Combating Indecisiveness- Or should I?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Indecision is the bain of efficiency.

I was a little unsure of what to write about in this blog- and then it hit me. Indecisiveness. It's been a couple months now, but I've been taking active steps to stop myself from being indecisive in many situations.Stemming from a book I read- "The millionaire mind"- Not that it strikes directly on the topic of indecisiveness, but there was a section that said "Rich people keep their commitments". For me, my indecision was usually a result of me deciding and committing to something, and then quickly retracting when I felt any hint of resistance or difficulty.

Currently, I still get those feelings, but once I've made a decision, whether big or small, I internally tell myself to "commit." Once I've decided I'm doing something - I make sure I follow through. Personally, it wasn’t always as simple as saying “okay let’s go”. It had to start with me wanting to fundamentally change who I was as a person. Flip-floppy isn’t the way I want to describe myself, I want to be a decisive person- someone who knows what they want and drives forward with intent. Deciding in this case is the easy part- following through and reinforcing the habits that build up who I am will be a little more tough- but rewarding... Or so I choose to believe.

I had to take a moment to reflect to understand why indecision takes place in my life- I think starting there will help me combat inefficiency and indecisiveness. For me it boils down to a couple things.

X. Do the pros outweigh the cons?
Generally a time trade off. During moments like this I verbally talk myself through it, I explain why the pros are important to me, and how the cons will impact me. Personally, the decision becomes more clear when you can see or hear the pros and cons, and find a lack on one side.

For moments where I have made my decision but feel great uncertainty -I explain to myself how I'm going to combat each of the cons, and write them down as actionable items that will cement me to my decision.

X. Laziness: I don't really want to do it for a variety of reasons. In situations where I know I will eventually complete the task, I try to ask myself: Would I rather waste time now and end up doing it anyway, or complete the task now, and have time to do whatever I please? This is usually when I begrudgingly do my work.

One example of indecision was when I returned to middle school to speak. You can find the article here: https://steemit.com/life/@edrameth/returning-to-middle-school-10-years-later-to-speak

I understood that the opportunity to speak would be amazing for me, but I was nervous and I didn’t fully want to put the effort into making slide deck and then having to rehearse a 25 minute talk. So I reasoned with myself- the growth opportunities were far greater than the effort required, and the main point opposing was my fear and honestly… laziness. So I did what I had to, to make sure I would go. I emailed the coordinator of the event and told them I would come, and confirmed my attendance a week in advance of the date. No choice but to keep my commitments.

Confirmation.PNG
Felt good when I sent it- just kidding. But it did feel good after I did my talk. Well worth it.

That's all for now. Let's commit to some more growth.

One positive this week for me: Graduate with Honours
36591783_10156957893448465_1487418312148123648_n.jpg

Finally. Gave that degree 125%- 5 Years for a 4 year program...Good Stuff.

Cheers,
Victor.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @edrameth! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Welcome to Steem, @edrameth!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 3142 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.17.8 : Rewards and Links tabs on Busy.

Welcome to Steem! Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem and we upvote our users to help them grow! Please feel free to download the Android app here and the iOS app here.

To get more upvotes, please join our Discord server here: https://discord.gg/N7Et97G

Congratulations @edrameth! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Semi Finals - Day 1


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63706.21
ETH 3073.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76