Resistance to change - time for some soul-searching.

in #life6 years ago

clock-1274699__480.jpg

In revamping my study - or turning it into my studio - I am going to have to throw out a lot of stuff. And I hate that.

I get that some people don't like clutter. I also get that I am not the things I own.

I am not even the person that I used to be.

But I do honour different parts of my life. The history. The decisions, choices and 'movements' of a life lived so far.

So 'getting rid' of a whole lot of stuff is challenging for me.

If my life were a symphony there would be a number of movements (so far). My childhood. My schooling years. My early years in the workforce, including my first travels as an adult (well, kind of). University days: music, and redefining who I am. My first professional career. Family life (with my wife and our daughter). My second professional career.

And who I am now. The amalgam of who I was. The me that is writing the notes of this seventh great movement of my life, even now as I write these words.

And each of these movements is represented by the things I need to 'reduce' in my study. Mere physical objects which speak directly to my history, to who I was and how I became who I am.

I know they're just objects.

I know they are.

But it's still really, really hard to cast them aside.

And it's time to do some serious soul-searching.


May all beings be happy.

Photo courtesy of pixabay.com

drwom-01.png

DQmampd9mQbBZuWMnd1uSm37WSjquEWDcwKGZjz15dpivgQ.png

@drwom footer by the awesome @ryivhnn !!

drwom.png

Register for Universal Basic Income here: https://www.mannabase.com/?ref=3ac18f2d78

Screen Shot 2018-03-12 at 12.45.33 pm.png

Sort:  

Get More Upvote - FREE

steem.link/sbd

Get 0.1 Steem free on signup !

Wao awesome post. you write good. i like it.

Great writing really enjoy your post.
like it and upvoted!!

As a traveler for so long, and no 'base' to hoard, I have zero attachment to things - 'stuff'.
Nada. zip.

Basically, what I'm saying , is that I haven't got a clue what you are talking about!
😂😂

(I never was before my travels, either, truth be told)

I can get the same way about some things, especially things that people I like give me. I've still got some paperclip jewellery that my sister made me when she was 8 or 9, and loomband bracelets that she and my daughter made me a few years ago.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61649.11
ETH 3003.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77