My Two Year Steemiversary- Oh What A Journey It Has Been! (Collages of many wondrous steemians inside)

in #life5 years ago (edited)


It's hard to believe it's been two full years since I stepped onto this platform! For the past few weeks I've been thinking a lot about my time here, and especially the beginning of it- which was utter magic. Within just a few weeks I had made connections with people all over the globe, many of them I've not only retained but have developed into lifelong friendships, and I met more along the way who are hugely important to me now and always.


a collage of old collages.jpg


Steemit continues to be the one platform that delivers on its boast of a global network, which for me is one of the greatest, most special things about it.


In these collages you will find people I love from Scotland, The Philippines, Mexico, New Zealand, North and South Africa, Canada, Spain, Germany, Australia, England, Finland, Ireland, Italy, Sweden, South America, and all over the continental US. From every background, ethnicity, all walks of life, from their twenties to their sixties- they are dear to me.

And I never would have known them if I had not taken this leap 24 months ago.

second steemiversary collage.jpg


Since I came late to the 2016 party I wasn't here for the first wave of highly paid posts, but I heard all about them as the excitement was still in the air- people had a taste of the potential of this platform and that was enough to carry it forward for quite some time.

This place has been a series of highs and lows, which to my mind is an exact reflection of life itself. There are great seasons followed by terrible ones and everything in between. But it's what we take from it, make of it, that matters most.


second steemiversary2.jpg


During the hard times the key is in knowing 'this too shall pass', both in life and in the cyber and crypto world.

One year ago today I wrote My first steemiversary post and exactly one month to the day later I lost my dad.

Then several months after that my childhood home went on the market followed by my 18 year old daughter, one of the great loves of my life, moving 17 hours away.

During most of those upheavals the price of steem was high- but that didn't stop life from bringing some low points.

Now crypto is tanking, but I have a published novel on amazon that will soon be accompanied by another, my daughter is thriving fantastically in her new location, and my mother is happily settled into her new home and truly enjoying herself despite her great loss.

My point is: life indeed goes on, there truly are lights at the ends of tunnels, and every low will eventually be followed by a high.

Now granted I am a 'cup half full' individual, but that's a choice that anyone can make. Our perceptions and perspectives are truly what shape the life we lead. And there's real power in it- if we envision a glorious future there's a far better chance of having one. As @therealpaul has said in many posts and in many ways- we have the ability to imagine'nations', our thoughts can change the world.


second steemiversary2x2.jpg


Today I just want to say- I'm still here! I still love this community and am incredibly grateful to have been a part of it these past two years- to have met so many spectacular, incredible, amazeballs, fantabulous people.

A huge thanks to my friends here for all of your support, this place would be nothing without you!

Cheers to two more years!


@verbal-d's song for @pfunk's witness:


My amazing brother- original song: Stronger :)


Have you filled your witness votes?
Check out these passionate and competent souls:@ocd-witness, @pharesim, @teamsteem, @steemgigs, @ausbitbank, @roelandp, @dragosroua; then go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses

If you don't see their name on the list, simply write it in the empty box at the bottom of the page- but make sure you haven't already voted or it may unvote your selection!

Sort:  

Two years ago was two years ago already? How?

This was a fast two years. You were one of first who actually gave a shit about what I was doing here. I honestly had trouble believing, at first, that someone could actually like what I was doing as much as you seemed to enjoy it. Any day I was feeling down and out, you'd be there to help with encouragement. Any time someone was giving me flak, you'd want to go and tune them in for me, and I had to tell you not to and you're all like, "Nobody talks to NoNamesLeftToUse like that!" LOL

Thanks for being that kind of crazy.

I know it! 'Time flies' takes on new meaning the older we get I think;)

Haha, some things don't change, it's a good think you appreciate that kind of crazy not that the 'big man' cares what I have to say, but still, I did yell at him anyway, lol!

I'm a collector of people who enrich my journey on this plane, and you are definitely one of those :)

I now everyone who's commented here so far and they're all awesome people.

They're my people, of course they're awesome! It's the other gift I was blessed with in this life :)

Did you watch the livestream?

No. I've been busy.

Wayhay!! Happy anniversary!!

I love all those pics. Like a who's who of real steemians! ;0)

I remember interviewing you for that fiction trail malarkey, I was like, dang she is cool!!

Thank you me boom!

It is...that and just real fucking awesome people!

Ah, I remember that so well, a beautiful friendship did start on that day. Of course I'd already secretly been twitterpated with you and your rawking blog, so I was all Be cool, be funny, be...well me! haha!

The awesome people are what make the place! If it wasn't for the people, it would just be a cryptozine!!

