At the Race Finish Line

in #life5 years ago

A.JPG
My region has an annual bicycle race that raises money for a certain charity. There are probably many similar events in other regions. This particular one has many non-professional cyclists entering, people who have not ridden a race before, but are often encouraged by their co-workers to participate. It’s great to support not only the charity but some of the riders who become incredibly enthusiastic about embarking on their own journeys.

B.JPG

A few years ago, I attended to support a family member who was riding. Because there were a group of friends going together, I basically ended up in charge of parking the car. And also taking some photos of the finishers.

C.JPG

D.JPG

I stayed at the race finish line, camping out right near the official photographer. The problem in taking a picture of somebody finishing is that you can’t identify them before they ride through, so if you don’t snap the shot early, you risk missing the moment completely.

E.JPG

F.JPG

When the first person I recognized came through, I started snapping pictures. Fifteen or twenty minutes later, I had taken pictures of not only everyone in our group.

There were also photos of dozens of other riders, most of whom I did not know.

G.JPG

H.JPG

Looking back on this a few years later, I almost feel like a voyeur who took pictures of a lot of unsuspecting riders. But then I realized, this was a public event and they knew they were getting their pictures taken right there by the race photographer anyway. So why not me, too?

I.JPG

J.JPG

K.JPG

Here, then, are a bunch of random strangers who rode through the finish line. I kind of like that it’s essentially the same frame with different people riding through it. Maybe in the future, I’ll just set up a trail cam like those nighttime snapshots of wild animals who are coming to a creek to drink.

L.JPG

M.JPG

Looking at these again, I am struck by the sense of pride, joy, accomplishment, relief, and other emotions that we can sense from the various riders. Job well done.

N.JPG

Thumbnail image: Montage incorporating Looney Tunes, copyright Warner Brothers.

Sort:  

@donkeypong, You catch awesome photo clicks finishers of cycling. I'm really glad to hear organized race of cycling for collect money charity project every year. Non-professional riders attending more powerful thing for encourage anybody.

A few years ago, I attended to support a family member who was riding.

I know you're really supporting people. So appreciate thing you contribute rider's family. I hope this race continuously keep going because charity projects really support thing for go ahead everybody.

Win-win situation for everybody!

Hello Friend how are you? I like the photos, although you were not the official photographer you did it very well, it was a great event and it was worthwhile that many participants were in your photos, your support is valuable for this good cause, no matter who wins, the cause matters why are you all there

Great way the spend an afternoon! That event sounds fun. I mean so many events like these are professional and it would be stressful for the average person to participate in such an event. Nice way to introduce folks to bike racing for sure.

If you're training for a race, you may be focused on the finish line. Nice photo click.

Click, click. Mine was the hard part. :)

I had a few of good experience riding a bike when I was still able to ride it along with my friends @donkeypong but never joined a race before for any reason. But a bike race for a cause is very good as it will attract many people including those that just want to have some fun riding bike with others. It also will make one feel good that they helped in the process.

Yes, it's a good event that way.

The photos show that people of all ages participate in the bike ride. It's great. And it's good that you published it. Thank you for sharing

Really an exciting and profitable event for many people. You also take pictures that are very precise and accurate so that all the atmosphere in the field can be recorded in your pictures.

Conquering competitions is not as important as it is important to take part.There should always be a healthy competition organized and encouraged people to participate in it.I am happy that you are organizing this competition to raise money for a certain donation.Best wishes for the person to win the Cycle Race contest
Thank you brother @donkeypong

You don't need to win to succeed.

It’s great to be at the finish line and as you mentioned you get to watch various emotions of different people and a glimpse of their personality

Posted using Partiko iOS

If you did not photograph everyone at the finish line, you would have missed a family member, as you correctly noted this mass event and I think no one will mind if they even recognize themselves in the photo :)

I missed a few and held a few photos out, but these ones are representative overall.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89