Let Them Go

in #life6 years ago (edited)

P_20180605_181421.jpg

Today as I was trying to look for a package that was supposedly delivered last week, I was getting into fits of rage internally. I am just so mad as to why people say they will do things then they won't. Failing to keep your word is probably the most annoying thing. Some people have a total disrespect for your time. I'm sure there are people like this anywhere in the world, but I am clearly seeing this unreliable type more widespread here. And I totally understand why. Some people have allowed themselves to be disrespected and some have gotten used to disrespecting others. Though it seems that's just how the world works in general, and it sucks.

They say that anything you chase in life goes away. If you chase the money and make it your whole goal in life, it will either go away or give you long-term dissatisfaction. If you chase people, the more they will feel more important about themselves. Sometimes I think we are just here to make others feel significant. What if I just stopped chasing this important package I have ordered a few weeks ago. I'll just wait and see whatever happens. It seems that as people see the more you need them, the more they feel better. They feed into the whole ego-trip while destroying you in the process.

Frogs will pull down others frogs trying to escape a pot of boiling water. There are those who will resent your progress and self-improvement because they don't want to be alone in the pot of boiling water. Perhaps they think that your improvement exposes their own shortcomings. Perhaps they are just threatened by the idea of change. And there are those who just don't get it. They will do everything to get your attention to the point of ruining your life. Some just don't get that you don't want them anymore. No more. Nada mas!

I have stopped chasing these people. It is time to mark some people as spam in the inbox of my life. It is time to 'block or delete' them on social media and mute them on Steemit. You have the choice to be liberated from people who are consciously and unconsciously sabotaging your happiness and growth. Even though they will still do anything to make you realize that you are unhappy because they are not in your life anymore, you can choose to free yourself.

It was hard at first because I was scared to be left with a few friends. There are those who will do anything to hinder your self-improvement. They make you feel like they are the ones you need and manipulate you into thinking that you are shit without them. They try to control you and feed into your vulnerability through subtle manipulation posing as 'reaching out'. They will get in and out of your life. It's hard to call them out because of their narcissism. They will do everything to make you feel worse by projecting their own insecurities upon you. They also think they are always right. They rarely admit that they've messed up, miscalculated or misspoken. They love to be the victims. When the world is perpetually against them, their actions and choices can't possibly be responsible, "it's just the way things are".

I think 'toxic people' is the term for these classic signs. People can be bad when being themselves but it does not mean they are toxic. True toxicity is the kind that infects and takes over your life. The kind that manipulates you. Most people have become true toxic due to some unfortunate events in their lives, insecurities, childhood or relationship trauma. Though it is not fair to abandon them, sometimes it's just best to set boundaries. And to be aware when you're getting sucked into their misery and negativity just so you don't lose yourself in the process.

I've had the type in my life, mostly exes and friends. The thing about me is that I seem to be attracted to this type of people for I am cynical as hell. I am not washing my hands clean as I have my own insecurities and toxicity too. I'm not better. I might even take some of the same toxic qualities I resent in others - something that happens even to the best people out there. Toxic people have a peculiar way of making you toxic yourself. Now I realized that I no longer need those who will weigh me down further and make me the worst version of myself. Cutting toxic people out of my life can blow up in my face. They will come back again and again even after you tell them to go away. You will even have to tell them several times before they finally do. Distancing myself would be a gradual process. And there are cases that you don't have to do anything at all. Inaction is sometimes the best reaction. Let them make the change in themselves and just focus on yourself. Sometimes you don’t owe anyone an explanation, just do what's the best for you. In the end, this is my life, I get to say who I want to be inside my circle.

Sort:  

if on occasions it is unpleasant to be told that they sent you the package when in reality it was not like that I understand your anger.
In life there are people who are toxic to us this type of person it is best to get away from them leave in the past because this type of person seek ways to harm us so that it does not go wrong in life on occasion when we realize it's late.
I understand when you say that there is a person who thinks that without them you are not nadien. These are people who like to manipulate people at their whim. To I have this kind of people, I send them to shit and excuse the bad word.

I understand when you say that there is a person who thinks that without them you are not nadien. These are people who like to manipulate people at their whim. To I have this kind of people, I send them to shit and excuse the bad word.

I think it's better to identify early one to save ourselves. Though, I might still risk being with them due to benefit of the doubt, hurting myself in the process...again.

We are highly influenced by people around us. If you spend more time with positive minded people, you will see a positive change inside you. I agree with the following statement.

Whether you realize it or not, your friendships affect your level of success.
-- Chalene Johnson

True. I remember some quote like we are who we choose to associate ourselves with or something like that.

Absolutely. You will attract people who are like you. I'm happy to meet some amazing people here on Steemit :)

That's great to hear!

It was relieving letting go of toxic people. They only weigh us down and stopping us achieving our fullest potential in life.

Sometimes you don’t owe anyone an explanation, just do what's the best for you. In the end, this is my life, I get to say who I want to be inside my circle.

well said, now I am glad knowing that I don't owe anybody explanation especially that they don't even give a shit.

Have a great day there!

I hope everything will turn out fine for you!

You too!

I moved on from a job two years ago and the people acted different. I was really down on my ass and found a better paying job closer to home and they want to act shitty. Some people never move on.

and they want to act shitty. Some people never move on.

I don't know, maybe they get their happiness from that, it sucks to be them.

"It is time to mark some people as spam in the inbox of my life." Sometimes that is the best think we can do for ourselves. There are quite a few people I purposely cut out of my life over the years and I think I am happier for it.

I feel the same!

Haha Yeah. It isn't easy though. I spent years with no friends because I stoped talking to so many people at once lol.

It's like what I'm going through at the mo. Then I realized I can be my own friend lol, however pathetic that may sound.

I have been there. You start to have a different kind of fun after a while.

Now I wonder what kind of fun that would be lol.

Hahaha I didn't think about it like that but having fun with yourself does sound a little off lol.

I have also encountered toxic people but I can happily say they are no longer part of my life.

What you say about setting boundaries might work, but it clearly depends on the circumstances and the person, sometimes it is simply better to cut every type of contact, because we don't want our lives being negatively affected by another person.

We need to protect our own health and emotional balance.

sometimes it is simply better to cut every type of contact

I agree. And yes I have done this too however difficult.

Thanks for the comment.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations @diabolika! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Your on fire recently haha. Could not agree more I have spend 37 years chasing, desiring and pleasing. Look where that has got me single and living my own with friends all over apart from where I live. Now it's my turn to live and let live, I will choose who my connections are and enjoy myself. I've been following this philosophy for the last year and how much better I feel can not be put into a few words 💯🐒

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66363.68
ETH 3207.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27