The era of tolerance. Why is a black actress in “The Little Mermaid” infuriating everyone?

in #life5 years ago

It's just amazing how people are furious that the black actress will play "The Little Mermaid" in the upcoming film.

It's strange, because even Jesus is always played by a white actor. Everyone was fine.


source

Everyone is talking about the fact that tolerance has gone too far, but what about the fact that "whitewashing" has gone too far?
The characters have become too often "bleached", because everyone does not care. All this is taken for granted.
Remember, Scarlett Johansson played in "Ghost in the Shell" ?

Was there really room ONLY for the white heroine? This is a Japanese work and it is logical to assume that an Asian heroine would look good there.

But everyone understands that without a well-known person on the poster, this film had no chance of collecting cash and attracting the attention of the audience. A popular female faces today, the deficit, especially among Asian actors.

For all the roles in the film* "Avatar"* scored white actors, although the work was entirely about Asia. Again, no one remembers this example. But “Avatar” is a cult work.
When Ben Affleck decided to shoot the film “Argo”, he took on the role of the main character. Only in all this there is one nuance: the film is based on real events and the main character was a Latin American. But Ben Affleck was not embarrassed. Viewers too.
It makes no sense even to talk about the infinite number of ancient and mythical epics, where white actors play Greeks, Romans and Egyptians. It does not annoy anyone absolutely.
Christian Bale as Moses? Yes, easily. Obviously, Moses looked like this, right?

If anything, I do not blame anyone for these castings. Still, these films are made by Western directors for a Western audience. Of course, we remake the original works in our own way.

But for the same reasons, I absolutely calmly accept Ariel as a black actress. Because it is a part of our culture. We all adore actors like Will Smith, Eddie Murphy and, of course, Idris Elba.
When I was in swimming school, a black boy was swimming with me and he was cool, very kind. But I am in Russia, and in America and Europe this is a close situation for very many people.
If you do not think that this is part of our culture, then give up rock and roll, hip-hop and the same Will Smith filmography.


source
New "The Little Mermaid" does not take anything away from you. She is no worse than the white Little Mermaid. I heard Halle Bailey sing. Perhaps it is even better. We do not know yet.

If you are not a racist, but simply fight for the "truth" and for the "canon", then start the fight with films where you take whites as characters of other nationalities. It will be both fair and self-critical.

But if you are completely embarrassed that a young beautiful girl with a beautiful voice is played by a young beautiful girl with a beautiful voice, then hell, guys. Seriously. This is a disappointment.

And what do you think?

Sort:  

The most horrendous whitewashed movies tended to be in the classic black and white era of movies. Notably John Wayne as Genghis Khan and my least favourite Katharine Hepburn in the Dragon Seed. In those movies it was principally to create vehicles for bankable actors. Even the movie featuring Scarlett Johansson (Ghost in the Shell) was made to make money. That movie cost $110 million and needed a named actor for the draw. Also take into account that it is based on an anime character. People who are familiar with the storyline had the right to be a little disgruntled but they were only peripherally the market for the movie. This movie was trying to target a more mainstream demographic.

This is not a criticism of the actress. I believe that what bothers people the most about choosing Halle Bailey isn't her talent but because of the message made in choosing for the character. She wasn't chosen because of her appeal to a broad market - meaning that she is so popular people would have swamped the theatres. Let me give you an example from an old TV show in the 1960's - Batman. The character of Catwoman was played by Julie Newmar and by Eartha Kitt. Both women were well received in this role.

For a number of years Disney has been pushing a political agenda and unfortunately this movie is just one in a long list pushing this. I am not sure if you were a fan of the first Star War Trilogy. Disney destroyed the respect of their audience with the most recent generation of movies. It was like going to the store to buy coffee but ended up with broccoli instead. The Marvel movies originally appealed to a certain demographic but on the takeover by Disney started to add gender politics. Apparently moving forward the movies will be female centered. I am not saying that having strong women characters is bad - when it came out Wonder Woman was the highest grossing Superhero origin movie. I repeat the problem is that Disney is trying to push an agenda and Halle Bailey unfortunately is suffering the backlash.

