Buying Old Fashioned Oats From A Bulk Bin

in #life5 years ago (edited)

IMG_20190312_114637934.jpg

Buying in bulk can save some money. So here is a bin of old fashioned oatmeal at $0.63 a pound. I just looked up a price at a Target store for a 18 ounce container from Quaker Oats at $3.99.

So lets break that down to the ounce. The Quaker Oats Old Fashioned at $3.99 for 18 ounces is $0.2216 per ounce. Now let's look at the old fashioned oats at $0.63 per pound is $0.0393 per ounce.

So for 18 ounces of the bulk old fashioned oats at $0.63 per pound will be $0.7074 for the same weight. Well then for the same weight a person will save $3.2826. Wow, that is a lot of savings.

Everyone where I live knows the brand called Quaker Oats. My mom used to cook that for me and my siblings all the time during the 60's, and yes, Mom did use Quaker Oats.

When I was young in those days I don't remember any bulk bins at all in the grocery stores that we used to go to. So either Mom could buy Quaker Oats or the generic brand, but no bulk bins. I only remember having Quaker Oats in the house at that time.

I always drive mom around now days when she wants to go shopping. Mom really likes the savings of the bulk bins. Well, I do too.

I won't buy oat meal any other way. I am always looking for the savings and not really interested in brand names anymore.

One thing I do really like about the Quaker Oats box though was the oatmeal cookie recipe. Well, as a kid, I always thought my mom's oatmeal cookies were the best. She would tweak the recipe and add in prunes baby food.

Well, when she did that and added chocolate chips, I thought it was the best cookie ever. I even got to try some of the other kids mom's oatmeal cookies at grade school and I still thought Mom had the better cookie.

Of course I wouldn't say that to the other kids.

Well, writing about oatmeal sure does bring me back to some memories.

If you enjoyed this blog, please upvote and follow.
Thank you, David.
Image is mine, taken with my Moto G.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61041.41
ETH 2947.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85