My Hobby/Business: Small Engine Repair

in #life6 years ago

My favorite hobby!


Lawn mower season is currently booming, i've picked up quite a few mowers so far and sold most of them. It's something I really enjoy doing, and it is a good money maker. In fact, if we had our own shop area I would probably open up a small engine side gig.
IMG_20180512_112650.jpg

A lot of people don't want to fool with paying for parts and taking it somewhere, so they just sell their old one cheap and buy a new one. That's where I have been coming in, fixing them, and reselling them for profit. This week I have sold 4, and I have picked up 5 more. In fact, one of them I am repairing for a guy I found on facebook.
IMG_20180514_140850.jpg

He had a couple that wouldn't start, then told me he would give me one if I fixed the other. Luckily the one i'm getting is a fairly nice Craftsman self propelled unit, so I should have good return on it once I fix it. Oh, i picked up the first riding mower of the season!
IMG_20180515_190733.jpg

It is a Poulan Pro mower that will not go into drive or reverse. It could just need a brake adjustment or a new drive disc, which I need to look into it tomorrow. So far, sold 4 this week, and now I have 2 awaiting parts, and 3 awaiting diagnosis. Loving it!
IMG_20180514_144452.jpg

Oh, check out this funky thing. I have never seen one with a wheel like this. It looks like it would tip easily with this design, but surprisingly it didn't. Anywho, a lot of work to do tomorrow so I need some shut eye. Until next time!
IMG_20180515_142714.jpg


I LOVE getting feedback! Do you have suggestions or comments on how to improve my posts? If so, post them below, I want to hear from you!

Sort:  

Really been enjoying your garage sale and fixer-upper posts lately. So cool that you've found a little niche that you can profit in.

Hey, thanks! I'm glad you have enjoyed it.

Good on you for bringing these old mowers back to life! People these days have let go of the old "mend and make do" mentality so I glad there are people like you who have the know how, can do attitude to turn trash into treasure!

So true! Luckily that kind of mentality keeps me in business, haha! Thanks!

Might need you to take a look at our mower......

What's the problem?

I'd have to ask my hubby. I just know it has Issues. :) He may be able to figure it out; he often does.

Speaking of small engine repair, are you on steemit.chat? I may have a special request for your expertise.

I am! Same username. Shoot me a message and I will get back with you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85