I think the problem with Disney is that instead of changing existing characters they need to create new characters. This is one of the things that has bothered me in my travels is that often other countries have adopted Western mythology as their own. You are from Russia? Where is the Disney movie about "Sister Alyonushka and Brother Ivanushka"? I tried to track down some folk tales from various countries in Africa but I am afraid even Disney would have a hard time making the story of the Fat Woman Who Melted Away something little girls would like.

Eartha Kitt was the best Catwoman ever--her voice alone would have ensured that!
Rogers and Hammerstein's "Cinderella" got a facelift in 1997 - The Whitney/Brandy Cinderella Was One of the Most Important Movies of the '90s | On the movie's 20th anniversary, celebrating a fairytale that was ahead of its time - and our daughters, only in grade school at the time, were captivated. The original black and white version didn't appeal to them, but this one did!

Let's not even "go there" with white men playing Native Americans...

On the one hand, you are celebrating black women portraying characters who they couldn't be in history and vilifying white men for doing the same. I have to give the white men playing Apache, Comanche, etc. in the old westerns, a pass because of the once again some of the actors (Jeff Chandler as an example) were very bankable. He was nominated for an Academy Award for his performance as Cochise. It was as if there were a lot of recognizable Chiricahua Apache actors. The only actor who might have come close to qualifying (recognized by the public) Jay Silverheels wasn't even Apache ... He was a Mohawk. Even the extras have to be given a pass because while they might be "Indians" in one scene the would have been "Cowboys" in another. That applied to true Native American extras.

I hear you.
I'm not celebrating the trend of casting minorities in roles they wouldn't have played in real life. And Hollywood 50 years ago was a whole other world. My husband's employer was faulted for not hiring enough black engineers, but there were no such job applicants--the push has to begin with recruiting those minorities to the college of engineering. Asia and India, no longer minorities in science and math careers. I've blogged about Native American entrepreneurs and CEOs, and follow actors and musicians on Twitter and Facebook.
https://carolkean.wordpress.com/2014/09/05/native-american-indian-ceos/
Thanks for reading and commenting!

Sorry, I'm really digressing here, but ECONOMICS and industry, employment, education, not political correctness, are what we should focus on (IMO). Eg.,

Evans Craig is a man with a mission: “To get all Natives on the high-speed Internet, by providing affordable, yet quality technological services to my people.” Craig, a Navaho who also celebrates his Scottish heritage by wearing a kilt on occasion, has a number of entrepreneurial ventures in the works, including conducting Technology Assessments on Native American Schools and Tribes, and assisting Native Tribes and businesses with online marketing. Among his many accomplishments are designing a National Network to connect up 49 Tribal Nations for the Council of Energy Resource Tribes (CERT). (Source: www.evanscraig.com)

I am entirely in agreement with you. Yesterday I was at a party and the conversation swung around to two subject areas which I am particularly ardent about: minimum wage and Universal Basic Income. The depression caused by poverty has been documented to reduce peoples' IQ by 13 points. Once people become impoverished they also lose the ability to come up with ideas to get them out of this state. I have also determined a way that people can self-fund a Universal Basic "Dividend". In Canada, the old-age pension is administered by the CPP Investment Board.

Its investment strategies have been able to average around 10 percent (8.9% so far this year) net rate of return. For ease of math, I am using simple numbers. If a person makes a minimum wage of $10,000 per year and they devote $1000 (10%) to investment into the UBI fund each year. As long as 5% is invested, the residual interest could be paid out as a UBI. I am including the link to a future value calculator here

After the second year the UBI (if the total rate of return was 10% and the UBI withdrew 1/2 half of this - 5%)
would be $50 or around $4.00 per month. This is nothing correct. After the 3rd year, the UBI would be $102.50 or around $8.50 per month. After 4th year $157.63 or $13.00 per month.

After 50 years the annual earnings would be $9,921.33 or $826.75 per month. This is not a plan that necessarily will benefit the current generation in the short run. It is a plan that needs to be set in play multi-generationally. Unlike the current CPP which does not pay out the outstanding balance of the contributions, my suggestion would be that the investment would be rolled over to the beneficiaries without any tax incumbrances.

