpgbasilic4.jpg

Sort:  

It really touched me to read how much you can get lost in music and feel the divinity by listening! I am a HUGE music lover who listens to a lot of different music styles about 4- 12 hours a day :D
Music is kind of my life elixir and something truely spiritual and emotional. The atmosphere of churches and cathedrals makes it even more beautiful! My husband and me visited a classical music concert in a church a few weeks ago and it was so pure, touching and magical! I almost had to cry as it was so deep and gave my goosebumps all over my body :)
Music really is much more than sounds! It is a journey directly into your heart and soul and a language everyone understands and connects us to the divine. When I go dancing sometimes people tell me that I look like I am the happiest person on earth while closing my eyes and getting lost in music :)
Nice to read you appreciate this beautiful kind of art, too! And your pictures look amazing! Must have been an overwheliming feeling to be there and feel and live the music!

Have a wonderful Christmas festival, a happy new year and a precious and amazing time :)

Best wishes to you :)

The effect music have on us is not explainable. It is just so overwhelming that your head starts to swell and you feel like you are in paradise, most especially, if the beat is top-notch. Music is indeed intoxicating. I'm a lover of music too. I try as much as possible to dance when I listen to music even though people say i don't know how to dance lol. What's your favorite song @endorphoenix? #OWB

Dear @williams-owb :)
You described that so well my friend! :)
Music makes us feel like everything else around us disappears and there is only you and this journey inside your heart :)
I guess everyone can dance :) It's not about knowing the perfect steps of some dance styles, but just have fun and express yourself. If you have fun while dancing, you definately can dance :)
I think it's GREAT you keep on dancing, as often as you can!
It's sooo hard to say which is my favourite song as there are so many good ones out there and I listen to so many different styles of music :)
I love this one SOOO much:


It makes me so emotional everytime as I feel it in every cell of my body :)
And I just love the movie "The fabulous destiny of Amelie Poulain". Do you know it? :)
Whats your favourite song dear williams-owb? :) I am always happy to discover some great new tunes :)
Best wishes and a wonderful Christmas to you! :)

Yea, I dance and enjoy myself and ignore them. Dance is about having that inner satisfaction within oneself and not about pleasing others. It is not like am in a dance competition or something haha.

I love this great tune by Tatiana Manaois a lot that whenever i listen to it I feel happy from within. It is titled "HELPLESSLY".

I havent seen "The fabulous destiny of Amelie Poulain"yet. I would try and get it.

#OWB

Great point of view, dear @williams-owb! Dancing is something to set your soul free and having inner satisfaction! You are so true! :)
It's great you can ignore them! And I bet you are a great dancer,especially as you love to dance :)
Thank you for your tune! I'm excited to check it out :)
Have a great day! :)

Thank you @endorphoenix 😆. I'm glad you love the tune.

Wait are you in this choir?
Are there any Handel's Messiah singalongs in Montreal? Definitely worth going to if so.

Yep, we are! There are many Handel's Messiah singalong in Montreal. :-)

Good. I wasn’t sure if it was as popular since it’s in English.

Have you ever had the feeling that your whole being is transported or elevated in the midst of music?

Yes when in God's presence, the song just captures you and you feel somewhat relieved, relaxed and happy

after i look into your face - you cant show your emotions straight after this music:) this kind of music give me feeling of medieval age

I tell you, there are some songs and music that has a way interacting to our spirit man especially when such song or music is born from devine inspiration. I wish I was there ,I like where worship is going on and the presence of God broke out and saturate the whole atmosphere as a result of song or powerful man is and bringing the deep things of the kingdom. I really enjoyed this video,truly ! The music came as a result of divine inspiration. Thanks for sharing this wonderful and life touching video

Music is such a powerful tool of bringing people together and to sing the songs that are at the foundational level of our culture is an experience beyond words.

Music ministers to the soul and makes you feel relieved. Aside sport, music is the next big thing that foster unity and love irrespective of individual differences.

wow very nicely written..i really felt for your words..you have unveiled all the beauty in the music and its connection with life..actually you made me to see it in a very different angle..you are a very good writer..you can talk to the hearts of the people..please do write more..we enjoy them :)

Churches, choirs and christmas. Does it get any better than this?

wow this is one of the best cathedrals I have ever seen, such a great place for big Christmas concert. I wish we could have one here

Music can change you. I’m a guitar player and when I was learning to play as a teenager, I found if I was angry and I picked up my guitar, the music I played changed my emotions. I poured my upset emotions in, and got back calm.

It’s amazing what music can and does do. I played in a band for a number of years and there is nothing like when the whole band enters the zone together. Yes, it’s spiritual.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85