6 Reasons Why You Should Work in a Cemetery

in #life6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180602_205050.jpg

I know, it sounds morbid.

For a fact, reading this post makes you wonder if I am a weirdo or insane. I mean, how can I suggest for you to work in a cemetery when you can simply go for office jobs where you will only face paperworks? Well, I am suggesting this simply because you’ll get more valuable experience in a cemetery rather than in a regular office setting. Don’t believe me? Well, you better read on and find out the benefits.

But first, let me tell you how did I ended up working in a cemetery.

IMG_20171015_172601.jpg

I am now on my 2nd year working with the dead and I can say that there is no better position I can start my career from. Would you believe I got the job through online job search? I was a Freelancer before but then being one is risky for me back then since I don’t have a stable income. I tried BPO but I only lasted for a month because I can’t take the stress and graveyard shift. So, I looked for another job online. Browsing through tons and tons of job ad, I found myself applying to every job ad that I think I’m qualified.

The HR didn’t told me outright what company am I applying for. After I passed the exam, they made me watch a video while waiting for my turn to be interviewed. When I was watching the infomercial of the cemetery I am currently work in, I was confused and thought to myself why am I watching this. Later on, the HR who interviewed me ask if I was okay working with the dead, to put it bluntly. Of course, I said a loud yes but in the back of my mind I was hesitant. I mean c’mon working for the dead or with them sounds creepy.

So you guess it right, I passed everything and fast forward 2 years later I am still working at a cemetery.

My reasons and why do I encourage you to try out working in a spooky place (just kidding!)

IMG_20171015_171648.jpg

When people ask me what do I do there, I happily tell them I am a supulturero (gravedigger). The look on other people’s face wants me to laugh out loud because they think I am insane choosing to work servicing the dead. But now, I tell you with a very serious face, working in a sementeryo (cemetery) os a great career experience. One that everyone should try at least once in their career, adult life.

I work in the Sales & Marketing Dept. (yes, there are departments in our cemetery office just like in a regular office setting) and what I do is both clerical and customer service. After 2 years, I can finally give you the reasons why you should try working for the dead.

1. You’ll learn the true meaning of empathy.

This is a no-brainer. You will be dealing with a lot of clients who are grieving. Empathy means understanding and sharing the feelings of another. With our clients, we need to be in-tune to what they are feeling so we know how to approach them. It makes you more sincere and helpful.

2. It makes you prepared when a loved one died both emotionally and mentally.

Being a part of a memorial gives you an edge when a loved one died, especially in the field of knowledge and emotion. Before, I thought dying was simple like when you die there is no requirements you need, only the corpse and a lot. But now I learned that there are permits to be accomplished, IDs, death cert and other documents.

I believe working in a cemetery gave me an edge to prepare myself to whatever may happen in the future.

3. You will learn the truth about the saying: “No room for mistake."

In my line of work, there is really no room for any mistake especially with interment (paglilibing). We can’t risk to be wrong with the lot number or with the set-up or hosting or in every little detail. For documents, everything should be complete. My job taught me how to be organized and say “no” to accepting incomplete documents because this will get back to me. Everything has to be complete. Maybe it taught me also to be a little OC at times.

4. You will be more knowledgeable about insurance and investments.

A plus, your eyes will be open to insurance and investment opportunities. Our memorial lots alone is a form of investment because it always increase in value over time. Example, our lawn lots cost about PHP 35,000.00 ($700) per lot 10 years ago but now one lot cost PHP 80,000.00 ($1,600). When I was starting out, I am not aware of this investment opportunities so I am thankful for my job.

5. You’ll get the satisfaction in helping clients.

One of the best feeling is when your client is totally satisfied with your service. For a cemetery worker like me, not only do we get satisfied because we accomplished our work but the most important thing is that we made the farewell to their deceased loved one memorable. In our cemetery, they bid their last goodbye and last time they will see the actual body of their family member.

6. Learn to value life more.

This is the biggest take away from my job. Truly you will never when will be your last day so learn to value and cherish your life everyday. Always aim to live life with meaning each day. Everyday my work always reminds me how lucky I am to be alive and well.

To Apply or not to apply

IMG_20171015_171237.jpg

There is nothing wrong with having an odd job like mine as long as you are growing in your work. I guess after 2 years I still have so much to learn and figure out not only about my career but also about life. Yes, if you are a fresh graduate or not, everyone is welcome to apply for a position in a cemetery. It is life-changing too trust me… just don’t mind the heavy footsteps and eerie voices you’ll hear when you’re all alone.

All photos are mine.

June 2, 2018 - 10:42 PM.


emdesan (1).png
received_1899007856785127.gif

Sort:  

Wow, I must say this piece was very enlightening. I started reading with a closed minded approach but as your story went on, I realised there's perhaps more to it and certainly it was so.
I guess you develop a lot more patience as well, considering you're working eith a lot of grieving people and I'm sure zombie movies don't scare you no more(jk)

Haha zombie movies are still scary for me because you can see the blood and all that... Thanks for the comment by the way!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Hindi ko yata keri pero feeling ko mas konti trabaho kasi hindi naman siguro daily may patay hehe

Haha weekly po may patay

try q nga kea yn hahahaha anyway this is a good read and a mind opener to everyone...cnu bang magaakala na ndi nmn pla nakakatakot ang trabaho s cemetery...peo this is so unique and im really on to it...goodluck and great work

Thanks sir! Yeah, sino po bang mag aakala hindi ganun nakakatakot ang mga patay hahaha

tama hahaha actually mas takot aq sa buhay lalo na ung mga nakaabang sa sahod ko hahaha....congrats ulit

it is not that bad as long as you are not directly involved with the "dead" but mostly on paper work. Good benefits too.

Yes but I sometimes host interments too so I see dead people inside caskets

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61649.11
ETH 3003.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77