The Ultimate Purpose Fantasy

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Last night I was watching this short Youtube video essay I found from films for action. It tells you how the video games, fantasy movies, and fiction let you immerse yourself in exciting new worlds. All the stories of extraordinary adventures that keep you distracted from the routine of daily lives. The video made me ponder again about my own adventures and next quests. It also makes me think about what is it that really draws you into the characters or heroes of these fantasy stories?

Back in the day, I was playing this online RPG game where I get to level up my game character to be more powerful. As I got more powerful, I was able to defeat more monsters and finish quests easily. I was also once a leader of a guild. I got to help new members to level up using my character skills and abilities. As a guild leader, I needed to encourage players to stay within the guild and help each other. It felt really good to have a status and power even just within the fantasy game. I was so addicted to this world that it almost felt like real life. However, what was it that really attracted me to play this game?

What happens when I've already achieved all the levels? When I've already finished all the challenging quests? When I already have all the powerful weapons and armors? After all the status achievement, everything became meaningless. It also became my goal within the game to not just level up and acquire all the powerful equipment but also to be part of the community. To serve others. This is why most of the game developers design games that are meant to be addicting, to keep the players playing. To design new challenging levels and quests. The online communities also drive more players to play with others. It's the sense of belonging that lets players stay in the game.

In real life, the quest to achieve material possessions is nothing but a means to an end. Suddenly everything comes rushing into your life - education, career, and wealth. After that, stagnation occurs. It appears that the worst thing in life is just to exist, it's like slowly being sucked into the existential vacuum. Whether your environment or instinct drive you towards what you need to do, soon enough you don't know what to do anymore.

According to Viktor Frankl, the existential vacuum is the widespread phenomenon of the twentieth century. A man loses his animal instinct as he becomes trapped in conformity. In this day and age, there are a lot of things you cannot do anymore. It seems that people are being directed to do whatever they ought to do, losing that instinct in the process. People are suffering in this modern existential dilemma - what now? People don't know what to do in their lives. They either wish to do what other people do (conformism) or do what others wish them to do (totalitarianism).

You are drawn into those fantasy films and video games because those have something that everyone wishes to have in life - the ultimate purpose. Defeating the enemies, saving others from evil, finding someone to love, preparing for the dangers of nightfall, getting past the challenging quests - these things are in people's fantasies. Doing something for the higher purpose. People get the chance to experience emotionally taxing events without all the associated real-life dangers, enemies, risks, anxiety or stress. It is way easier to just sit and watch or play than to get up in the morning, pick up the weapon and save mankind from the evil rulers. Who would not want to eliminate boredom without all the emotional downside? It looks like people are made to be distracted in order to prevent going back to that animal instinct of doing whatever they want. People choose whatever is easier and more convenient which will only lead to - lack of meaning.

I've written a lot about my own sufferings in the past but now I think I am made to cope with all of it after all. To cope with life's hardships is better than nothing. Nothing is the worst feeling. A life empty of meaning and purpose. In my previous article, I was writing about how I spent the last 4 years traveling and living in other countries out of hopelessness. Just because I couldn't think of what else to do in life so I'd rather just die while doing whatever. However, life works in a funny way. I didn't realize I'd pick up some hope along the way. Something else to do besides existing, because even though you are having fun seeing places around the world, in the end, it's like the game. This life level loses its charm. You have to find another challenge to conquer. You have to keep on moving.

I don't claim to know my higher purpose yet, in fact, I've spent all my life getting to know my purpose or at least whatever I really want to do in life for now. It might change in time or I might proceed to another level, who knows? I just like that I've gotten past the all that participating in the society stage: education and career. I've gotten past the traveling stage. Now I'm in this stage in my life that I want to have the freedom to live life on my own terms by gaining financial independence. I want to create something for myself and let that something be useful and helpful to others as well. With my freedom, hopefully, I'd be able to see the world again. I also want to find someone to love. Those are just the next levels in my life. I design my own pattern now. I have to make the most of it because I only get one turn.

I think the real spiritual turning point in my life is removing the fear of death and using that lack of fear to do whatever I want to do in life. Life has become more exciting now than ever. The fearless characters in fantasy games are not afraid to die. Their heroic endeavors are in people's fantasies. These days people are just made to stay within the illusion of safety and security. Life's pattern has already been constructed to be unconsciously followed. I think using the lack of fear of death to do something different in life can be the way to get out of the curse of stagnation and boredom in the modern society. Only then you will courageously follow the animal instinct of doing what you really want to do and not what others are doing or what others want you to do. Only then you will see your ultimate purpose. Sure, this another level in life is full of challenges along the way but you'll wake up feeling different. You'll wake up feeling alive. I think once you get the fear out of the way, only then life becomes more meaningful. You become free to create your own meaning.

Sort:  

I read your last article on suicide. It impressed me a lot.

You're saying that

People don't know what to do in their lives. They either wish to do what other people do (conformism) or do what others wish them to do (totalitarianism)

In this "either-or" statement I hear a certain pessimism or perhaps resignation. Possible trouble too? Is "conformity" not also simply a will to survive on our part, because belonging means life and that means isolation is therefore inanimacy? Also, I can find a positive connotation on placing myself under the guidance of others which is also human. Nobody actually likes totalitarianism as I'd be made by force of arms to do something I don't want.

