Selling A Dream

in #life5 years ago (edited)

When someone says Vienna, some immediately think of schnitzel and apple strudel as both originate from Vienna. Wiener schnitzel is something you have to eat while in Austria, that is a must if you want to taste local, traditional food but so is the is a traditional Viennese strudel.

I had the pleasure and the opportunity to taste both recently. The schnitzel was heavenly good, could eat one every day for a week. The strudel however is another story that I'd like to share with you now.

Apple strudel (German: Apfelstrudel; Czech: štrúdl) is a traditional Viennese strudel, a popular pastry in Austria and in many countries in Europe that once belonged to the Austro-Hungarian Empire (1867–1918).
"Strudel" a German word, derives from the Middle High German word for "whirlpool" or "eddy".
The apple strudel variant is called “strudel jabłkowy” in Poland, "Ștrudel de mere" in Romanian, "jabolčni zavitek" in Slovenian, Almásrétes in Hungarian and Apfelstrudel in German. source

IMG_20190714_102035a.jpg

We knew we want to taste both before we left and as I said, we had schnitzel and saw strudel in a few pastry but somehow the time was never right to buy one. The last day we knew it's the last chance so on our way to Slovakia, we stopped at a petrol station in Austria and lucky us, they had apple strudel. We bought some, got in the car, drove away and planned to eat it at the border while buying highway sticker and we did that.

I knew what strudel looks and tastes like as you can buy it here and in Hungary as well, so imagine my surprise at the first bite when I realized that instead of apple, the strudel was filled with peach. You can see on the photo, the yellow one is half a peach and the dark red was some kind of berry jam. Don't get me wrong, it was delicious, very tasty, it's just that it wasn't what we wanted and what the label said or what we paid for.

In cases like this I would normally go back and ask the seller very nicely what is she (it was a woman) selling here as what we got and the label definitely don't match. I would ask the money back as it's not right. I believe the customer has the right to get what he/she's paying for, which didn't happen here. Unfortunately I didn't have that option as we were in another country already.

I saw apple strudel in Slovakia along with a bunch of other yummy cakes (check out my post here ) but I chose something else that was also important to me.

This is how we didn't eat apple strudel in Austria and I decided to make some myself at home. Stay tuned if you want to see the result as the post is going to be published on Monday. All I can say is that it was delicious and not as hard to do as it said in the recipe :))

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Congratulations @erikah! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 7000 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 8000

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

You got a 6.74% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @erikah! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 20 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69735.97
ETH 3533.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72