My Writing Day - One WordsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life5 years ago

I've never before got emotional reading or listening to marketing advice.
But this is something exceptional, and it absolutely touched and resonated with me.
And somehow I've got to implement it in my promo efforts

Not only that - I've got to make it an integral part of, not just marketing, but all of what I'm about as a writer
I'm going to link to the video later in this post

Find That One Thing

The guy said that as writers we should identify just one word that sums up what our work is about
And to communicate the essence of it to your readers in every communication
This seems to be what John Locke was saying in his (infamous) book
I didn't understand it at the time, but it really clicked with me when I watched the video this morning
Many people wrote reviews or summaries of it but never conveyed the essence of what he was saying
Many claimed that he owed much of his success to 'sock puppet' reviews
But this video shone a whole new light on it for me

What Is My Work About?

If you ready any of my posts in the "Songs About The Creatives' Struggle" series then you will possibly understand a little about what inspires my stories, even though you've not read any of them
I started that chart years ago because I didn't understand what Locke was on about, but decided to do 'something' anyway
How can I sum up the one word that describes my work and cover the soul of that to my readers?
It's about our future - a better tomorrow
How we will improve this world, and our civilisation for our descendants
But how do I find the one word to say that?
My 1st story was about a doomed civilisation - and its one hope for survival
The one I'm editing now is about the 1st mission to the stars
The paranormal series is a spin-off from the 1st work
Maybe 'Hope' is the word I'm looking for
My two horror stories are about people rising up to be far better than they were after the terrors they suffered
'Destiny' might sum up my work; but that means we're only along as passengers for the ride
No! the characters lift themselves above it by their own actions
Integrity?
Quite possibly, because we need that to guide us to do the right thing in even the most difficult circumstances
Humanity?
Yes, even for an alien race looking to survive
Enlightenment?
Even in the face of disaster we can learn. We can correct our own mistakes and improve things
We owe it to ourselves to continue learning
'Striving?
To improve. To build a better future - whether here on Earth, or out among the stars<Unstoppable?
Isn't that why we love Ripley in Alien; Sarah Connor in Terminator; and Katniss?
Girls who refused to give up; to know when they were beaten
That's why Stallone's story is so inspiring
Have I just discovered my word there
Loving?
Not in a soppy romantic sense, but loving others, loving nature; and loving animals in distress

How To Convey My Message?

I'm a sciFi writer, but probably the best way to convey the values I express in my work is by sharing the great videos I see from time to time
Beautiful stories like these men risking their lives to save bear cubs
You can see the fear they're feeling, because momma bear could easily turn on them
Absolute heroes, but hero's not the word I'd use for my work
But this is the sort of thing that inspires it

People Save Baby Bears from Dumpster in Woods

>
</centerTruly inpiring wonderful human brings
Friendship?
Altruistic?
Giving without expectation of reward
I'm sure I'll come up with my one word - but would appreciate any suggestions to get my creative juices flowing
Here's the video that inspired this post:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70181.59
ETH 3549.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74