THE LIFESTYLE IN THE PROVINCE

in #life6 years ago (edited)

I lived most of my years in Laguna, a province somewhere in the Philippines. We are near San Pablo which is known for having the Seven Lakes and one of them is just 30-40 mins. away from us. Aside from Jeepney, a 3-wheeled vehicle called Tricycle is also a popular means of public transportation. A maximum of five passengers can ride it unless someone is big enough to accumulate all the space. There is no aircon in both of these.

I can say that our small barrio is one of those areas that have a weaker signal compared to the neighboring ones. Our place is still living in the trace of the old times wherein carabaos and horses can be seen in the streets. These animals usually carry the products harvested by the farmers such as banana, coconut, lanzones, rambutan and many more. I will never regret growing up here.

What does our barrio have?

A fresh river that is open to everyone.

Since it is summer, it serves as our cheapest and nearest getaway. It's a 15-20 mins. walk to get there. Aside from this, it is not only meant to be swim by those who want some refreshment but it is also a place where some ladies here are doing their laundry. Though it is hard to believe that this kind of old stuff still exists, it does really exist.

Using pieces of woods to cook the food.

Not all of us are cooking the food in the modern way which in fact some of us are doing it in the primitive style. Believe it or not, three years ago we were also one of them. My father and brother are going to the forest to gather some woods to be used and sometimes we are also using charcoals during those moments. It made me have the skills to start a fire using these materials, not an expert but can begin a flame.

The folks are very friendly with a smile.

Saying greetings to each other is a normal cycle that we always encountered. They also know the names of everyone and most of us are relatives by blood. It is also an ordinary gesture to share the food that you’ve cooked; it’s like having free snacks for some days. When someone died, expect that everybody will come to the memorial service. Yes, we are bounded by love.

Inexpensive fruits, vegetables, and other goods.

We have neighbors that are selling corns for 20-25 pesos per kilo (almost half of one dollar). My grandma is also living in another small barrio so every time we go there, we went home with a sack filled of banana (including its heart that can be cook), mango, and papaya. We also have plants and trees growing in our own backyard such as jackfruit, guava, malunggay, and chili. This is what I like about being here, we can enjoy eating without breaking the bank.

If I will be given a chance to choose between living in the city or in the province, I’ll still choose our barrio. Though it's small and simple, it is rich with the gifts of nature. I have the privilege to feel the soothing whisper of the wind and to hear the calmness of my surroundings. These are the experiences that even a high technology can’t give, we are blessed and contented in every little thing.

"A palace is where I can live like a princess, a home is where I can live like a human."






Sort:  

As much as I enjoy living in our small barangay, the burning of everything bothers me. Sometimes it can be very quiet, and many times it can get very noisy. Noise and pollution is not conducive to a peaceful existence. Now if only there were electric, water, and internet on the mountaintop, that is where you would find me!

If there's such thing in the mountaintop, I would love to be there as well!
I hope that you can find the peacefulness that you desire.
Blessings! :)

If I were to walk out over the sands at low tide where we live, I can get hundreds of meters offshore and it can be really quiet and peaceful out there. But I would have to come home each time the high tide returns. 😋 I'm convinced peace and quiet really doesn't exist anywhere in the Philippines except on the top floor suite of a Cebu City hotel. 😎 he he

I ride my bike through your town regularly (Laguna Loop) and I can say that it doesn't feel like a province at all. The heavy traffic, the fact that it's part of the greater Manila area (GMA), and because I'm from a more province-ish province (Samar-Leyte).

I agree with you @japalekhin, if we are in a place of civilization somewhere in Laguna, we can't really feel the pure provincial vibe.

But there are small barrios in the inner of Laguna and that's what I'm describing about.
That's where I'm living. :D

Thank you so much!
Have a nice day! :)

Philippines is really wonderful. Bawat lugar ay may gandang tinatago.

True!
It is just a matter of appreciating even the smallest details. :)

Oo nga. But sad to say na ang ilang mga magagandang lugar sa pilipinas ay unti unti nang naglaho dahil sa pang aabuso ng tao.

I have been to San Pablo.
Is it part of your place.

I hear people say that life in the province is the best.
How true it is?

It is not really part of our place because it is in another area.
But we are near in San Pablo. :)

And yes, I will always love the province. :)

ahhhhhh.. the simple life. :) wow, pam, can u really start a fire just with wood.. like a fire drill or just rubbing the bamboo fast against another one??

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87