HEY PEEPS! I'M BACK!!! :) longish non-articulate come-back post - WEEEEEE!!! :D

in #life6 years ago

What's up peeps? I'm back.
Or at least I will try to get back on writing about myself, other people, other stuff, this, and that...

WIN_20180516_22_02_19_Pro.jpg

You're probably asking.

"Why, oh, why did you leave us Dimitrij?
What happened?"


//or at least that's what I like to imagine... ;)

Well, primarily I was just in a really bad period (hence the filtered self-portrait photo :D). I tend to get into those. And it really takes some time to get out of it properly and collect myself.
I just didn't feel like writing about anything. Especially about myself or anything connected to me.
I didn't like my words, thoughts, questions and answers.
It was just a horrible looped glitch that I didn't want to put out there.
Now, I've decided that I should at least try to write about anything, and share the stuff I'm working on - either I it's good/great or not.
aaaaaaupitnik.png
Anyways, what happened? As you maybe know two and a half months ago, I moved to my new home with my girlfriend.
It would be all peaches, but the whole process was contaminated with some emotional baggage I got from my family as a parting gift.
I wouldn't like to get into details, but I feel that even after three months I still have a lot of unresolved issues with my parents, and unfortunately I believe that they're too old for changes (even for their own good).
Don't know... Hopefully some thing will be resolved at some point.

BUT, one great thing happened regarding my family.

MY OLDER BROTHER GOT MARRIED!!

32130267_10211882981658455_4692894005929705472_n.jpg
He's an awesome long-haired dude, and he's been together with his girl / wife for 13 years.
13 YEARS PEEPS!
So, it was about time :)
31939790_10156403920196543_3310718369811922944_n.jpg

The ceremony was awesome. Quite laid-back, modern, and really fun.
Me, and my girlfriend got all dressed up, and finally drunk as fuck and partied and danced until early in the morning.
It was great :)
31958159_10211882999498901_3102712017039917056_n.jpg

One bad thing that happened is that my mobile phone got stolen. I couldn't find it after the party, and I didn't leave the premises at any point. Even the day after nobody from the staff could find it there. (I suspect the butler...)
But, whatever, at least we partied hard. ;)

Anyways, back to the real life :)

During the two months of self-loathing I somehow managed to stay pretty active.
(one thing I loved about steemit is that I can always reflect on my work and trick myself to feeling accomplished)

  • I managed to record and arrange a great song with a band that comes every now and then to my studio. I'm currently finishing the mix and master, and it'll be out any day now.
    I'm still not satisfied with my mixes, but I'm really trying to step up my work-flow by keeping a clear vision of the final mix. You'll hear it in a couple of days.

  • We finished a collaboration with an electro-music artist from Belgrade. It started as a remix of our improv jam into a song, and ended as a full 6-piece EP with different variations of one theme. It's a really interesting project that's conceptually one of our better works.
    You can hear it on http://radost.bandcamp.com - but I'll write about it more in my upcoming posts, since I believe they deserve that attention :)
    It's called NEW WORLD, and this is the retro-trash cover I did for the EP :)

  • Also, we finally started doing improvised jams with other people. Our first guest was a famous all-around director, actor, DJ, musician, etc. that brought a completely new sound to our musical landscape. He came in the studio with a theremin.

    It was cool. But I noticed that we didn't play at our best level. We we're a little tight, and unfocused.
    There were really cool bits and pieces, but overall it wasn't as brilliant as we expected. But fortunately, he said that he'll find the time to do another jam with us. Hopefully it'll be better ;)

seinevz.png

  • Currently, my main band Seine is having a bit of a crisis. We're preparing for our European tour (Poland, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Hungary) and at the moment we're without our bass player. We had a couple of gigs "bass-less", and it was really hard and challenging to fill the sonic composition of our songs just with guitar and drums. But somehow we managed to do it.
    Beside re-arranging old songs, we're working hard on our new material, and preparing for upcoming concerts and tours. So I'll post some clips of our new material soon. It's pretty exciting :)

Anyways, to conclude, it has been a really dynamic month. A lot of stuff happened, and I felt like I personally had a bunch of fails. Rethinking your life in that state is not a smart thing to do - especially if you don't have a designated plan or path to follow.
I've been rethinking my current financial situation, as well as analyzing my priorities, and my conclusion is that I have to make some changes, otherwise I won't be able to freelance with music, and will have to get a normal 9 to 5 job - which is a thing I don't want to, since I know that I've been put on this world to do music and art.

I'll try to write more on steemit, even share my thoughts on the subject of trying to live as a musician. It's a thing that a lot of people can share their thoughts about and I could probably get some good advice on the subject.

And I hope you guys enjoyed this post a bit :) it's a long come-back post - and not so articulate, but I'm really happy to be back here :).

Cheers! :)

Sort:  

Your post received an upvote by the @illuminati-Inc music curation team and its partner @curie.

You may consider voting for the Curie witness; all witness payouts are used to fund Curie operations including but not limited to more than 10 curation teams (vote here).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17