A Drinking Fountain I Found Around The Old Courthouse

in #life5 years ago

IMG_20190131_115137107.jpg

This old drinking fountain is connected to the old courthouse. I looked it up and the old courthouse to me is actually the 3rd courthouse built. That was sometime in 1961. So the old court house was from 1961 to 2017.

That is about right as in those days when they first built the old courthouse I was about 2 or 3 years old. I read that the courthouse before the 1961 courthouse was very beautiful.

The old courthouse to me was of a box shaped type of a building. I don't know what it looked like before that. Maybe if I really searched the internet they might have a picture.

Well, anyway this drinking fountain does have that look that comes from the 1960's. I remember drinking from drinking fountains like this.

Funny how we didn't care in those days about drinking tap water from a drinking fountain like this. Well, in those days nobody was selling bottled water.

What was sold in a bottle was different kinds of sodas, like Coke, Pepsi, Mug Root Beer to name a few. I remember my dad always wanting to check out cars in the car lots when the business was closed.

I figured he like to do that so he didn't have to talk to the salesman. Well, I try not to talk to the salesman or salesperson if I can help it.

If I buy a used car I like to buy it from the individual. If I do that there is no middle man. Well, all the vehicles I own I have purchased from individuals. I just have to make sure they have the pink slip.

OK, lets get back to bottled sodas in the 1960's. At almost everyone of those used car lots they had a soda machine. I would always be fascinated by the outside soda machines they had.

Usually I didn't have any money unless my dad gave me some. Well, if he did it was not often. I would end up drinking water from a water fountain that always seemed to be around the soda machine.

Maybe that was a strategy to make one want to drink soda when taking a little drink of water. Again we didn't think a thing about drinking tap water in those days.

Well, let's go back to the old courthouse that was build in the 1960's. This drinking fountain may have gave a lot of people a drink of water in its day.

Now you see some garbage in it and someone wrote the word, "Was" in it. I guess they wanted say this drinking fountain is a past tense thing.

Yes, it is a past tense thing. Just for the heck of it I pushed the button to see if any water would come out. Nope, I guess this drinking fountain will be non-functional indefinitely.

No more tap water for a person walking around the old court house.

If you enjoyed this blog, please upvote and follow.
Thank you, David.
Image is mine, taken with my Moto G.

Sort:  

/ᐠ-ᆽ-ᐟ\

They say risk only comes from not knowing what you are doing.

Ancient substances always makes me feel amazed. I like to know the mystery

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes. Thank you @tooth-doctor!

Hello @david777111, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72