The Cure for Boredom

in #life6 years ago (edited)

11218455_742698692524536_8513426408170852673_n.jpg

Back in the day, I was a little bored. It was not because I was not doing anything, it was just probably due to the monotony of life. I had a stable job, and in fact, I even got a raise. I had a stable income and it would be too stupid too quit. I like the job though but I was just bored of being stuck in the rut. I realized that it was time to start trying something new. To start getting curious about new experiences in life.

I am busy doing a lot of things for my project at the moment. And I feel happier when I'm busy doing something that interests me the most. I even find it hard to go out and mingle with my fellow human beings even though I need that from time to time. But the thought of getting disappointed makes me want to just stay busy with my own stuff, misanthropy talking again. If you are not going out of your way to validate your significance from other people, then it can be quite unthinkable that you are still not bored and lonely. For most, happiness comes from human connections. For me, it's the human dependency that's causing boredom and loneliness.

Someone just sent me a message lately asking if I am doing anything as she was feeling bored. I was busy, definitely doing something so I didn't go out to meet her. Deep down, if I really like to be with someone, I will surely go out of my way to spend more time with that person, rain or shine. These days, I just don't see the point of small talks, pleasantries and all the pretense. It must be my old age and pragmatism. I don't want to waste my time with anyone or anything that doesn't really interest me anymore. Interesting people I really want to spend more time with are either far away or are living different lives now. I guess you just really like those that you don't have or can't have. Interesting people for me are very few and it will definitely hurt to take a chance to find them.

Her boredom is something that baffles me, though I am not judging her as like I've said, I've been there before. If I am to compare my current state with hers, I should feel more bored. My place is perfectly isolated and far from civilization. I don't have any friends living in close proximity and the 'fun places' are quite far away. To add insult to injury, I don't have loving arms to cuddle me at night. She has everything that I don't have. And yet here I am, not feeling bored.

The reality that my state would be prone to the imprisonment of boredom is what makes me not to succumb to it. Knowing that 'I will definitely feel bored being here' is what makes me not bored at the moment. When you are aware of the looming effects of boredom, you will find ways to overcome it. You will start getting curious about other things in life. You will start craving new experiences. I don't think the answer is just to be happy. That is the most clichéd advice and I hate it. I think the answer is just to be present and aware.

I revel in my own melancholy. I don't have the answer for yours because that is a tough one. But if you are present and aware, you will perhaps revel in your own melancholy too. Meanwhile, boredom can be fixed. The antidote is curiosity. Is there anything else in this life you've been wanting to pursue? Perhaps this is the time to finally make it happen or at least take the first step. Baby steps are fine you know. You'd be surprised how time flies when you're busy doing what you want or busy living your life on your own terms. Suddenly, you are not bored anymore.

People can be fun but relationships can still make you feel bored. People are boring, aren't they? Though not all, of course, women tend to depend on men for activities until men get bored of them. Surely, women don't have to fix cars or go out fishing in order to spend some alone time, but there are other creative ways not to feel bored while being in a relationship.

Learning something new or mastering a skill is one of my favorite ways to kill boredom. Whenever I'm about to feel bored or whenever idleness sets in, I try to find new things to learn, like playing a musical instrument, a new language, art or a software skill. Anything that occupies my mind. Anything that makes me productive. Anything worthwhile that will not make me feel bored. I want to stay curious. I want to ask more questions and still meet new people however disappointing they can be. It's not their fault anyway. Diabolically, I am fine to take a chance but I find it easier to leave them if they are not that interesting enough. Crushing people's ego is the worst but I can be diabolic and nice at the same time. Sometimes, it is best to do what's the best for you without explanation. I hate attachment to the worse things and worse people just out of desperation to kill boredom.

If you are feeling bored, perhaps it's time to stretch your legs in new stomping grounds. Perhaps it is time to change a habit. Perhaps it is time to run amok, be free or start being crazy out there. Stop being like the rest and start being someone new. Be someone without a care, without limitations, as long as you are not harming animals that is fine. Perhaps it is time to view the world through childlike wonder. Everyone and everything can be routinized. Rumor has it that you can even become stuck in a rut while traveling around the world every month. A beautiful person, a beautiful thing or a beautiful place can also lose its charm.

I know what my time is worth. And for the short duration of my life here on earth, I cannot afford to waste my time anymore. When boredom strikes, it's time to run back to this old friend called curiosity. There's a gigantic world full of interesting things, people and places, all you need to do is simply to say yes.

Sort:  

It takes courage to be the usurper and challenge the odds...I liked your boredom killing methods,I might give them a try...

At first I thought you were describing my first homo sexual experience.

It is hard to leave good job ad set life. But where there is a will there is a way.When you have aim in life little challenge dont matter for you. I wish you all the best @diabolika

True words!

"I even find it hard to go out and mingle with my fellow human beings even though I need that from time to time." I am a total misanthrope so I can definitely identify with that.

Very inspiring rael story...I will ensure to follow you @diabolika

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14