Fake Grown-Ups

in #life6 years ago (edited)

10265440_10152349673203711_2142523186277035804_o.jpg

I am convinced that most people do not grow up...We marry and dare to have children and call that growing up. I think what we do is mostly grow old. We carry accumulation of years in our bodies, and on our faces, but generally our real selves, the children inside, are innocent and shy as magnolias.
― Maya Angelou

I went on a journey quite late. While the younger ones delay their studies to go on a world trip, I was already busy being part of the machine. I was only doing what was expected of me, trying to make a living and have a normal adult life. After all those big milestones, I figured it was time to become a serious grown-up. Work hard every day, pay the bills and buy things that I could finally afford. But after a couple of years, I realized that I might be just faking adulthood just like everyone else. There are things that grown-ups don't really want to admit to themselves, that repressed child quality that can come out depending on the circumstances. But I am not talking about begging your parents for money and acting like a child, I'm talking about that longing for adventure, freedom, and spontaneity. Seeing the world through the eyes of a child.

When I started traveling, my friends were already raising kids. I was not ready for that kind of life. I've seen how my friends changed but I understand that's quite inevitable. They have to start acting according to the society's expectations. To behave like parents, take responsibility and care for their family. If they fail to live beyond their competence, they will be criticized. They cannot think like their younger selves anymore otherwise they will be judged. They cannot admit that they hate being parents. They cannot just say that they don't like their kids. They cannot be selfish and buy things only for themselves. They cannot tell that they don't like their choices in life. I realized how being a real grown-up is such a huge responsibility. Sometimes I think that they are just doing what they have to do because that is what the society expects from them. It's a vicious cycle. You don't see the behind the scenes. You cannot tell what's at the back of their minds. You cannot tell if they are really happy or just faking it. But I know that something in them is screaming. Screaming for freedom. To be free to be themselves. But they just cannot. So I realized that most people are just really faking adulthood.

That time that I should have been working nonstop and raising my own children, I started living my life according to my own terms. I went to a lot of places and met different people. I started taking sports and trying new things. I didn't care if I was too old for any of those. When you start seeing the world through the eyes of a child again, it was like being born again. I realized that I don't have to suppress my longing for adventure anymore. I am free to do whatever I want and be whoever I want to be. While the rest just kept growing, I stopped. I stopped caring what the society thinks. It was freedom.

When I tell stories about my past, I keep telling people that I was young and stupid. Now I know exactly what's going on. But I still do stupid things without giving people an idea of my age. Luckily because I have preserved my youthful look. But even if they know, who cares? I know that some people cannot behave naively anymore, people will only be baffled instead of being charmed. Act your age, will you? Grow up! That's what they are going to get. But believe me, the last thing you want to do is to grow up. If you really want to be happy and free, you just have to stop worrying about what others think and just think for yourself.

People are too busy growing up these days or maybe just too busy faking it. Maybe it's time to loosen up a little and stop being unhappy? People spend the rest of their lives defending their world-view while others continue to adapt their views as they accumulate more experiences. Then there are those pretentious grown-ups mocking how foolish people were and how every generation was more stupid. They start talking like they know everything and will not change their minds anymore. Because they are adults, they stick to what they believe in. It's even harder to look like old fools in front of everyone. Once again, faking it.

I come to realize that real grown-ups might not really exist. Everyone has some repressed child quality in them that can come out if touched or provoked. One push of a button and the so-called grown-up can easily become a child again. Just look at how people interact with one another on the internet, like a bunch of grown-ups acting like children. You're older or that you're an adult kind of superiority attitude is not going to work for me anymore. They are just oversized kids pretending to be adults. There are younger people out there who have been through a lot that most adults have never experienced in their all-too-comfortable lives. Growing up is not really all about the age, it's more about what you have gone through in life.

Sort:  

👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏🎉🎉🎉

While the rest just kept growing, I stopped. I stopped caring what the society thinks. It was freedom.

Are you sure it's not the other way around, and it's not them who stopped growing? 🤣

I have this hanging on my door
IMG-9781.JPG

One of my favorite things I've read on Steemit.

Are you sure it's not the other way around, and it's not them who stopped growing?

Maybe lol.

Beautiful words, thanks for sharing!

So I started writing a book in response to the early comments in your post, then I took a few deep breaths, and continued through the rest of your post. When I got to the end, I realized that my previous response was pointless :)

Growing up is not really all about the age, it's more about what you have gone through in life.

This is absolutely true. I feel like you're describing the difference between being Smart and being Wise. You can teach someone to be smart with enough time and effort. You can never teach someone to be wise.

Wisdom takes reflection on your surroundings and situations and understanding of cause and effect. Being smart simply means that you understand a concept.

