International left handed day- Left handed individuals are rare!

in #life6 years ago

Hello steemians!

unnamed (9).jpg
taken from here

Im not one to go around shouting "lefties for life" "left power!" "left is the new right!", I am proud of the fact that I am left handed.

For most of you who would not know and probably dont care, every 13th of August is international lefthanders day.

A day dedicated to the 10% or so of the human population who are left handed.

Now some people are ambidextrous, some people only use left for certain tasks, whiles others are fullblown left handed individuals.

I fall into thst last category, from eating, to typing, to writing, playing games and even football, im wired completely to the left, using my left leg and left hand as my primary limbs.

The world is a right handed world.

Screenshot_20180813-110810.png

In my entire life tho, I have suffered some form of discrimination from a lot of people who see me using my left hand to hand over an item to them and think of it as an insult.

I love my parents in that they never told me using my left was wrong.

Infact I only realized something wasnt right when I went out to buy things.

My siblings and parents pretty much went with the flow, no one mentioned me being left, no one casted me out.

And I think that really built my confidence. If my parents didn't rebuke me for using left, no freaking person had the right to tell me my left hand wasnt good enough.

From how doors to structured to how desks are made, I got to find out that the world is subconsciously right handed.

I was midway through secondary school(high school) when they introduced a new type of desks for students, the type you had to open to get in and I quickly found out it wasnt for me. One had to open it with his right hand and the arm rest was better suited for the right hand man.

I had to inconvenience myself for 3 good years in order to write properly in high school.

O, also, Goodluck handling a knife properly, or any machinery for that matter, most machines are designed to be operated with the right hand in mind.

But!.

Well, we are humans still and we adapt, heck, I play the piano, but I use my right hand for most of the work, im more comfortable playing the piano with my right hand than with my left.

At the end of the day, Im still me, with my left hand and leg, I have surprised a few friends in sport, nothing too big, im happy with the way I do things.

These days, less and less adults give a crap about the hand one uses.

The ideologies of the past are going away and like with all aspects of life, more and more wrong notions of the past are being corrected.

Happy international left-handed day to all :)

Sort:  

Firstly.. I never knew 13 of august was meant for left handed people, i just learnt that today...thanksful🙌 🙌
Secondly, i believe left handers are Unique..i have a friend during my high school days that was left handed, his left foot made us win a football trophy that we never dreamt of wining.. Am happy you are proud of it, and am glad your parents supported you.
happy left handers day, #bless up

Bless up too, yeah, we have a day, its kinda awesome seeing people with left hand, I dont know about if were special, we just do our thing :))

Something I notice about left handed individuals is that they are special, there is always something amazing about them. I had a friend at secondary school who was left handed though his Dad forced him to learn how to use his right hand but he is more good in using his left hand than the right.
Happy left handed day to you and all left handed individuals in the world.

Lol again?

Hmm, whats so special about people with left hand na, I know they are good at sports, but me and sports no agree.
Haha

Maybe I just haven't activated that special thing in lefties yet :D

Smiles
Lefties are so intelligent and good in whatever they do if they are focus just what I have observed

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85