Take-out Lifestyle

in #life6 years ago (edited)

9F556701-9F80-4D05-B309-06A087A64FE4.jpeg

My mom would have an heart attack if she knew how much money I spend just because I’m lazy and don’t feel like doing things myself.


I used to pride myself on doing everything myself, if I had the knowledge and required skills for it. This was usually about food, why would I pay someone to make me a nice (small) dinner, when with the same money I can cook for myself several meals.

Lol, I don’t give a fuuuuck anymore.


At this moment of my life, I don’t enjoy cooking for myself, so I rarely do it. You probably know that I used to be a chef, so I have been in the kitchen for a fair share of my life.

I eat fruits, sandwhiches and take out. Sometimes I eat out, but I prefer eating home alone, so I can devour my meal like the sloppy cave woman I am.

I woke up a couple hours ago and came to the backyard to enjoy the sun while answering the comments on Steemit. I don’t eat breakfast very often because I get neuseous if I eat as soon as I wake up, so I usually come here with coffee, but was too lazy to even do that today. Instead, because I live in the citycenter, I got my little tush up and walked to get a smoothie, how millenial of me. I could have gotten some real food at the same time too, but I don’t yet know what I want to eat, and I’ll probably end up ordering something home. Maybe sushi.

I’m kind of grossed out by myself and this new behavior, but then again, where is the harm in this. I have the money for it and it makes my life easier, saves me from doing the dishes and kitchen clean up, things I despise. I have more time to write and photograph, as I don’t have to bother with feeding myself.

I’m also not dependant on take out, because I can cook, and I can cook a decent meal out of very little ingredients. In the countryside there is no such things as takeout and because it’s over 20 kilometers to the nearest store, you work with what you got. In the city you can get food all day and night.

Funny enough, I often end up eating heathier when I order food straight to my home, because we have a pretty good selection of plant based choises and restaurants that deliver. If I would have to go buy all those different veggies, I know most of it would end up in waste when I get an urge to run to the countryside, or abroad all of a sudden.

I really enjoy that I can affort these simple everyday luxuries and I think money is made to be used. If everyone just hodls, the markets don’t move anywhere and no one is making money. Currencies are meant to be used!

Do you eat take out, go to restaurants, cook for yourself, or enjoy your moms/wifes cooking?

Sort:  

I started cooking different combinations I couldn’t find in the restaurants that deliver in my cheap city. And I really hate going out to the same 2, maximum 3 restaurants, that deserve to be paid for the food they serve, here. I agree totally with you that as economy moves forward and technologies are bringing costs down, eating out or ordering in is the best thing to do (given the fact that the products are of quality).
I too throw 2/3 of the fresh greeneries I buy (like cillantro that I buy for 2 plates of salmon tartar and then it justs dries out in the fridge - damn thing is pretty expensive too for a bloody weed).

Well in Finland eating out, or ordering in is not cheap because labour in Finland is very expensive. It’s funny that you mentioned cilantro, I love using it for woks, but if I don’t use it all immediately, the damn weed dies before the next day. I have a lot of plants and usually some herbs also, that grow quite nicely, but cilantro refuses to stay alive more than a day!

awesome writing brother. you are actually true. money is not for anything else but for spending. agree with your opinion. by the way shake looks yummy

Not a brother, and not your sibling anyways.

And you are actually fake :D
EDIT: Okay, I'm sorry. You read the post but maybe didn't realize that she's a girl.

A post on it is gonna give you 10x the money you spent on the food anyway hahaha! :P

money is made to be used

Well said.

Actually, with the current pending payout and price of steem and sbd, it’s about four times the cost of the smoothie 😁

Ahh! Still worth it. :D

Occasionally I get take out but prefere to cook myself to be honest, get in those organic ingredients in the belly much better for you than all this chemical shit in bought food. Plus England i way behind with the crypto o nowhere really takes it yet! 💯🐒

Well it depends on what food you buy, not all take away is pizza. It's not like I can use crypto in Finland either, has to be converted to fiat always before use.

I know mine was a curry last night. My wirex card is getting good use 💯🐒

I never really liked cooking either. Maybe tho... it's because i can only boil noodles in a cup. [take-out all the way]

hahaha so you can't cook to save your life! 😅

I eat out every day, I don't mind spending my money on this, my only problem is that when you outside you can't always be sure about the quality of the food you are eating and when you buy cheap you'll never know what they put inside your meals. I got no time for cooking now so I got no choice coz my parents are far away, my wife doesn't cook and I don't really like to go the in-laws for dinner...

Cooking my moms!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I love the fact that the only two options are mom and wife, like your audience is either a 15 year old living at home or a 40 year old with a family 😅

What my wife and I have always found is that if we buy fresh ingredients and try to cook from them, they always come in such large quantities that we can never use them all before they go bad, so we end up wasting so much we pay more than for eating out anyway. Home cooking in bulk is reasonable for a family of four, maybe, but not so practical for just one or two people.

In the US, at least, there are some services that are trying to pack and deliver fresh ingredients for single meals, but where I live is so hot that they often go bad on the way.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79