Revisiting the Chat Pack

in #life5 years ago

CPP.jpg

Every few months, I dip into a Chat Pack to find some interesting topics for discussion. Chat packs are sets of cards with conversation-starter ideas on them. Great stuff for the next time you have a cocktail party with a room full of introverts. Here are my responses to the ones I drew most recently. Please feel free to respond to these in your own way via the comments below.

Card 1: What is your favorite thing that begins with the letter “W”?

Drops.jpg

Water. As Henry David Thoreau said, “I believe water is the only drink for a wise man.” I would adjust that to encompass some other drinks that include water, but he was on the right track there. Thoreau left civilization and built himself a cabin on the shores of Walden Pond, a small lake in Massachusetts. There, by the shores of the pond, he found himself in nature, creating some of the finest literature anyone has ever written.

ThoreauQuote.jpg
WaldenPondCCptwo.jpg
Photo of Walden Pond is used under Creative Commons license via Flickr.com by ptwo.

No one can live without H20, since our bodies need water every day. Beyond that, I also feel at peace when I am near a large body of water, such as an ocean, lake, river, or even creek or pond. I am one of those people who loves to swim, take showers, get wet on hot days, and generally spend as much time as I can in any source of clean water I can find. So that’s it: Water is my favorite thing that starts with W!

Card 2: If you could create a building made entirely of a natural product, what would it be made of? (No joke – there’s a building in South Dakota, The Corn Palace, entirely covered in real cobs of corn!)

DS.jpg

Dog turd fungus, Pisolithus tinctorius. This stuff is amazing. It looks like doggie doo or horse dung. This time of year, it grows under trees in my backyard. It is not dangerous. The Native Americans and early settlers used to crack it open and make dye from it. Believe it or not, the color that comes out of it is purple, so it’s also known as the dyemaker’s mushroom.

Dog turd fungus is not fecal matter; it is a kind of fungus. It grows on the roots of certain trees, such as conifers and oaks. And each autumn, it rises above the ground. I have seen it grow straight up through cracks in the pavement before, but more often, it’s in a yard or field near trees. If you kick it, it makes a cloud of dust like a puffball mushroom, but it has more of a solid interior than some puffballs.

DS2.jpg

It looks for all the world like someone took a big crap on the ground, but they didn’t. This fungus actually is a sign that the soil is healthy, though possibly not very rich in resources (since it seems to prefer areas of depleted soil).

So why not? In response to this question, let’s build a house from dog turd fungus. I’m sure there is a beetle or fly larvae somewhere in the world who probably agrees with me. That’s my answer to the question and I’m sticking to it.

Card 3: What is the best gift you’ve ever received?

One year, my kids gave me a homemade coupon book and told me I could redeem the coupons on demand. One coupon said they would wash the dishes, another that they would clean the bathroom. Rather than having to nag them to help, I enjoyed picking out a coupon a few times per year and handing it to them. Then I could sit back and relax while the kids cleaned the house.

Coupon.jpg

That was a good present and I might subtly suggest that I wouldn’t mind getting it again next time I’m due for a gift.

Card 4: If you could create a new sport by combining various elements of two existing sports, which two sports would you combine and how would people play your new sport?

Water polo frisbee. Start with water polo, but instead of using a ball to score in goals like futbol/football/soccer, throw a Frisbee. Pass with it, score with it. There would be a lot less paddling and someone might get hit with the Frisbee, so I’d prefer to have a soft Frisbee. I’ve seen some soft plastic disks covered in fabric which easily fly like Frisbees for half the length of a swimming pool.

But a brief Internet search shows me that my idea is not original (it already exists and it's called Ultimate Water Polo).

So instead, how about water polo darts? Two big dart boards, one at each end of the pool. One big dart that people can throw to hit a certain score. The tip would not be sharp; it would be some kind of aquatic-compatible magnet or Velcro. In other words, it would stick to the dartboard and make the score easily readable, but the tip would not hurt anyone. This is not lawn darts. There might even be an electronic scoreboard that registers points for hits in certain zones of the dartboard. The dart itself would float so that no one would need to go fish for it at the bottom of the pool in the event that it dropped down there.

