Some not so successful DIY

in #life5 years ago

Looking back in the past few weeks of photos, I was reminded by a few failures in DIY that for some reason I feel like sharing now. And these are ones I spent quite a lot of time on in repeat visits, and now I've pretty much given up on them. This particular one involves a foot massager.

IMG_20190126_152227.jpg

So that's a foot massager that I opened up from the bottom, stared at the components, and then proceeded to put it back together. What was I doing?

Well, we wanted to replace the foot covers and had bought some replacements. For the right leg, we ripped out the whole cover, and this was not the smartest idea. There is a thin metal wire frame that is supposed to squeeze in along the edge of the leg hole, and I couldn't figure out how to get the replacement inside. I thought if I opened it up completely I might have a hint for how to do it, but yeah, that didn't go so well. At the point you see in the picture there's so many more things to take apart and move and I don't think I have the right tools for the job. I was already not sure if I could put it back together. I wonder if I need some trick tool to push the metal wireframe into the right spot. Hum.

For the other leg hole, we were smarter about it. We left the wire frame part alone, and only replaced the cover portion that joins by a set of zippers. So one leg looks great, while the other one has the cover awkwardly sitting loosely in its spot, not secured.

IMG_20190313_232216.jpg

I think a screw is shaking loose somewhere in there too. I dropped one inside while putting things back together, and couldn't figure out how to fish it back out. I can hear it rattle too sometimes. Unnerving.

I'm just glad I was able to put it back and did not make it any worse than I had already made it. And it can still massage feet, so that's good.

Sort:  

Oh i see you posted... And its about a foot massager? lol.
You really do make the weirdest post.
Wonder how that pan of yours is doing. haha

Hiding behind random objects instead of hiding behind my doggo ;P

I ruined the pan, though it kind of works.... Kind of. Now prefer other non stick pan. I know you weren't really curious but had to answer!

So you screwed up

I wonder if there's a pun bot ;). Right on point!

Wellit snot a total failure if you can still massage your feet :)

True! But it was certainly not all that productive either, so that kinda stunk. I'll take the learning experience though.

Yeah I know what you mean most of my DIY projects end up being failed efforts as well

dood... I've always been a tinkerer. There is probably nothing I've ever owned that I've not taken apart and modified. So this is right up my alley and yes, there are hundreds of things I've broken, but also great victories.

So this goes there... And that goes... Uh oh why do I have an extra piece? Is it important? Ahhhhhh

You seriously have a mind for patience and detail. That looks so daunting! I suppose going the distance for your footsies was a grand plan even if it's a bit wonky, it works that's great. You ever see those long magnet arm tools thangs mechanics use to fish bolts and stuffs out when working on engines @eonwarped?

Also, I love smart people. Not just funny ones. You happen to be both. So....Imma hafta follow.

Aw thanks! I'll try to keep them coming :)

Posted using Partiko Android

I get the feeling you don't really have to try that hard. Yer just in the flow.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hi @eonwarped!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.992 which ranks you at #1145 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 1 places in the last three days (old rank 1144).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 225 contributions, your post is ranked at #33.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

@eonwarped You have received a 100% upvote from @intro.bot because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70733.96
ETH 3563.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76