Life is Precious #5 - Hasta La Vista, Grim Reaper!

in #life6 years ago

What would you do if you could avoid death? A quick snap of your fingers right now and you would vanish? No dying, no one would miss you, the world would carry on as if you were never born at all. Like the Mandela Effect. Your body would instantly disappear into the ether and every online trace of you would follow. As in the days of the Soviet Union when leaders would fall out of favor and be erased from official photographs.

Read: The Top 5 Reasons to Join Steemit

When I was ten, I learned about death. My Sister, who was older than me, laid it out in a crystal-clear manner. She said: Death is when you go to sleep, and never wake up. It made perfect sense in my young mind.

You go to sleep, and never wake up
Never wake up...
NEVER WAKE UP!!

It made me wonder why I was brought into the world at all, only to have to die in the end. It seemed like such a waste. If I could have taken a peek at life before my birth, and given a choice in the matter? Hhhmmmmm.., I’d say war, disease, death - Nah, I don't need any of that. Turn me off, thank you very much!

For instance, I would look at Stephen Hawking, with his amazing mind and wish that they could have taken his incredible brain, and placed it in a brand-new body...

A new life

So here you give birth to a beautiful child, full of life. He or She grows up to embark on a wonderful career full of promise. Until one day, out of the blue, they die a horrible, painful death. You see, it’s not being dead that's the problem, (putting Hell aside for a moment) it’s the dying part.

Unless you believe in The Rapture, or some spectacular advances in Transhumanism, there currently seems to be only one solution to the problem of death - Not being born in the first place...

If you love your kids, don't have any...

I thought about it for a long time, and I resolved: *the only way to spare my kids from dying is, not to have any. Problem solved. It fit my logical, questioning mindset very well. My kids will never have to deal with having their throat slit by some deranged serial killer. They'll avoid suffering the awful agony of a drowning like Brian Jones from The Rolling Stones. I won't have to worry about them being roasted alive in a building fire, like the Grenfell conflagration in The UK. I'll never need to see their bodies wasting away from cancer, like the much-loved Steve Jobs.

Read: Are You Dating A Psychopath? - Narcissists and the Women who Love Them

I'm not trying to change anyone's mind. If I have to die, I don't want to suffer. Give me a quick and painless demise. I don't want to see anyone else suffer either. So to those of you reading this, I wish you and your children a wonderful, happy, prosperous life,

And... A quick, painless death. What do you think?

Follow me @evernoticethat and UPVOTE

Thank you so much!

Image credit: 1, 2, 3, 4

If you liked this post, please upvote it, resteem to your friends and follow me for more. You can also check out my most recent articles:


Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by evernoticethat from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @evernoticethat! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Revelation:

Now I saw a new heaven and a new earth, for the first heaven and the first earth had passed away. Also there was no more sea. 2 Then I, [a]John, saw the holy city, New Jerusalem, coming down out of heaven from God, prepared as a bride adorned for her husband. 3 And I heard a loud voice from heaven saying, “Behold, the tabernacle of God is with men, and He will dwell with them, and they shall be His people. God Himself will be with them and be their God. 4 And God will wipe away every tear from their eyes; there shall be no more death, nor sorrow, nor crying. There shall be no more pain, for the former things have passed away.”

5 Then He who sat on the throne said, “Behold, I make all things new.” And He said [b]to me, “Write, for these words are true and faithful.” :)

Yes, so true. But as I said, the main issue is that save for the possibility of the Rapture, you still have to die to get there. See what I mean?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61572.53
ETH 2995.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73