Hi @carolkean;
I read your post about the entrepreneurs, CEOs on this link. A number of years ago (2014-15), I was in a restaurant in Ukraine. While most at the table were native Ukrainians there was a single American and me - a Canadian. In describing my perception of the difference between Canadians and Ukrainians, I asked if they had anyone that they were proud of or admired. I was able to list off a number of people (using as an example Mike Holmes). I had to shake my head at the American ... she cited Donald Trump (this was way before the election was even considered). The Ukrainians were unable to think of one example. After pushing they eventually mentioned Wladimir Klitschko. This wasn't because he did anything they were proud of but because of his boxing record.

I think it is important to edify young people by putting positive representatives in front of them giving them the understanding that anything is possible. People who excel deserve to be recognized. You may want to review some of the videos found on the National Film Board (Canadian) which has documentaries and shorts which have captured all sorts of subjects of interest ... no matter the flavour you are.


This is a short featuring Susan Aglukark captured around the time that she received a Governor General's Performing Arts Award (2016) for a Lifetime Achievement Award.

I agree: "I think it is important to edify young people by putting positive representatives in front of them giving them the understanding that anything is possible. People who excel deserve to be recognized. " You give me a lot of food for thought! Thank you for reading and commenting so thoughtfully and in depth. :)

Thank you for this.

wow! Thank you for such a detailed and complete answer. I didn’t know some moments, so for me your comment was very useful!

I definitely think this post tells truth. I had someone tell me they won't watch the new Aladdin movie because he is not white! My reply was "uuuum did you not realize where this movie even takes place??? That's ridiculous!"

That was one of the most annoying sentences I've ever heard. And I hope to hear things like that less and less!

Posted using Partiko Android

That really happened?? 😂😭
OMG, people can be so short-sighted...

I know I can't believe it either!

Posted using Partiko Android

That is utterly lame. ugh that is just irritating LOL

Very very lame 😔

Posted using Partiko Android

Hell!! I know this story. When I was sitting in the hall at the premiere of "Aladdin", the couple who sat behind me constantly laughed and resented that Princess Jasmine was "not beautiful" and suitable for this role. Aladdin himself is “some kind of Hindu,” and Jin is terrible, it's “that black actor, but now he is blue.”
The whole impression from the view is spoiled because of these cues from behind.

Oh that is the worst. People can be so closed minded, it gets irritating. I haven't seen it yet but I know I won't base it on the Walt Disney version of it as it makes no sense. Why would they make the people in Aladdin white in the cartoon when obviously they ar not? But then it's ok for Mulan to be Asian. Walt Disney made a mess of a lot of the stories. Pocahontas was changed a lot as well. In the cartoon she fell in love with John Smith. Well I'm true story, at that time "Pocahontas" ( means spoiled child or brat. Not her true name) was a child, too young for John Smith. They were just food friends. Later on she married his brother. Guessing that's why they made the second movie of Pocahontas to rectify their "mistake". I haven't watched it so I can't say too much. I just know she had a hard time in the new world. She has children and this is where things get fuzzy in my memory. Not sure if she had a child that died... Anyways I believe Pocahontas got sick so decided to return home and died on the way there. Something like that.

So people watch these movies as kids and believe that's how the stories go. So who is to blame in all their judgments?? Well a lot of people actually.

It is because of these moments that I sometimes watch movies at home and not in cinemas) Sometimes I can’t stand just such comments from the side)
Have you already seen the new trailer for the movie "Mulan"? It seems that they approached this issue thoroughly, because the actress playing the main role is a Chinese woman)))

No I haven't. I didn't even know for the mermaid 😒

Posted using Partiko Android

Having grown up and faced what I'd say is real system racism during apartheid and even after I always find these debates a bit silly. I don't know the actress but if she auditioned and she was the best for the job I see no reason why she shouldn't get it. The little mermaid isn't even based on a real person so their ethnicity should not matter.

I think that if she was selected just for affirmative action's sake and a talented actress lost out to her that would be a bummer, I always feel like the project itself is more important than representation.

