A WORD ON MY VERY DEAR MUM

in #life5 years ago

42201508-cartoon-of-a-beautiful-girl-in-a-red-skirt-and-heels.jpg
Source

Wow! I just went through my draft folder and found this piece I drafted down over a year. I remember it was a period i was new and very active on steemit, a period I was doing a teaching practice course in a school near my home, and my intention then was to post it here. But for some reasons, I never revisited this draft and it has stayed in my phone since then. So I thought i might as well post it now as it is still relevant. Just a bit of editing to be in the past tense, and here it is...



So one morning I was about leaving for school when my mum called me back and stretched her hand towards my skirt. At once I knew what she was up to and I pulled the skirt down a bit more to reassure her it was ok.

That particular skirt was somewhat short and a bit tight on me, the very reason I seldom wore it or wore it with a very large t-shirt that covered up my bottom as was the case this morning. Mum thought the slit exposed my thighs somehow given the length of the skirt. Lol! More so, this time I was wearing it to school as a teacher and it reminded me powerfully that I was a role model to my students. Hence, my dressing should be moderate and decent at all times.

I was short of time to dash in for a change, but guess what? I never wore that skirt again to school throughout the remaing period of my course.


One of the aspects I like about mum is that she is always mindful of what her kids wear out and her reproofs (though once in a blue moon) are always contructive. Something like: "that skirt is too short; don't you have another one?" Or something else along similar line.
But for sure, she's never had cause to go to extreme in her reprimand as far as dressing is concerned because she'd firmly laid the foundation of decent dressing for us right from growing up years. Nonetheless, she's not rested on her oars, still giving us that assessing look whenever we are about stepping out as if trying to give us a pass. Lol!


Mum is a great role model I'm so proud of. She's a disciplinarian, strong and courageous, a firm pillar for us. I pray to tap from her strength so to be able to enforce appropriate discipline on my future family. I'm very content with the mum I have and grateful to God for the gift of her.

What about you?

What aspect of your mum's reproof are you ok with and even appreciate?

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66269.58
ETH 3204.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.24