It would just be a crypt! Haha!

Hehe, spot on!!

Yes, life goes on. Always.
These have been two years of a wild ride and I’m incredibly thankful that we met on route. You’re definitely one of the souls that have made become Steem more human, more real and more valuable.

You won’t find me blogging any time soon but I’ll reach out to you on other channels :-)

Big hug and thanks for being awesome ❤️
Marley -

You won't find me blogging any time soon- Can't say I blame you there. What a shame, this place had so much potential that was never taken advantage of. It really needs new leadership, or actual leadership I should say- someone who says "This is what we're going to do!" Not "Eh, ah, hmmm" sheesh!

Big hug and thanks right back, you are one of my favorite people! We definitely need to catch up, I'd love to know what your future plans are- talk in FB messaging :) xo

Hehe it was great to see that we even agreed in that little livestream window :-) I’m totally with you, after two years it’s time for a concrete mission.

Yes we’ll catch up in the good old mainstream media hehe. xxx

Holy crap!! I can't believe my original comment for this post didn't go through! I have never missed any of the In the Dreaming posts, so it looks terrible that I missed a milestone post! Jeez, and I commented on this when you posted it too.

I forgot what I originally posted so I think this should suffice :D Sorry, it was a bit delayed, but the wait was well worth it, I hope! Thank you for being a part of my life, and I appreciate you for everything that you are, sis!

Haha, it's totally fine of course, I was more concerned that you wouldn't get to see it! It doesn't look terrible at all Jed man, life is extraordinarily busy right now and you still always find time for me, that's plenty to tell me how you feel!

Congratulations! It seems like it's flown by, but at the same time, it feels like ages ago when you appeared, when we were all new here. You've become an integral part of Steemit, but mostly, you are a priceless part of my real world.

Haha, even Chip made the collages! He always brings some credibility in his own roundabout way, it's just so easy to trust a puppet with a foil hat!

It does have that contradictory feel, I think it's the relationships I've made here, particularly with you and a handful of others- true friendships borne of steemit age in dog years!

Yup, gotta love chip!

Congrats on making it to 2 years!

We have no idea do we? - But we can still win this, fingers crossed!

Crypto will rise again, and steem with it. I can't be sure that it will ever reach the heights that it was so capable of, but it's not going to die. There are still too many of us faithful diehards haha!

Yeah I think so too- this has been a bad year, but I'm not panicking. Your sale was well timed though! I wouldn't buy any at the moment!

It was well timed...but I am going to buy back in, weekly, starting this weekend. I know it could tank further, but I'm going to 'cost average' this one, I can afford to since I sold nothing at less than twice what it is now :) And much of it when it was a lot more- much of my summer trip was funded by steem I sold for almost five bucks! Can't complain!

You could be a crypto financial adviser - all the ones on Steemit have been dead wrong all year!

If only I could say I knew what I was doing! Just got spectacularly lucky! I can't even claim intuition...I needed it, I took it, that's my formula, lol!

PS - this comment is not specifically about Steemit, but for cryptos in general - I'm a cynic now!

https://steemit.com/teamnz/@frot/re-shepz1-re-frot-bitcoinrepeatslikeaplateofsausagesatmidnight-a6xzszf6ix-20181129t184434920z

Yep, buy low sell high seems to be the only way to go at this point. Fortunately that's been Howie's motto from the beginning. Right now he's invested in Nexos, BAT, VCHAIN, NEO...and he's grabbed some tokens that the upcoming blogging platform Howdoo is based on-- ERC20 I believe.

https://howdoo.io/signup/

Beautiful use of an anniversary to give the thanks outwards, so many great people using this network and avatars I recognize in your collages, congrats on making it here this long. Here here, to two more years of you Steeming on

Ah, thank you so much! One of the things I like about these posts is I tend to draw people I didn't know before and make new connections, like yourself, so here's to you! :)

Hehehehhee I DID notice a certain logo in there❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️

2 years, my Dreem twin! Hehehe
Its been a wild ride and loving that we are some of the Smarties who are sticking around!
I have full faith that steem will rise again! And we will be here thriving along with them!

Congratulations my friend!!! May this next year be filled with our wildest dreams imagined!!!!!

❤️

Thank you darling girl!! Cheers!!

You had the most amazing journey among various steemians your content is loved by all and we all love to read it thanks for sharing its been amazing to follow you over these years and wishing you all the best for the years to come steem on :D

I have! Awww, thank you! :)

I'm about a week late (is that still "fashionably late") but I still made it. Glad to see you making a milestone and going strong. Congrats on everything!

Haha, sure it is ;) Thanks papa, it's always good to see you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87