My Knives #25 S-grind Kiritsuke

in #life5 years ago

Hello dear Steemians,

in today's session, I'll be showing off my latest build - Kiritsuke with an S-grind geometry.

DSC_1680.jpg

I'm not sure how much I've talked about edge geometry here, but it is a really important aspect of the knife performance. Almost as important (maybe even more) than sharpness.

The king of kitchen blade geometry is surely S-grind.

S-grind, for those of you who haven't read my Bunka post, is basically a blade that has two, slightly unaligned, fullers on both sides of the blade. So when you look at it from the choil (heel) it looks like a leather S.

IMG_20190121_142412.jpg

There are many benefits from making a knife that way and I won't name but one of them - the food release.
The thing about cutting vegetables is they tend to get stuck to the blade if the blade is perfectly flat.
Now, I could talk about the physics and the mechanics of why that happens, but to put it in the laymen's terms - a combination of surface tension and vacuum makes the stuff to stick onto the blade.

Which can be a bother.

An S-grind blade kinda sidesteps that problem because there's a trench along the length of the blade so food doesn't stick to it that much.

Anyhow, I'll probably make a video on that topic - so I don't have to write a novel. So, let's get back to the knife.

It was quite a challenging build, getting them fullers to look clean is not an easy thing to do if you're grinding free-hand as I do.

As always a few stats, then a few progress pics and finally a nicer collection of pictures I took today.

Bade: 1095 mizu honyaki
Handle: Ziricote with carbon fibre spacer
Length: blade 190mm; OA 350mm
Height at the heel: 48mm
Weight: 174g

Progress

Rough grind on the grinder - Heh
IMG_20181215_173031.jpg

Setting things up for the handle assembly
IMG_20190105_154952 (2).jpg

Done on the grinder and handle shaped
IMG_20190121_142231.jpg
IMG_20190112_115907.jpg

Done with the hand-sanding both on the blade and on the handle
IMG_20190128_151430.jpg
IMG_20190130_135530.jpg

Some cutting tests before the final etch

Final etch
IMG_20190130_145708.jpg

The final product

DSC_1663.jpg
DSC_1665.jpg
DSC_1669.jpg
DSC_1671.jpg
DSC_1679.jpg
DSC_1680.jpg
DSC_1687.jpg

That's it for now, I'll probably drop a few IG feeds next week before the next real post.
Thanks for stopping by and feel free to drop a comment below if you have something to say.




















Sort:  

Wow thats some beuatiful craftmanship! Keep uo the great work Followed

Posted using Partiko Android

Do you suppose you could reproduce and improve upon the no-name knife I wrote about here? I'd be willing to send more info via steem.chat if you're interested in a commissioned project.

Hey, sorry for not replying sooner - I was sick.
Feel free to drop me a msg on discord DocSmiht #2734 and we can talk about what you're looking to get and what can I do

Didn't work. Tothe #8927 is me.

request sent

OMG this is so beautiful, Doc ! I love the shape and the dimension so much, there is something very sleek with this one <3

(Sorry if I had missed a few posts, as I have just returned from holiday and only now am catching up with my feed)

Hey @veryspider - thank you and no problem
Also, sorry for not replying sooner - was a bit under the weather

I'm looking forward to seeing your next project.

Hello @docsmith, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

thanks guys - much appreciated


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

thank you - much obliged

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70744.80
ETH 3561.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.80