Talking Less and Listening More

in #life5 years ago

We all know those people who just can't keep their mouths shut.

They are the people who love to act like they have their whole life together.

They like to act as if they are just ultimately capable of doing whatever they want and that they have the authority over all of it.

I know a person who is so far into this. He is just a talker and not a real doer.

Maybe it's just my opinion, but when he brings ideas to me and wants to sit down and talk about all these ideas, I laugh it off...

Honestly, I like to take action.

I like to work while nobody is looking. I like to work for the discipline of keeping myself in check and keeping to what I want to do.

For me, I am most productive when I am not trying to juggle a bunch of relationships and meetings with people who just want to discuss ideas and never want to execute on real ideas that are meaningful.

When you talk about what you know and more importantly, what you DO, you talk a lot less.

I talk a lot less these days than I did in the previous years.

These days I am focused on actions. Actions that bring about positive momentum in my life and make a profound change in my journey to the amazing things that I want to build in my life.

I have an idea of the life that I want to live in the future:

to live a life where I can follow my creative passions and learn about the world and learn about interesting things and just generally do what I enjoy doing and share those passions with the world.

Sharing those passions means that I have to get over many fears in my life. One of those fears being the camera and the microphone. It is so easy to write and write and write but it is so much harder for me to look myself in the eye on camera and dish out my knowledge.

My aim is to get better at that and the way to do it is to just practice it every day and eventually put it out to the world and don't give a shit about what it looks like because the truth is: you will always find your flaws and allow them to fester in your brain.

The only way to get over that is to just DO it and realize that others are going to enjoy what you have to say and aren't going to be staring at your flaws!

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62432.37
ETH 3003.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78