It's why you see some young people who have gone through various difficult and sometimes traumatic experiences are so wise to the happenings of the world. They have seen death. They have seen birth. They have seen true love. They have seen pure determination. They have seen extreme hate and evil. And they have reflected and learned about what it takes to survive and how to experience a happy life, regardless of your circumstances.

Oops, I think I wrote another book.. :)

I feel like you're describing the difference between being Smart and being Wise. You can teach someone to be smart with enough time and effort. You can never teach someone to be wise.

Wise words.

You can always write another book!

Truth. I think the idea of being a adult loses its appeal once you become one. It is good to cut loose sometimes and not worry about what someone "should" be doing at a certain age and you seem to have figured that out.

I personally never fit into my age group. When I was a kid I was the one that was way too "mature" and I would get in trouble because I taught the other kids all the words and concepts they weren't supposed to know about. Now I am in my 30's and I am the immature one because I tried not to have kids and didn't marry the first girl that wanted me to marry her and settle down lol.

This concept of adulthood is another form of oppression I think. It uses some social shame to keep people working too hard for too long and it gives them too much to lose, so they never stir up trouble.

This concept of adulthood is another form of oppression I think. It uses some social shame to keep people working too hard for too long and it gives them too much to lose, so they never stir up trouble.

I agree. It is also used to ostracize people. I think it is just another label we put on ourselves. Being yourself is hard in a society where you're told to just follow and be like adults.

I agree. Somehow, I learn to appreciate myself being single. After being in a relationship for 6 years, I haven't been into another relationship since then. While some of my friends are having kids and not totally happy with their husbands, some of them just sent me a message that I'm having a good life. But I'm happy for others who are happy with their loving husbands. Others are just lucky, others not.

But I'm happy for others who are happy with their loving husbands. Others are just lucky, others not.

I feel the same!

Such a true post. My day is a man of few words but once said to me, around my 30th or 35 th birthday:

"You get older but nothing changes you mind still have the same thoughts you just realise you can't act on them anymore"

I think this sums up your post. And at the same time is very true, while I value this advice given I can see the flaws in it. Society prevents you acting on what you mind knows it right! When I have kids I will not change ( I plan) because I enjoy my life and do stupid things kids need to learn adults not always right and sometimes stupid !

Society prevents you acting on what you mind knows it right!

I agree!

We can still be ourselves kids or no kids!

Thats the attitude people need to take more, think how much better the world would be :) 💯🐒

I like what you say, they practically tell us that we should follow that pattern of studying, get a job, get married, have a house and many children want us to follow it that way it is a rule to do so, but the truth is that everything happens to I am still 24 years old, I have not been able to finish studying for economic reasons and I do not even think about having children who arrive when it is time or I want it

True, we do what's best for us! I hope everything would be well for you. Thanks!

I'm talking about that longing for adventure, freedom, and spontaneity. Seeing the world through the eyes of a child.

This*. Man, you just keep putting out posts that I could have written if I could write as well as you. It's good, as I don't have to worry about getting my thoughts out. I should just cut and paste your posts and stick my name on them. You cool with that...? :p

*edit: and a million other quotes I could have included. The adult thing. Like you, one day I just stopped pretending. I'm sick of all the other automatons in society, not living for themselves, but living for others. I can barely stand talking to these people. I honestly get on better with kids and animals. For them life is simple and amazing, which is what it should be for all of us.

I think I might have to add more replies as the day goes on. In truth, I've only read half your article so far, as my brain isn't really working yet for the day. Full function expected within approximately 2 hours...

I'm embarrassed by this reply. You got so many well thought out replies, and then a barely coherent mind dump from a jelly-like mind. I think I might reboot later and try for a slightly deeper reply..

I am not yet replying to comments so you have time to make edits lol. I'll get back to this.

haha, good. I think I'll do another different reply and make a better effort. Brain still not at full functionality yet.

The adult thing. Like you, one day I just stopped pretending. I'm sick of all the other automatons in society, not living for themselves, but living for others. I can barely stand talking to these people. I honestly get on better with kids and animals

Lol, that's why I see myself spending time alone these days. I guess I'd rather be on my own than pretend being an adult with other adults.

growing up is the moment when you realize that we are all just fumbling our way through. When you realize that there is no "growing up"... you're a grown up.

When you realize that there is no "growing up"... you're a grown up.

True that!

Your article makes my head spin with emotion. You act like your old? You just turned 35 right? I see women in their 50s keeping it together, I think you’ll be fine.

There are younger people out there who have been through a lot that most adults have never experienced in their all-too-comfortable lives.

I don't think it's the years that age us so much as it is the experiences we have that wear us down over time...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25