No coffee, but shampoo

in #life5 years ago

Shampoo Age

You know how I had been trying to be completely shampoo-free? No? Doesn't matter. I gave it up, much to the happiness of my wife who couldn't stand my greasy hair any longer. I lasted about four months I'd say, and while it was a little greasy, I thought it was somewhat manageable (admittedly slight discomfort).

But then, I went to a haircut place that really insisted on washing before cutting, and that's when I decided that I will just go back to using shampoo. It was a fine experiment while it lasted. I did convince at least one other person to try it out though. Not sure if he's still going haha....

And now I will not know if continuing the path would have led to eventually having more "normal" looking, non greasy hair. Oh well... at least my wife loves me (more) now. Maybe I can still stick to shampoos with natural ingredients or some such, I don't know.

So that fad is over. And now it's time for a new one.

No Coffee???

The new self-'fad' of mine is trying to focus on mitigating acid reflux. A continual symptom that seems to be ever present. And I don't want to take the usually prescribed medication like acid reducers or proton pump inhibitors... I did try them and really felt bad and didn't feel like they helped all that much. I prefer to try the adjustments to the diet.

And the one big one that I tried not to cut for the longest time: caffeine. Because how can you have life without coffee? It seems impossible after having enjoyed a cup a day for a... Well, a really long time.

But that's what I'm doing. Day 5... I believe I already feel improvements though. And hey, maybe a tiny sip once in a while when I need it... I found that in the past, one tiny sip can already send the heart racing. Maybe I can save that for when I really need the kick.

Acid Reflux

Just now I searched around and stumbled upon this blog which as far as I can tell with my lack of knowledge looks legitimate, and presenting contrary medical results to what I would have thought. And it feels like something that would be true too! Am I just falling into that trap where I only accept things that I already believe? That already match my personal experience? Anyway, it's worth a shot to try some of the suggestions anyway, given that I already tried the other way in the past.

But what was that slightly contrary result? That low stomach acid, not high/too much stomach acid, has been demonstrated in some studies to increase acid reflux symptoms. Contrary because the common knowledge is to take acid reducers like Tums for this. Which might give temporary and immediate relief, but doesn't (in my experience anyway) last. So these results seem interesting to consider, at least to me.

This is a very common symptom as well, so I figure one of you might know more or would be curious about this. Maybe it's not completely accurate either. I wouldn't know. Do you?

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I almost never drink coffee because I'm scared of dependence. My parents get headaches whenever they don't drink it in the morning. Venezuelans drink a lot of super dense black coffee. I do drink a cup when I didn't sleep well and need to finish a task in the morning. It doesn't last more than a couple hours, though. I get sleepy again at noon. Zz

Posted using Partiko Android

I hope to make it like a when-in-need-give-me-super-powers kind of thing. I'm not sure if that's the reality though. But yeah. I've been getting sleepy mid-day.....

Your body: "Where's that energy you promised me!?!?!?!?1?"

Definetly consider changing your diet- I have heard cutting carbs and sugars helps acid reflux a lot. Also, drinking apple cider vinegar sounds counter intuitive, but it’s also supposed to help acid reflux. Good luck getting it fixed! I know it’s quite painful. And I think after 4 months you definitely gave the no poo a good run

Posted using Partiko iOS

I have heard of that, and was kind of worried it would not help but I think I can give that another go. Thanks! Dang. I like carbs.

I used to have frequent heartburn until I figured out it was aggravated by sugary food. When I asked my doctor about it he said that it is the most common aggravating factor. Now if I drink a coke I feel like I've been poisoned, but 3 or 4 black coffees every day is no problem.

Posted using Partiko Android

That's interesting. I can try limiting sugar as well to see. That also sounds hard yikes... It's interesting because I generally don't like things that are too sweet, but wouldn't be surprised if there was still a lot of sugar in my diet still.

I knew about the no poo :)
When my brain works I will tell you what I think about the acid stuffs.

Let me know :)

I've been on no shampoo for quite a while... but it's mainly because my hair started falling off and so I said "fuck this shit" and did a buzzcut. No coffee? What? that's impossible I drink between 2-4 every morning! I can't live without my daily fix of caffeine!

No shampoo would certainly be easier with a buzz cut, that's for sure. Has it been working well for you? Or anything different?

Before I was able to limit to 1-2 cups (coffee, not shampoo) throughout the day. So seems slightly easier. Still painful and I get tired more easily.

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! You have received a 40.43% upvote from us for your 5419 Partiko Points! Together, let's change the world!

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hi @eonwarped!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.985 which ranks you at #1151 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 374 contributions, your post is ranked at #19.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations @eonwarped! You received a personal award!

DrugWars Early Access
Thank you for taking part in the early access of Drugwars.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09