We Can Make Up for the Slack

in #life5 years ago

I believe that it's quite evident to most intellectual individuals that the education system slacks in many ways.

There are so many ways in which formal education doesn't allow us to reach our full potential.

From an early age, those of us who grow up with "rigorous" schooling tend to have certain qualities and lack in many others.

Rigorous schooling has become synonomous with this sort of game that the education system plays:

How much shit can you memorize and then regurgitate when we ask you to do so?

^ This has become the standard routine of schooling:

Real learning -- important, fulfilling and meaningful learning -- is something that schools tend to lack in.

I'm not saying that it's completely across the board.

I am sure that there are some schools and some teachers in particular that do their absolute best to teach students to both learn what they enjoy and then apply that learning to real life.

But the vast majority of schools and educational systems are designed in the opposite manner.

They are simply set up to see how good of an employee you can be one day:

  1. can you follow orders?
  2. can you remember things we tell you?
  3. can you regurgitate what we tell you?

It creates parrots in our society.

I for one am aiming to reshape my brain and reshape the way I look at the world.

I want to be in a continuous state of deep learning and I want to seek understanding, not regurgitation of facts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66407.27
ETH 3219.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34