Stop Overthinking, Start Living

in #life6 years ago (edited)

2018_0318_200814_014.JPG

Life sucks I know. I get problems all the time but I have to face them anyway. I think things over and over, all day and all night. I'm a slave to my nagging thoughts. Reviewing all the scenarios in my head. All the things that should have said, events that should have happened and decisions that should have been made. Unlimited should-haves occupy the space in my mind, you name it. I think about all the issues that life presents me. I think all the time. I'm a thinker and overthinker. I'm getting crazy.

I am perfectly aware of this whole negative overthinking and how it can be detrimental to my mental well-being. It happens when I have a lot of time on my hands. In reality, I have million other things to do but overthinking is just making me more unproductive. This has to stop.

I think it is normal to overthink when you are about to make a big decision in your life, like changing career, quitting your job or ending a relationship. You try to analyze what would be the best for you and everyone involved. But sometimes, instead of easing the difficulty of making a decision, overthinking only adds up to the stress. You'll surely benefit if you evolve out of this rare human trait called rumination.

I dread all those sleepless nights when my mind becomes active with indecisiveness and confusion. I am constantly bombarded with all the uncertainties of the future. Uncertainty is my certainty.

I know I have to start living now. No more anxieties about the future and regrets about the past. But that's easier said than done. I see that I'm only driving myself nuts as I overthink. I'm still trying to find ways to overcome this negative overthinking. But you know what they say around here, there's hope for as long as you're alive.

I think it's perfectly fine to have an understanding of which decision will be the best. But overthinking does not necessarily lead to insight. I will never know what something will be like until I have experienced it. Whatever critical thinking I apply to a decision, I know that I might still be wrong. But then who knows something for sure? Things change and I can still be wrong in the end. Being comfortable with whatever that comes my way will bring a sense of true inner peace and freedom.

Overthinking and rumination can lead to anxiety and depression. Sometimes it does not make sense to figure out everything yourself. Stress occurs if one is engaged in negative overthinking about a certain event or situation in life. Sometimes it would be best to just relax and let go.

Venga lo que venga.

One of the main reasons that I overthink is that I have a lot of free time. Or probably I just choose to pause the things that I have to do in exchange for overthinking. Designing my own routine can probably help. I know that my mind will rest well at night if my day has been directed towards worthy goals. I've realized that allotting some time for any physical activity will help me overcome this negative overthinking problem. I just need to get tired and get moving. I should see that by the end of the day, I will no longer have time to overthink.

I am spending too much time dwelling on my own assumptions and predictions. I tend to focus on negative thoughts. I don't really try to validate if my beliefs are really true. Most of the time, I am convinced that what I know is right. I've realized that I need to see the inherent lack of truth in my beliefs and that I can never be 100% sure of anything. Through this way, I can find myself more relaxed in all situations.

I've also thought about when I ruminate the most. I need to be aware of the time when I tend to overthink. I think routine and other activities greatly help in removing that spare time. I just have to be picky about whatever I distract myself with and make sure that it fosters psychological wellbeing and positive emotion.

I know that my perfectionism is taking its toll these days. A perfect decision is never a bold one. As I get older, I should no longer worry about how well I thought my decisions or how I thoroughly approached life's difficulties on the road. I will rest happily knowing that I've stood for what I believe in, acted with confidence and lived true to myself.

Sort:  

The night is for me also the perfect playground for overthinking. I don't know why, but sometimes it takes me 2 hours to go asleep after setting my head on the pillow.

Good to embrace uncertainty, it can be liberating in many ways which I'm sure you've experienced. Having a lot of free time or leisure, does make you prone to more contemplation which is nice, though I think trying to control overthinking comes with time; seems that writing helps with this.

I think trying to control overthinking comes with time; seems that writing helps with this.

Yeah maybe I should stop controlling everything even overthinking. Writing does help!

I do sometimes believe that I'm the craziest guy ever. I do speak to myself, take my self out and of course spend my night alone. Every day the same routine. Imagine the thousands thousands happening in my head and even forming a committee in my small brain. The only thing that releases me is when I go for some volobtary work, steem promos or just playing football

Imagine the thousands thousands happening in my head and even forming a committee in my small brain.

I hear you. I can imagine!

anxious mind always comes, as long as we are alive, and your decision to enjoy it is very precise. and about the words "forgetting the past, continuing the future" are easy to pronounce and hard to run, I strongly agree. may God always bless you and give you happiness where you are.

"forgetting the past, continuing the future" are easy to pronounce and hard to run.

Well said.

Thanks!

"overthinking is just making me more unproductive." I have that problem when I write sometimes.

I know what you mean!

Haha Yeah it is a problem sometimes. I worry about needing to do it and that keeps me from getting it done. Most nights that I don't write I spend a few hours being just about to start writing. I need to take a real day off sometime lol

But once a thinker always a thinker Miss Diabolika.

You can try to put this away as much as you would want, but the fact remains that this is a habit of our nature. It does get annoying when it really gets in our way, but we should better embrace at least a piece of it. Not taking everything for granted what is handed to us, but ask ourselves if we are actually doing the wright thing.

It does get annoying when it really gets in our way, but we should better embrace at least a piece of it.

You are right. It sucks trying to control even my own overthinking!

Hi @diabolika!

If you want to change your career, quit your job or end a relationship, you have to think deeply. That's not overthinking.

If you spend too much time thinking about silly things over and over again, you should try to get rid of that. Yes, I agree - it's easier said than done.

First of all, stop thinking that you are overthinking. Then Go and meet with your friends, hang out with them, do things that you enjoy, keep moving and get busy in your stuffs. Hope you will see a change in your life.

The night is for me also the perfect playground for overthinking. I don't know why, but sometimes it takes me 2 hours to go asleep after setting my head on the pillow.

I envy those who can easily fall asleep.

Unfortunately i am also indulge in the habbit of overthinking. Overthinking give you stress and anxiety. The best to get rid of overthinking is to keep yourself and your mind busy. May God bless us.

Hello @diabolika, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11