Darts.jpg

Hmmm. No, we can do better.

And in closing…

Hopefully, you have enjoyed this brief digression. If you have thoughts on any of the above questions, feel free to provide your own responses in the comment section below. Answer just one or any number of them.

CP3.jpg

Dog turd fungus photos are by the author, which is why they're blurry. Other images are public domain or credited in the text.

Sort:  

Chat packs- best way to make introverts talk. Haha
I would go for water as well.
I would like to build a house with plastic.
The best gift i ever received is a birthday card my kids made.
Still thinking what 2 sports can be combined

Thanks for your responses!

Brother, how are you? wow I want a chat pack of those, I work so much that surely having one will relax me or not? jjajajajajajaaja

The best gift? I do not have children, so my best gift was to spend it on the beach with the friends

I would build a rice building, it would be interesting to see everything in white and the walls with many grains of rice

The sport combined tennis and baseball, jajajajjaja would be interesting to see the tennis players in their mini skirts carrying a bat in the hand

Great responses! Spending some time on the beach would work for me, too.

It's the ultimate brother!

Wow, this is really interesting.
I haven't seen anything of this such before (chat pack) I would have to research tonight.

My best gift ever, I got a palm sandal and a wallet from my girlfriend this year (it is not my birthday though) just a little kind gesture. I would be looking forward to receiving such gifts on my birthday this year - Dec 1st.

Nice. Happy soon-to-be birthday.

Thank you sir

Friend, how are you? enjoy this post, the gift that your children gave you coupon book was great and I know you enjoyed it a lot, this chat pack has interesting and strange questions but your answers were accurate, I would spend a good time thinking about the answers.

  • I would make a vegetable building, for sure colors would look great
  • The best gift that I have been given, many sweets, I love sweets especially chocolate and I had a birthday that filled me with a lot of sweet

Sweets are always appreciated. :)

hmm, as a stoner id have to say W id take weed, Think I can get away with still having water if i call it H20? technicalities right :P

If I could build a house out of anything natural it would be nothing but vines and trees, trained into the shapes I want and then vines grown all over the top.

The gift of life

Paintball and Go karting. 2 people per kart one on the back manning the gun the other drives lol

What about a hemp house? I think the fiber is strong.

Hemp is a great building material yea, they even have "hempcrete" But I'd love to live in a massive natural treehouse

This is best for kids.Kids so enjoying in the water with the help of chat-pack.Your kids to much happy.You are best dad.
1.Water gives you energy.
2.I would make house with unique stones.I really like unique stones.Its looks so amazing for me.
3.The best gift i ever received in my birthday from my friend.Its a beautiful watch.And beautiful Gogles.

It's always a good day when I learn or discover something new- I have never heard of Dog Turd Fungus before this moment, love the extra info of the purple dye. I've also never heard of a Chat Pack, but what a spectacular idea! (My kids gave me those coupons a couple times too, have to agree, fantastic present :)

You can find the Chat Packs online for a few dollars. Not a bad thing to have around for rainy days. :)

Awesome, thanks for the tip!

  1. Waffles
  2. Waffles
  3. Waffles
  4. We used to play Bennis at the tennis court years ago. Two teams of two. We'd pitch a baseball as hard as we could (or lightly) over the net. It had to bounce once in bounds and then be caught with a baseball glove and nothing else. Once caught, you'd want to throw it back as fast as possible to catch the other team off guard. We'd score it just like tennis. Most of the tennis rules applied.

That sounds like fun. Can waffles be used as frisbees?

Those frozen eggo waffles can do anything.

Interesting chat packs. They are really brilliant for starting discussions and getting to know about people.
Anyway, I don't know why, but I have always loved the idea of combining relay races with combat or martial arts. It may look weird or ridiculous but I want to experience a situation where there is some actual struggle and fighting before getting to the finishing line. I really do prefer to see rough and tough races.

That's a great idea; I'd love to see it!

@donkeypong frnd! Chat packs- my best way for chat is busy with steemains on steemit, having great information about new things,
I would like swimming in the pond or lake,making a little love home with love and emotions in which I can spend some restless moment to refresh,
The best gift I have received that is my family.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34