Bahama Mamas

in #life6 years ago (edited)

f5104b69-3aae-4f43-80a5-abbddd6ac9a4.jpeg

14399785-c72c-435f-b7ff-9f30174f6998.jpeg

bf6e8412-0834-457e-afa5-7232ec0b5e34.jpeg


My wife and I are visiting my parents in Columbus, Ohio for a few days. Yesterday, we visited German Village, a part of Columbus that I spent a lot of time in when I was younger.

While visiting the village we had a great, meat laden, lunch at a German restaurant called, Schmidt’s (that’s been there since 1888).

Schmidt’s is famous for two things, their homemade sausage called, “The Bahama Mama” and cream puffs the size of a dinner plate. As best as I can remember I the last time I had a Bahama Mama was in 1993. I’m happy to report they’re even better than I remember. Spicy, sweet, and savory all in one bite.

I did learn one thing on this visit to this famous shrine to sausage, schnitzel and other meat-sweat-inducing German fare, I can't eat as much as I used to. I had to save the epic cream puff for another visit.

Guten Appetit!


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

Looks super fun. Cheers!

It was! Lots of quality time and reminiscing!

Wow very nice to see you and your family! Really it's a very good things to spending time with family specially with parents, most of the people have no time to spending time with their parents. Bahama Mama nice name, never known to this , interested to have this test.
Thanks to share your lovely enjoyable day and best best wishes for your parents, have a nice day.

Glad to see you and your family are enjoying such a trek!

I wish you to relax and enjoy your stay there, but from what I see, you must’ve already started! Spending some time with our parents is a MUST especially as they grow older.

Wow God bless your parents. They are still so cute. Hope you had fun.

Thank you @oredebby! It's been a great trip so far.

You reminded me of the time I went with some friends to a little German village in my country, where we all ordered sausages and they were all huge and delicious. Sausages and beers and then we had a two-day indisgestion, although I think it was the dark beers. It was a very food and fun ride. Thank you for reminding me of that moment. Karfreitag

My Mom made the mistake of looking up the nutritional information for the sausage...31 grams of fat each! Thankfully I dodged the indigestion bullet. : )

Cool funky shots and some great ones too have a nice day :D

You already left town? one thing about parents is that they never get tired of seeing you. have a safe and fun trip!

Yes, we've been here for a few days now and we're back on Monday. Thanks Fong!

Yes, we've been here for
A few days now and we're back
On Monday. Thanks Fong!

                 - ericvancewalton


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

I’ve been to Ohio a few times but never Columbus, that little German village looks pretty awesome! Glad you got to see your parents.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I'll take a cream puff!!

Oh, I'll bet. That's always been my fave.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73