Going out on a limb - meetings (and government) can be great.

in #life6 years ago

architecture-3121009__480.jpg

I am a bit of a rogue. A bit of a black sheep. A bit of a rebel.

At least here on Steemit.

Because I'm a believer in the power of government for good.

And a believer in the power of effective bureaucracy.

For I am witness (and collaborative agent) in both.

I get it. I know what you're thinking. That I'm part of the machine. A brainwashed unthinking automaton.

You might even add, if you were a long time reader, that I am even more so because I'm a politically correct bleeding heart as well. What sort of monster am I?

Truth be told I'm just a guy who loves my job because in my small way I help make the world a better place.

And one of the only places you can do that on a systemic level is by working with those within government.

Now, don't get me wrong. You have to work with a government institution that is effective, and literally wants the best for the people it serves - and not all governments and bureaucracies are like that. I get that. The US Republican Party is running a very effective agenda to break down trust in government and institutions by not trusting or funding them. Trying to be an effective player for the public good in that environment would be near impossible (but not impossible).

But I just had a great meeting, in a room with a bunch of bureaucrats, where innovations were discussed that will make a difference. Plans were made. Actions spelt out. And the big picture outcome will be an improved society.

I know that some won't believe me. Some people believe that climate change is a huge hoax, or that the Nazi death camps are fiction. These people will never believe me.

But I sit here, and I know. Meetings, and government can be great.


May all beings be happy.

Picture courtesy of pixabay.com

drwom-01.png

DQmampd9mQbBZuWMnd1uSm37WSjquEWDcwKGZjz15dpivgQ.png

@drwom footer by the awesome @ryivhnn !!

drwom.png

Register for Universal Basic Income here: https://www.mannabase.com/?ref=3ac18f2d78

Screen Shot 2018-03-12 at 12.45.33 pm.png

Sort:  

Great post, congratulations, greetings from Venezuela!!!

Thanks - and greetings back at you 🙃

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84