A Long Time Ago, In A Land Far Away

in #life6 years ago (edited)

add3dc1f-e473-4fe1-911d-8bef809e626a.jpeg

46a8e931-d58e-4d2a-91dc-3006485729f7.jpeg

5afb956e-518f-464b-b859-fdc9e6b82c2e.jpeg


I found these old pictures of me from 1971 while rummaging through my parents old photo albums.

The yellow ‘69 Dodge Charger was my Father’s pride and joy. He still reminisces about it. My earliest memories are watching the world go by in the backseat of that car as the cherry bomb glass pack mufflers rumble.

These trips home are always humbling for me. Reconnecting with my roots here in Columbus, Ohio never fails to leave me recharged and ready for the next phase of my journey.

So many things have changed yet there is so much that remains the same. I appreciate you joining me for the ride.

Yours in the Chain,

Eric


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

wow,really you looking very cute your childhood time.specially you are very happy your father hands.its very best childhood memories of you.1971 very long time but its historical story for your life. you enjoyed car in your childhood . This moments not comes in every person life. you sharing very good memorable day every friends.this photography very excellent.very well done.take care yourself and best of luck of ur great work.may god bless you. have a great da.. my dear friend.. @ericvancewalton

So cute. I can see you in these photos. Funny how as babies we look the same later.. You know the eyes. Thanks for sharing these.

The visit with your parents brought this on. Very sweet.

Thanks! We looked through so many photo albums...many of which I forgot existed. I really needed this reconnection with my roots. I feel so much more grounded now and ready for what's next. : ) I appreciate your comment, @rebeccabe!

You are welcome. I always smile each time I see your baby photo. So cute!

It’s always fun to find old pictures! And holy cow the Dodge Charger is so bad ass

Posted using Partiko iOS

I really wish we would've kept that car in the family!

I’m trying to not make a similar mistake...my brother got a 2004 Acura TL as a hand me down (i know not as vintage or treasured but bare with me) and it’s got a few body kit upgrades and what not and we absolutely don’t want to ever get rid of it. He’s due for a new car but we wanna keep it and have the model for years to come..

Posted using Partiko iOS

You're smart for having the foresight to hold onto that car. I owned an '86 and '91 Honda CRX and wish I would've kept them both. The older one was, by far, a better car in my opinion even though it was more primitive design-wise. The weight distribution was nearly perfect.

Your dad's car looks like a Fast and Furious car if painted black. You look so cute.
Reminisce has a way of rewinding the past with fun.

Yeah, it was the same car but not quite as fast (or furious) as the one in the movie. : )

Another lovely "time traveling" post... seems a lot of us are doing that, these days!

Have car memories, too; my dad had a 1968 Mercury Cougar... no big deal, but living and growing up in Denmark, the whole concept of someone having an American car was pretty mindblowing... even as about a 7-year old, I remember that we'd get "looks" as we drove through town.

Cool memories to treasure, as time keeps rolling on by.

Thanks! I've noticed that people are reminiscing a lot more on the platform now too.

The '68 Cougar was a great looking car and probably far more rare than the Mustang. I'm sure it got lots of attention there in Denmark! Do you have any pictures?

Wow what a pretty and cute baby you were! Long time ago but strange to see your colourful photo's, not black and white and also your photos are still okay not spoiled that gteat. Really it's a great memories and also finding lots of memories in Columbus that's reconnecting your roots , appreciate this. Many people forget their roots but you are reconnecting this, very glad to see this ,thanks.

The Dodge Charger's are a real beauty and have a great sentimental memory for your father, that's the great thing about the photos we've found for a long time. We can feel everyone's nostalgia a few years ago just by looking at them, holding them in our hands and seeing how much things have changed.

Cool memories far far away that's so adorable :)

Nice pics , now it's memorable moments for you .

Hello @ericvancewalton, That would be oldest and memorable photo clicks you had. 1971 was so long historical story indeed. You so cute those days on father's hand. 69 Dodge Charger so powerful car those days. I'm pretty enjoying ride with your journey.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87