My Asparagus That I Am Growing In Pots

in #life5 years ago (edited)

IMG_20190507_135848405.jpg

This is one of my garden pots with asparagus. I have one plant for each of four different garden pots. I won't eat these now as I will let it go to fern.

I seen a video where you will want to let the plant grow for two years before you start cutting the asparagus for food. So some time at the end of this year or beginning of next year will I start to eat the asparagus of my four garden pots.

You have seen a recent blog of two very small seedlings. Those I will put in a bigger pot and God willing I will consume some two years from now, but for the older plants I will consume at end of year or early next year.

To take this picture I had to push aside some of the other growth. Even as it is, the new growth looks like I can eat now, but I will wait, as I want these plants to be very strong when I do cut the asparagus.

In Youtube I watched a video called, Little Manila: Filipinos in California's Heartland - KVIE. It is put up by KVIEvideo.

I could relate to that documentary as my grandfather and my dad when he was young did pick asparagus. Later on my dad worked for the Post Office as a carrier and eventually retired as a supervisor of a Post Office.

So in the documentary the asparagus was a very hard crop to pick. I used to do field work when I was a kid, but I never picked asparagus. Maybe that was a good thing.

So what is happening with the asparagus fields where I live? Well the asparagus farmers have to compete with Mexico. A lot of them went out of business already.

There is a video called, Farmers Abandoning Asparagus In San Joaquin County. It is put up by CBS Sacramento. One thing about the asparagus that is grown here is the peat dirt. That peat dirt is what makes the asparagus from here taste well.

Well anyway, because these farmers can't compete with the price of Mexico asparagus is why a lot of the asparagus farmers are doing away with farming asparagus.

Well, that is why I would like to grow my own asparagus. I thought maybe it would be too hard to grow, but I seen a lot of videos of people even growing it in pots. So that is what I am doing now, growing them in pots.

I will be looking forward to start cutting this asparagus late this year or early 2020.

Sources 1, 2

If you enjoyed this blog, please upvote and follow.
Thank you, David.
Image is mine, taken with my Moto G.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70884.24
ETH 3570.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76