This Tree Died. The Mistletoe Sucked The Life Out Of It.

in #life5 years ago

IMG_20190111_112525205.jpg

I remember when this tree was alive. This is one of my mom's neighbor's tree. I would be worried about the tree since it had so much mistletoe on it. No one cut out the mistletoe as it was a rental and the owners could care less.

After a while I notice their was not even leaves on the tree in the spring. Well, the mistletoe sucked all the life out of this tree.

Isn't that like life. Sometime there is something that is sucking the life right out of you. It might be a needy friend that keeps on complaining about life.

Or maybe another friend that always has some kind of life emergency and want some money.

Well whatever it is, it could be draining to a point. I try not to let it go too far. The complaining friend I used to encourage a change in thinking.

Like for example a friend used to say, "David, I have a problem." I would stop her right there and say, "No, you don't have a problem, you have a situation." Then I would hear, "Ok, David, I have a situation."

After a few, minutes of talking to her and encouraging her, the situation doesn't seem as bad to her as it was before she called me. I try not to let these type of situations take too much of my time.

When it comes to money. Well, I am retired now and I don't have as much money as I used to. So that friend that always has some kind of money emergency doesn't even call me that much anymore.

We, just can't let the mistletoe of life suck our time and energy.

I remember having a lot of mistletoe on my front tree. It cost me over $500 to have all the mistletoe cut out of my tree. I don't mind paying that much so long as I get the mistletoe out of there. Now days cutting out a lot of mistletoe might even cost more.

Remember the Christmas thing with mistletoe? They would hang it up and if you were under it with someone you are to kiss that person that is under it with you.

I didn't understand that custom. Then I thought about mistletoe that it attaches itself to the tree. Can you imagine a person that tries to attach herself to me? Well, sometimes I run into them. I try to keep my distance from such situations.

Well, if I do let myself be attached to someone that would have to be a woman that I would want as a wife. I have been divorced for decades now. She left me, I didn't want to leave her. I don't ever want to go through a divorce again.

Maybe that is why I still haven't married again.

Oh wow. That is another mistletoe of life, divorce.

I read that some guys don't even want to get married. They say they are not afraid of commitment, they are afraid of divorce.

Like in trying to save a tree, you must cut out the mistletoe to save the tree.

Sometimes cutting out the mistletoe of life is not as easy and it may cost more.

If you enjoyed this blog, please upvote and follow.
Thank you, David.
Image is mine, taken with my Moto G.

Sort:  

This story was recommended by Steeve to its users and upvoted by one or more of them.

Check @steeveapp to learn more about Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface.

Congratulations @david777111! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 60936.15
ETH 2921.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70