Seeking death by others is quite a radical method and it held the risk that you could have found exactly that. I think you're lucky no one tried to kill you. I think seeking death by the hands of others places a heavy burden on this other person, who then actually kills someone. Making yourself an easy target is only one side of the coin. But what this triggers in the murderer afterwards, such as guilt, shame, punishment, prison and disregard and self-accusation and everything else related to it, is no small matter. Just like those who have an emotional connection to a murderer suffer because it is difficult to have a relative or friend who killed someone.

Maybe that's why you didn't invite death so much after all?

It wouldn't have been a good death. The survival instinct that we humans and probably all living beings possess would have caused a defense if it is a foreign hand that strikes, stings or strangles you. In these last seconds the body panics and you fight back, even if you may not necessarily intend to. I think there's some sort of biological reflex. ... Maybe there are exceptions, I can't really say, because I've never been confronted with a weapon or the physical intention of another one wanting to harm me ...

The circles involved in killing, whether suicide or murder, are great. The people who suffer as a result must then come to terms with what a murderer or suicide leaves them.

As for the rest of your journey and that you experienced hope on the way and people in their different facets... Remarkable. I think you've made a big leap in reality.

... This reminds me of a statement once made by an astronaut who was in space. After being asked how his experience changed him, he said something like "it wears off. When you get back on Earth long enough, you fall back into your old habits." ... I sense that this is also something that maybe happens to you right now... that this extraordinary journey of yours wears of?

Nevertheless, I would say that the view of what the world really is - good and bad alike - will not be completely forgotten.

Is it possible that you are preparing yourself differently for your death and want to experience it rather peacefully and with fearless consciousness?

Buddhist monks make a habit of it. They regularly stay with the dead and even look at decaying bodies so that they get used to them and death loses its horror. In the end, dying is something very physical... and yet spiritual at the same time...

Possible trouble too? Is "conformity" not also simply a will to survive on our part, because belonging means life and that means isolation is therefore inanimacy?

To belong is something we all want. Not to belong and just have all the burden of freedom can be difficult too. Imagine all that responsibility of having to do things on our own, even thinking becomes a pain. I think that is why a lot of people like to follow what others want them to do or just conform.

It wouldn't have been a good death. The survival instinct that we humans and probably all living beings possess would have caused a defense if it is a foreign hand that strikes, stings or strangles you. In these last seconds the body panics and you fight back, even if you may not necessarily intend to. I think there's some sort of biological reflex. ... Maybe there are exceptions, I can't really say, because I've never been confronted with a weapon or the physical intention of another one wanting to harm me ...

I know this as a foreign man attempted to harm me during my journey and had been confronted with a weapon of death. And yes, despite wanting to die during that time, the survival instinct was still there. I had to defend myself as I preferred to die with dignity.

I'm not going to lie, today after reading your article about suicide and finding hope in hopelessness I scrolled back to the very beginning of your steem timeline.

I know you've read dostoyevsky, you're familiar with watts, you've faced danger on your own terms and come out on the other end a better person for it all.

In the end life is just a game, and the scorecard is up to you. If it's helping others you're after, help others. There are a million ways.

Financial freedom starts with your mindset, as I'm sure you are aware. Find yourself, figure out who you want to serve, and understand that money is just another form of energy that can be tapped into and it will always come and go.

Love is a bit different and I'm definitely no expert as I've sabotaged every good thing that's ever come my way. But opportunities for love also are everywhere. The trick is loving yourself enough to allow others to love you.

Is there a perfect person for everyone? I don't have a clue. The romantic in me says yes absolutely, of course. The realist says that love is work like everything else worth having in life. I can only counsel patience, and honesty, with yourself and others.

Happiness and sadness come to us all but maybe if we can learn to enjoy the good times and laugh at and learn from the bad times, when the big sleep comes we can look back and know we did our best. Leveled to the max, decked out in solid gold armor, undefeatable, and know that death is just one more step on the path.

I hope you were not too disappointed by scrolling back to the beginning lol. I usually don't reread what I've written, afraid of what I might find out.

Happiness and sadness come to us all but maybe if we can learn to enjoy the good times and laugh at and learn from the bad times, when the big sleep comes we can look back and know we did our best. Leveled to the max, decked out in solid gold armor, undefeatable, and know that death is just one more step on the path.

Thanks for the wisdom.

Are you kidding? You seem to be terribly thoughtful and insightful and interesting as hell. Of course I didn't read everything (that could take months) but I am so happy I found you on steemit and only sad that our paths didn't cross in South America

Who knows? It's a small world for us travelers.

That is true, and the universe is just handing me gold in spades lately. So if I focus on you enough it's likely we will meet some weird way...

Haha I used to love playing a good RPG but I rarely have the time to spend on it anymore.

"You are drawn into those fantasy films and video games because those have something that everyone wishes to have in life - the ultimate purpose. " I think that you really nailed it there. That stuff is always much more attractive than life. Plus, with games, there is away a sense of progress that is often much harder to come by in real life. They make you feel like you worked for something and were successful and that is an attractive feeling.

Plus, with games, there is away a sense of progress that is often much harder to come by in real life. They make you feel like you worked for something and were successful and that is an attractive feeling.

A sense of progress without having to go through all the trouble, stress and anxiety just like in real life. It's the same feeling but easier.

"Bread and circuses" as someone influential (Roman emperor?) once said.

In my case, escapism plays a big part. I love movies/series and travel. Both give me an escape from the insane levels of boredom I experience in our manufactured lives here in the west.

manufactured lives

I love this term.

We need to escape from time to time, or most of the time lol.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations @diabolika! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63994.25
ETH 3062.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94