Who was Chomsky...

in #life6 years ago (edited)

If you are a fan of Noam Chomsky, I am sorry but this post is not about him, it's about a rescue dog that was named after him, and here is his story.

WhatsApp Image 2018-02-14 at 3.35.43 PM.jpeg

Where I come from, Panama, a third world country in Central America, we are still behind as a society when it comes to animal rights and care. There are a lot of street dogs in country sides (towns and cities) and not much help. And don't take me wrong, there are worse places although things are changing little by little over here. Many more people are active independently and there are also social groups created to help animals, especially street dogs and cats.

I never had a pet when I was a child, now as an adult I discovered a different type of love, the love for an animal and it’s great! I thank my wife who changed my mentality towards pets. I mean, when I was a child I was told that I was allergic, and my parents never wanted a pet at home.

One day, my wife called me to tell me that she found a skinny dog in one of the islands here, hungry and sad, looking for family. The very first thing I said to her was: No! Don’t take him and leave him there, he’s a street dog and it’s his life / destiny. I guess when I said that, probably it was that side of myself that didn’t want a dog in my life because of expenses and time to dedicate.

When I came home, well, it was expected, she (my wife) did not listen and brought the dog home. It didn’t take much for me to realize this was the right thing to do, to adopt him and welcome him as the new member of the family.

We named him Chomsky, since my wife is a huge fan of Noam Chomsky.

Little Chomsky looked very malnourished and had an hernia, but the happiness I know he was feeling, was bigger than his hunger or any type of pain he could probably be in.

Here is a picture of Chomsky when we saw him first:

firsttime.jpeg

We took him to the vet, he was operated. Then his life changed completely, he gained weight.

For the next 6 months Chomsky was the happiest dog of the town, having cow bones for dessert, food twice a day, beach trips, toys, a nice bed to sleep in. The street life was over!

Chomsky enjoying a nice bone:

IMG_3580.JPG

Chomsky on my lap while taking a boat trip:

WhatsApp Image 2018-02-14 at 3.35.15 PM.jpeg

Chomsky at the beach enjoying the life as he deserved it!

beach.jpeg

Unfortunately, Chomsky spent most of his years eating bad or not eating at all, abandoned and dealing with parasites and sickness. After having him for 6 months he started to show signals that something was wrong, started to pee constantly and threw up. He did not want to eat anymore, and his eyes and gums turned yellowish.
When we took him to the local vet, she gave him only fluids, no blood test was done. I don't blame her for not being more precise, although we felt guilty for not researching more about it.

Finally we made the late decision to take him to a bigger city, to a vet that has access to more resources. Don't forget we live in an island, and things are sometimes very limited here. The new vet did the blood tests and Chomsky was suffering of an advance hepatitis. She tried to do as much as she could to save him, but it was too late, he was too weak.

I remember when I entered the room where he was, he was weak, and made that last effort to stand up to lick my face and move his tail, but he didn't have any more strength. I had the chance to say goodbye to him, it was one of the saddest days of my life after the day my dad passed away.

Important to say, it was not easy to make this post without having a moment of sad memory, although there is something that always put a smile in our faces which is the fact that Chomsky had the opportunity to know the complete opposite side of his miserable life. His last 6 months of his life were the best for him and that makes us happy.

He also misbehaved, he like to run after the chickens even though he knew it was forbidden:

The day our Chomsky died, I made a promise to myself, as long as I have the opportunity and the conditions to do it, I will ALWAYS rescue a street dog and welcome him/her as member of our family. I also promised to myself that I will never buy a dog, with so many street dogs looking for food, love and home, why buy one? That is how I think, please if you are the type of person that breed for money or like to buy human created breeds to show of, don't take it personal.

Thanks for reading the story of our Chomsky!

Symptoms to look for in case your dog has hepatitis:

  • Constantly peeing more than he should or is supposed to.
  • Yellowish eyes.
  • Lost of appetite.
  • Lethargy.
  • Vomiting.

Always make sure to act fast to take your lovely pet to the vet, and no matter what, with these symptoms, a blood test is imminent!

adopt.png

source

Sort:  

Simplemente, me encanta!!!! esta para #Promo-Mentor

Love seeing animals getting rescued! Always adopt! Following you!DKnMqdm9i980E.gif

thank you! do you have pets ?

The animals love: God gave them the beginning of thoughts and joy of serenity. Do not resent her, do not torment them, do not take away their joy, do not resist the thought of God. Man, do not ascend above the animals: they are sinless, and you, with your greatness, are suppurating the earth with your appearance on it and leaving your purulent trace behind you, alas, almost every one of us! I liked your post.

thanks! I agree... "they are sinless"

I am not lying when I say that this post brought a tear. What you did for this dog is beyond wonderful. Thanks for this amazing heartfelt story and what you did for Chomsky

I appreciate your words, it was not easy to write for me this. But sharing his story is a good thing to do for his memory and also to inspire others to do the same =)

"Chomsky" is on my top 10 all time dog name list now. This post got me. The short video of Chomsky chasing the chickens is what really put this over the top for me and had me smiling even through tears.

Much love - Carl

oh thank you! I am so glad to read you. It is exactly how we feel, even though it was sad to let him go, still we are more happy for how he spent the last 6 months of his life, and ending the story like that shows exactly how we feel about him. I still miss him of course, but knowing that he left this world discovering love, happiness, good food, etc is more important!

I love it! I want to move to Central America but I'm sure I'd end up owning too many street dogs!!!

where you from? you will love central america!

Great story!

I was expecting a happy ending..:-( i guess it's about the happy 6 months of Chomsky's life that matters.

Your act of kindness is inspiring.

I also prefer adopting, dogs, cats..etc it doesn't matter. All that deserves help!

Thanks for sharing.
Resteemed.

thanks to you for the support!

Chomsky is such an awesome name. I'm really glad someone is taking the initiative to rescue animals on the streets rather than buying from the store. Here's to hoping for more success on your advocacy.

Thanks, I wish I could create a big shelter.

Owhhhh ... chomsky is sooo cute !!! another dog lover here 🙋🏻‍♀️ And thank u so much for promoting adoption, at the same time increasing awareness for these animals <3 I know how it feels losing your loved one, for I had to put a dog to sleep for the same reason. I still think about him till this day. It hurts but life goes on and I'm happy that you've moved on to helping more animals in need <3 Thank you..

Beautiful words, I respect you for you what you did as well. What was your dog's name? He also deserve a mention!

Thanks @el-cr his name is Hope ❤️ Even though he has to go, tragically, I still have hope for him despite his tough times. So much of unfulfilled promises for Hope ;(

Hope is a beautiful name!

The strength of a aninmal is amazing!!! Love love love the article. You keep doing what you do. Chomsky💪❤️ @johnskotts

Honestly, I clicked on your post because I am a huge fan of Noam Chomsky. And now I am a fan of you and your wife. What a beautiful and loving thing you did for canine Chomsky. The most touching part of your tribute to him was the part about him wanting to, "...make the effort to stand up to lick my face and move his tail, but he didn't have any more strength, " it moved me to tears. He loved you so much, and clearly the feeling was mutual. While no other dog can ever replace Chomsky, I do hope you and your wife another animal in need to take in to your home. You two have so much love to share.

we did @seaslim =) Our current dog is also a rescue =)

Thank you! as @evecab said, we had a new rescue, and I like I said in my post, as long as we can, we will always look for that innocent abandon in need of a family and adopt!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64203.15
ETH 3065.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93