I agree Hollywood has been heavily whitewashed over the years Ben Kingsly playing Gandhi? I mean really there's a billion Indians you can't get one to play Gandhi? I think this outrage is also used as a marketing tool to promote these films and plenty of it is a manufactered debate.

Movies are meant to entertain us, I think we forget they supposed to take us out of normal life and doesn't have to be authentic to any ideal. Having said that there are certain characters should remain in their ethnicity. Batman is generally accepted as white dude, we don't need a black batman, for that we have Nightrunner, (An Algerian ) which is why I like comics, they do give this diversity a chance but create new characters around the ethnicity, which gives it a lot more depth.

I was actually talking to a friend about something similar the other day, we watched the show Chernobyl on HBO and everyone had a British accent and that seems to generally accepted, lol I highly doubt anyone in Ukraine would be having a damn cockney or Essex accent lol

Its the same ancient greek shows, ancient Romans, Vikings they always use the British accent and no one seems to be bothered with it. Ooops I rambled a bit but I found this topic pretty interesting

I understand you and support your opinion.
What color of color and nationality can matter if it’s just a talented person, an actress who can give us a great movie? I do not understand why all these secret wars and "polite racism" that hurts and annoys.
It is even sad, because everyone considers himself a modern and advanced person. But how can this be, if many in their heads are still full of stereotypes?
I watched the TV show "Chernobyl", my relatives from those places. Many things were unfinished, but the essence itself and the tragedy was conveyed very reliable. All that era, and even such details as the shoes of heroes, houses, cigarettes and other small parts.
It is necessary to look at the picture, at the idea, and not at who is speaking with what accent.

Nice to see someone addressing this. It has never bothered me, and although I'm very good at understanding why people act and think in a certain way, this is one of the few things I simply can't wrap my head around. I simply don't get why one would make a fuzz about it.
Adding all those examples to your posts was a great idea.

Many thanks for your comment!
I also can not understand it, so I decided to write about it. I really wonder what other people think about it!
I had a whole list of examples, but I didn’t want to delay this post))) I think it would be a bit boring)))


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

I get where you're coming from, I really do. What you say - white actors taking the roles of non-white actors - happens all the time. But lately, it's happening in reverse. Wherever you look, there is an Asian person, a black person, most likely an LGBT person, a Latin American person. And while some of these actors are indeed talented, a lot of them are chosen just as tokens, if you get what I'm saying.
The movie producers are just following an agenda and that shouldn't happen on a movie set.

Personally, as long as the actor/actress is talented and fits the part well, they can be whatever race or nationality they want. But I've seen plenty of bad actors cast in roles just to seem more inclusive. And that ruins the entire movie.

The way I see it, it's not about being racist, it's a lot of people complaining that traditionally, the Little Mermaid is white. In the story. And honestly, we don't need a Little Mermaid adaptation, the animated movie was just fine.
The same way we don't need a lot of movies and TV series being made at the moment just for the sake of doing them with a "diverse" cast. The entertainment industry should be about entertainment, not about politics. Lately, all these so called A-listers seem far more concerned with proving their loyalty to so-and-so party and so-and-so agenda than about actually making quality movies. A shame.

Good post, though. I hope what I said makes sense. Again, I don't care about this whole debate much. I don't even know who this girl is. And as long as she does a good job as Ariel, good for her. :)

This is exactly the point. Most of the people I've seen complaining about this choice are not, nor have ever been, racist in the slightest. It's just a bit annoying how art becomes political. It shouldn't.

That's it! On the territory of art there is no place for politics, economics and interracial aggression. But everything that I see now seems little like real art. In the world of cinema, they make money on it and sometimes show people complete shit.
In the world of actors, pressure is at its maximum. It is very sad to see sometimes a black hero who is not welcome. Or feel that the Asian was invited to this role only from a sense of duty and this very "diversity." I personally do not care what nationality and race the actor will be. For me it is important that I really believe his character, his acting work.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Well said @extractum-lunae. So much has changed, yet nothing has. Personally, as long as someone can play the role and do it justice that is all that matters. Having seen movies which were based on stories and books where in the book a full detailed description is given and not followed in the movie, does bother fans. The cannot get certain things out of their head.

