Questions of Value: What’s it all Worth To You?

in #life6 years ago (edited)

8faab07e-d163-470c-9cb9-db1e958bdfe5.jpeg


While working out this morning I tossed my glasses aside like they were worthless. And in a sense they are to me. Even though without them I can hardly see.

There was a time when glasses cost hundreds of dollars and were a huge chore to replace. Now I can buy new glasses for a fraction of the cost with one click.

This is progress right?


But as everything in our world becomes fast cheap and always readily available does it also lose its value? Do the things we once cherished and relied on no longer seem important at all? Is this why we increasingly treat our world the way we do? Allowing machines to fill the air with pollutants? Fast fashion and plastic containers to fill our oceans and land? Friends and family to just be numbers and images in our phones?

Those of us who work and play in the blockchain space ask questions about value all the time. How do protocols intrinsically hold value, and how can token economies revolutionize worth? So it seems important to also look at what holds value in the psychical world, and what increasingly does not.

What holds true value to you?
Doug


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

This one really made me think. Time for me holds true value. The older I get the less of it I feel like I have, in every sense. We would gift it to friends and family, of course. It'd be interesting to live in a world where employers focus more on purchasing a person's time for what it's really worth. Now that technology has blurred the work/home life separation people are working far more than ever. Time should be tokenized. Great post!

TimeCoin! I’d hodl that! (And probably fritter a good amount of it away too ;-)

Haha, we all do our share of that! ; )

Best answer possible :) Couldn't agree more!

An excellent question, my friend and for me the spiritual process is of great importance, which allows you to achieve perfection, especially in the crypto world! Thank you @dougkarr

Excellent answer! From the spiritual and the knowledge of self we can answer all other questions much more profoundly!

Integrity is most valuable. Especially in a world of corruption, lies and bigotry as ours.

Integrity is a dying and valuable asset. What can we do to keep it alive and full of value?
Integrity coin?
What’s the token economy of that?

We must start to appreciate it (and other values) more than mere tokens of value themselves. Integrity coin is interesting, but I can't fully see how it would work. If Steem was not available on the market, only through upvotes, it would sort of be an integrity coin (at least an appreciation coin). But then again, if impossible to buy with other non-integrity coins, it's utility would only be symbolic.

That’s a very good point. It’s one of the things that attracted me to Steem 2 years ago! And I still love it for that reason. It’s the original integrity coin!

Science is evolving today
Surgery can dispense glasses
Laser process

More valuable science = less valuable things.
Interesting!

My time is more valuable to me because it allows me to plan my actions to achieve my set goals for myself . And also timing is also important in crypto market as an investor

My motto:

Listen, smile, agree, and then do whatever you were gonna do anyway.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10