Arrrgh. Merlin has developed a taste for roaming free.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

IMG_7195.JPG

I love our dog.

He's adorable and good and loyal and loving.

But he's only seven months old and is just now developing a very frustrating trait: he has taken to getting out of our yard every chance he gets.

I have fixed all the bits of fence that he gets out from.

IMG_7237.JPG

I have covered all the holes under the fence.

And still, he magically finds a way out.

He is living up to his name. A friend of mine said the other day we shouldn't have named him Merlin. We should have gone with something more sedentary, like 'Stationary'.

Terrible name for a dog, but you know what, the idea has merit. Names have power, and Merlin has grown into his name.

Maybe we can give him another name, that he could grow into and which might offset the huge levels of cheeky he has claimed as his birthright as Merlin.

Maybe Zen.

Or Inertia. Or Torpor. Other suggestions welcome.

Only as a second name though.

He'll always be Merlin to me.


May all beings be happy.

Photos by @DrWom

drwom-01.png

DQmampd9mQbBZuWMnd1uSm37WSjquEWDcwKGZjz15dpivgQ.png

@drwom footer by the awesome @ryivhnn !!

drwom.png

Register for Universal Basic Income here: https://www.mannabase.com/?ref=3ac18f2d78

Screen Shot 2018-03-12 at 12.45.33 pm.png

Sort:  

Set up some spy cameras in the backyard and see where he's getting out XD

Maybe he's decided the entire neighbourhood is his turf and he needs to patrol :) When I was a kid I had a dog like that, he owned most of the neighbourhood. In those days dogs wandering around unattended wasn't the big deal it is now, though he started tagging along to school with me so we had to tie him up during the day and would let him off at night. Sometimes he'd get off the rope during the day and I'd be wandering around and spot him somewhere and call him and then he'd just come home with me.

We put a fence around the house too in an attempt to keep him in (upsetting the neighbours a bit as back in those days no one had fences and putting one up meant you didn't want to be friends with the neighbours XD) and eventually gave up trying to find all the places he was escaping from (bloody well everywhere!)

Is this happening while you're all out or it doesn't matter, he's off like a shot soon as he gets into that backyard?

Mostly when we're out out, but sometimes when we're at home. We're going to have to work something out, that's for sure! I'm thinking of taking him to the dog park in the morning to blow off some steam...

Good luck with that XD Hope he's not like my old dog that I had while I was at uni. That one we once walked to uni and back (~6km walk) and he had an afternoon nap and by evening was ready for another walk x_x

Sounds familiar!

When a dog has wanderlust, it's hard work!

I had a wanderlust beagle when I was a kid. - 10 years later, you still couldn't let him off a chain, not without him disappearing for a few hours - it's just who he was.

Loved the little bugger to bits! (so headstrong!! - He was worse than me!)

Haha - so you’re telling me this is probably not just a phase.

Noooooo!

That's what we were hoping when he was pup...............it never turned out that way....
Endless days looking for him, if you add them up....

..and quite a few beagle cross doggies, started to appear in later years...
😂😂

nice post and picture i like it.

wow you see a very intelligent dog .. I invite you to take a look at my last post and know a reality that many face and most ignore.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62777.23
ETH 3059.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81