I Found Some Snails On My Broccoli Plant

in #life5 years ago

IMG_20190508_055430473.jpg

Yes, I was up early to check out the garden. Then I see these snails. Well, that is interesting and they look kind of big to me. I am not too worried about my broccoli plant as it is going to seed.

Does anyone eat snails? I saw about four or five of them on my broccoli plant. Well, I don't eat snails, but I was thinking if I did eat snails, these snails at least don't have poison on them as I don't use poison in my garden.

It seems like a good source of protein, but how would I even cook them? Maybe boil them, but then I would have to boil them alive. I guess if I were really hungry I would do that.

I just looked it up. Not all snails are edible. Really to me one snail is like another snail. Of course that is not true. I have read though that the average garden snail is edible.

Of course if I really want to get some wild game I could hunt for the skunks that patrol at night. Yes I do see them sometimes and sometimes I do smell them.

I have never eaten a skunk before and I would really have to be hungry to try to eat one. I think so long as I have some rice and my Swiss Chard or kale I would be OK.

Of course there are times when one has to worry about getting food. That is if the stores don't have any food to sell or some how you don't have any money.

Now with the stores running out of food, we have seen that, when there is a big flood, hurricane or some kind of great natural disaster.

If you think about it that way then if all the stores had a run on something like water, I can see it really going bad.

I remember watching a video where there was a flood and all the water got contaminated. The stores had bottled water, but that was out in a matter of hours.

I like to keep barrels of water in my garage just for an emergency. There was one time when I did have a water emergency and it was only me.

You see, I seen a bunch of workers in front of my house and they told me that my water was going to get cut off for a certain amount of time.

Well, use see I wanted to take a shower and go someplace. Then I remembered that I had water in my garage. So I went in the garage to get a bucket full of water.

Then I took it to my bath tub. I seen this on a video where people use only one bucket of water to take a shower and wash up.

Well, that seemed to work for me. Well, the water was cold, but doable. So I did get to take a shower of some sort using that one bucket of water.

So the trick there was to have a little plastic bowl and pour some water on my body and hair, then soap up. Then with the little bowl scoop up more water to rinse off. Well since that worked for me, I just keep on doing that.

Like I mentioned many times on my blog, that we still have water restrictions in California, so mostly to save money, I try to use as less water as I can. Well if I use less water with my household needs, I can use more water for my gardening needs.

Well, I started out writing about snails and ended up talking about taking a shower using less water. That is how it goes.

If you enjoyed this blog, please upvote and follow.
Thank you, David.
Image is mine, taken with my Moto G.

Sort:  

That snail gonna have bad gas soon.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @david777111! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemitBoard to support the german speaking community meetups
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62432.37
ETH 3003.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78