In some cases, the artistic license that is used to 'recreate' a role is more than justified. People need to learn to enjoy what they are watching. Yes, your favorite actor makes it better, but it doesn't mean that I can't be as good or better.

There are 2 roles that come to mind where the changes, I feel worked out better. The Dark Tower. Idris Elba was fantastic. Of course, I don't think he could be bad in anything. The character he played was white in the books. Yes people got upset over that. The movie wasn't 'great' but the acting was good. Another is Tara from True Blood. In the books Tara is white, nice but spoiled, owns a dress shop. In the series... she black, a loud mouth, the complete polar opposite of the books. With out her in the series, it would have lacked some of the appeal.

Many thanks for the response! I believe that this topic should sound more often. Because the wave of aggression and irritation is getting bigger and higher.
It bothers me. Why are there still so many stereotypes in people's heads? This is very sad.

You are very welcome. I think talking about issues that exist is one of the ways to work towards solving them. I haven't watch anything yet, so many people have said she's amazing, which I don't doubt one bit. Could you imagine if Disney didn't doctor the story originally? Ariel would not be a Disney Princess to say the least.

There are actually people that have spoken out against the casting of all sorts of actors in roles that should be played by someone of another race. Some of those people might speak out against this casting...but probably only a small minority.

The realities of Hollywood mean that you probably cast whoever they tell you to cast that somewhat fits the role. Someone in production wants this famous actor, because they feel like they would bring in more money to the film. Same goes for new actors. Someone saw someone in something and thinks they're an up and comer or some shit. The realities of casting in Hollywood, in America, often where it's people with connections, means that a certain amount of white washing will happen in a lot of movies.

There aren't a ton of asian actors, for example, that are big names that will be up for roles in many films. Of course, they could bring in ones from other countries and give them voice coaches if necessary.

But all of this only excuses so much. You might try to pick the best actor for the job, and one that will bring in more money, but when so many rolls are given to white actors when there have to be other actors that likely better fit the roll, but maybe aren't quite as famous, you gotta start to wonder.

I hope this beautiful actress was chosen because she was the best for the role...just as I hope various white actors were chosen because they were the best for the role...but that's really doubtful. I doubt that she would be very happy if she thought she was only chosen because she has melanin in her skin. I would guess that they're going for a more musical note, so they chose someone that's a singer. I hope that her skills were the primary reason they chose her.

But...it's hard to ignore that Hollywood has been pandering in recent history...

Maybe in another 50 years we won't have to worry about these things quite as much...if we haven't blown ourselves up.

Thank you very much for your opinion! I share it.
I’m sad about the fact that lately art is more and more like a very profitable and simple business. This is already anything - a policy, an arena for the struggle of interests, someone's connections or the availability of money. Art in the movie has very little.
Of course, I still continue to believe that this girl really was the best among all the other applicants for this role. And they took her solely for talent, and not because it is required by politics or tolerance.

Authors are also being told not to write historical fiction about minorities or gays unless they are themselves that race, that sexual orientation, even that "mental illness." This would seriously reduce the number of good books out there, if only those who've "been there, done that" are allowed to publish. Empathy and imagination have to fill in for experience, or we'd never have fairy tales, Star Wars, Harry Potter...

They should do the proper research to make sure they're correct...but you can't just bring forth stupid things that people say now days that have nothing to do with the subject. :P If that were possible, I could dismiss every argument anyone has. There are a lot of stupid people these days with stupid arguments. The idea that you should have control over your own body is not one of them. It is a fundamental argument against quite a number of things. Of course, someone's rights over one's own body are also regularly "violated" by the law. There are laws on what you can imbibe, an what procedures you can have, etc.

Hi @extractum-lunae!

It's interesting to read all of these debates and discussions regarding the casting for The Little Mermaid. I definitely agree with some of the points that you've brought up, particularly around how there weren't any complaints when non-Asian actors were casted for Avatar. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on this discourse with us! Looking forward to reading future posts.

Best Regards,
Blue Baikal
https://www.bluebaikal.io/en

Image of Blue Baikal Logo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 65012.58
ETH 3101.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86