Time Your Fragility

in #life6 years ago (edited)

C360_2018-06-05-20-39-22-907.jpg

It is hard to ignore this beautiful sunset along the way as I was biking back to my place from the beach. I forgot that I'm sad in a snap as I breathed in all that I'm seeing at the moment. It's the time to take notice of the beautiful details. It's the time to appreciate the moment.

It does not take that much for me to completely forget my negative feelings. I'm born to forget. I remember back in the day, I used to fight with my ex, arguing heavily about something petty. I was really mad when a nosey fly landed on my nose. Guess what, I'm back to my own quirkiness. Laughing about it and forgetting what I'm feeling. One little change in a moment can change me big time. Predictability is boredom. I feel all the negative feelings that I need to feel but I don't dwell in there. I set my own time limit to everything. Thanks to awareness.

I say that it is fine to feel sadness and anger but only at some point. I know happiness is all the rage these days, and people are so desperate thinking positively to the point of blocking their true feelings. The neoliberal positivity cheerleaders go to great lengths avoiding those feelings. Little did they know, they are just limiting their lives. It's like a special training for breeding new age psychos. What's wrong with feeling unhappy, angry or any uncomfortable emotions? You need all of that in order to grow as a sane human being.

“Face your life, its pain, its pleasure, leave no path untaken.”
― Neil Gaiman

This was the quote that seemed to get stuck in my head as I was walking along the shore under the afternoon's gray sky somewhere. Some years ago, I survived a painful breakup with someone I almost married and used to love. I always find myself in the sea with the sunset that seems to be the ultimate symbol of an ending and a beginning of something in my life. The sun slowly begins to hide underneath the endless sea as if reminding me that it will rise again. Just like me.

I learned to set a time limit to my own fragility. The problem with most people is that they are not aware that they are dwelling in their sadness for too long. It's impossible to move forward without awareness. I need to be aware of what I'm feeling at the moment. It's fine that I feel all the unhappy feelings but I don't stay there. As soon as I get tired of feeling like shit, it's time to let go. When you have reached the bottom, there's no other way but to go up.

I see how important it is not to suppress your emotional wounds just to prove you're mentally strong. That's not healthy, it's only a way to act tough. I am not generalizing but I just seem to have this kind of problem with 'some' men. I have to deny being myself and stop expressing my mind just so I won't step into the fragility of their egos. Can you just make your ego your own bitch (man and woman)? Can you just let go of this entitlement of being a special sparkling dust in this vast universe? Everyone's ego can be crushed, your heart can be trampled upon. There are no exceptions. I'm an A you're an A. Nobody is special. It's time to set up a time limit for being mad with the world because it is damn too exhausting to deal with all that fragile ego shit. It's time to say, 'I'm done'.

People are experiencing depression, prolonged sadness, and all the negative emotions because of the lack of awareness. If you are aware of the moment, if you are aware of yourself, then you'll know when it's time to stop living in the darkness. When it's time to change and move on to the next train station. Don't get stuck in one place. I believe happiness does not mean being thrilled and cheery all the time, it's in your heart no matter what you are feeling at the moment. That's the only thing that stays in there. Everything else is just an icing on the cake. So whatever bad feeling you're feeling at this moment, this too shall pass. There's a time limit to everything. Become aware that nothing remains constant. You're constantly evolving, changing. Life is like that, live it or leave it.

Sort:  

Life is like water. It flows like water in the river. There are ups and downs in life. Sometimes you are happy, sometimes you are sad. Embrace your feelings and move on.

True words.

"What's wrong with feeling unhappy, sad or any uncomfortable emotions?"

People like to forget that these emotions are just as important as any other. We can't separate ourselves from them just like we can't separate ourselves from our hands or eyes without harming ourselves. Lasting happiness doesn't mean that we are never sad or angry. It is a state were we can move past those things by accepting them as part of our lives, I think. Someone who is always happy would be creepy as hell anyway lol.

Truth.

Someone who is always happy would be creepy as hell anyway lol.

I'm a bit suspicious when I see that type lol, someone happy and cheery all the time seems unrealistic. There must be something in there, haha.

Haha I knew it wasn't just me and my misanthropy. Yeah ,they seem like want to sell you something or want you to join their cult that requires you to get a weird haircut and make jams on their compound for the great and powerful leader lol.

I volunteered once in this spiritual community in Brazil when I was traveling in S.A. The residents from different countries looking happy and they are like living in lala land. They will stop whatever they're doing for a few minutes to meditate. They have this old guru from Bronx with long white hair, riding his motorbike with two young Brazillian girls. At least, he makes good pizza for the volunteers lol.

Haha. Well if the pizza is good enough, I might pretend to be a believer for a little while lol.

Hehe, that's what I did lol.

I like the way that you think lol.

thats wrong and sounding very bitter. not bec you are sad does not mean other people are not genuinely happy. if you open your eyes to the fact that you are always sad and you know deep down that is true, why cant it be possible for other people to be always really happy?

you should be in the middle. happy sad. not happy not sad at all times.

the thing about you is that when you are hurt you push people away more than you resolve and make amends. you end up hurting yourself.

creepy maybe, but positive energy? that is truth.

What's wrong with feeling unhappy, angry or any uncomfortable emotions? You need all of that in order to grow as a sane human being.

That. Right there. I wish people would understand just that... It used to be "boys don't cry", which is a fallacy in itself, but now it's "be happy or you don't belong here! now get out, and come back when you've put that plastic smile back on!"

You are so right. And that sunset is so beautiful :-) <3

I can imagine how it sucks to live up to that 'boys don't cry' or be with people who will abandon you if you are not happy anymore.

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

have you addressed exactly makes you sad? im sure you know what it is but you have not really written down what makes you sad. you only say that you are sad and go on and say other things. come on exorcise it. blurt it out.

i really think you should connect with people not just by steemit. im worried about you. all your post is melancholy and you have to face it. there is something wrong with being sad the energy is low and dark and heavy.

what is wrong? youve got what you wanted. everything youve said youd do ,youve done and acquired. you have to be honest with yourself and to steemit.

you need love. human warmth. you've secluded yourself far enough bec of your fears and you really think these people here write comments here and there to help you? im not saying you reach out to me but reach out physically to anyone you have there.

please

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64777.26
ETH 3101.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84