30 days 100 euros: Week 1 #amac

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Another Month, Another Challenge (#amac)


I did the first challenge in April, where I tried to go to a new location every day. That was pretty hard, especially to write about all the new things I researched.
Over the last month I thought about different challenges, which I will be able to do in a month like June because it’s the last month of the semester and the exams are coming closer to scream at me and punch me in the face.
I realized that this is exactly THE thing: I don’t do these challenges to fuck myself up. I try to improve my life, face new situations and do things, which I thought would not really possible for me.
I thought about what would help me to succeed in this month and there are 3 things I have to do:

  • Study a lot
  • Save money
  • Study more

.. beside girlfriend, friends and stomach.
So I guess I just study the shit out of it, don’t go out and eat the cheapest things ever. How do I summarize that in a challenge? I came up to just limit the amount of money, that I can spend.

30 days 100 euro: Week 1


How much do you need in Vienna?
The food will be the greatest problem! I will go to the Naschmarkt (a popular food market close to my place) and buy some veggie stuff. The main thing that I will eat will be rice with veggie sauce, but I will research for convenient recipies. No restaurants, bars or clubs for one month and I think I could make it with 5 euros per day. That’s 150 euros for the whole month. And now I should further exceed my comfort zone and I say 100 euros in one month. I will hate myself. Let’s see how this works out!
PS: I already tried to save really much money in a month and when you cannot buy something because it’s too expensive you easily just think that you will buy it after the month. If you do it like this you will live super cheap and afterwards buy a lot of stuff. Instead of that you should just try to live smart, save some money for emergencies (how?) and just forego some things in order to succeed.

Friday, 01.06.2018
I thought about the format of the date and I will use European dates. Why? Just because..

Already off for a nice start. I went to the market and was really trying to get out cheap, but I lost my last hope in that place, as they tried to sell me 5 paprika for the price of 7 euros. All together 2 little bags of vegetables was 14 euros. I try to live 5 days with that amount of money. Damn! Thanks god that I was too much into the challenge and told the guy that he can sell his overpowered superpaprika to someone else. Forget this place - there are some other nice markets, which are way cheaper.
6.89€ were gone and I went home to cook some rice with vegetables.

Saturday, 02.06.2018

The second day my girlfriend bought some food because we headed out for a camp at a lake in a group of 20 people as a surprise evening for a friend who announced his wedding. I really really don't want to just be rude and borrow money and make other people pay for me. That is really not my intuition but I think it will be hard if friends want to do something with me this month. I will let you know how to avoid that problem.

IMG-20180602-WA0005.jpg
Isn't he gorgeous?

They just seated him on the bike in the picture and rolled him to a lake outside of Vienna, where we camped and made some party.

IMG-20180603-WA0022.jpg
Some night gymnastics

Sunday, 03.06.2018

After a nice breakfast and a last swim in the lake we were going going back back to Cali (my room mates hate me because of my ear worms).
Back at home some bread was left and we had a huge water melon. It was hard not to buy a fresh and cool coffee frappé, but it was ok to say no. That would have costed me 1.5 days (I tend to calculate prices in days now. So just think that 1 day correlates with appr. 3 euros).
Money is in again guys and girls! I bought nothing except on the first day.

Monday, 04.06.2018

Free breakfast at university. Free lunch at my grandparent’s place. Got some food from them for the evening. That shit works out very well - yesss!
I wanted to buy a game called Munchkin, which is freaking funny and I found a Sci-Fi edition, but I have to wait to buy it because I live for this challenge right now!

20180608_185947.jpg
This grafitti is so nicely done. I had to add it here. Thank you R.R.

Tuesday, 05.06.2018

My room mate bought the cheapest bread from the supermarket for me and I didn’t have to give her money. Some marmelade and butter. Life’s awesome!
Then I called a friend to go longboarding and swim. He invited me to come with him to his mother’s house in a neighbour city, where we played frisbee and grilled some meat. Of course I was invited.
What a streak!
In the evening I was at cabaret because I got two tickets for my birthday in the last month and I bought a beer (3.30€ - exactly my budget for the day) for celebration.

Wednesday, 06.06.2018

This day was a sad day for my challenge.
In the morning I was cleaning up my cabinet and found old RayBan sunglasses. I thought I can sell them and use the money for the month.
It is not ok to just work and earn 200€ and spend this money for the challenge. That makes no sense, but sometimes you just need money and if you do things, that are good for your interests, like cleaning up and minimalize your things, you can use the money in my opinion and it is still not easy to succeed in the challenge. I thought about bringing returnable bottles back and so on.
Anyway, I had a appointment for the adhesive label for my bike and had not much fuel. So, instead of pushing my bike to another city, I had to pay 18.68€ for the fuel and then pay 24.89€ for the label.
I got it first try and had to repair nothing at my old Suzuki Bandit 600 (1998). That has not happened yet. I was pretty happy until I thought about my finances.
So much money - I died. At least I sold my glasses on that day for 20€.
I start thinking about cooking for people, if they pay the food. Sometimes I use the sentence “How many pizza slices do you buy for me, if I do that?”. I hope I won’t become crazy.

Thursday, 07.06.2018

I still eat the same bread with marmelade. My aunt invited me for lunch because I have to set up her new phone (my new business deals: “I’ll do everything, just buy food for me”).

I finally sold a longboard, but I won’t add the money for the challenge. But hey, money money money! (that I can use at least next month..
My food storage from the month before is slowly dead. I think about cooking a huge pot of chili con carne for the next month. That should save me some money.

In the evening I worked at a grill party in the university and I could eat and drink what I want for free. Perfect month for that challenge, oh yeah!


Money
+ 6.89€ vegetables
+ 3.30€ beer
+ 18.68€ fuel
+ 24.89€ adhesive label
- 20.00€ sold glasses
That results in an amount of
+ 33.86€ for the first week

Not bad, but 3 weeks to go and 66.14€ left. I have to think about something or just hide from the outside world. Exams come closer.

I am new to Steemit, so it would be really helpful if you have any tips or feedback for me. Please help me share this challenge with the steemit world and upvote if you like it!

upvotefollowresteem.gif

Sort:  

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70733.96
ETH 3563.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76