Tips To Increase Serenity & Happiness In Your Life

in #life6 years ago

The constant stresses in life make us forget to focus on mental health and stability. We know that things like exercise and healthy eating are important in our lives. There's ton's of advice on how to maintain your weight and keep your body healthy, but what about doing things to keep your mind healthy? You've probably heard about the powers of positivity -- stay positive and good things will follow. Well, mental health involves a bit more than just positivity I believe.

Besides maintaining a positive and optimistic outlook about life and the things around us, what else can we do? Below is a list of things that I've found have helped me in my life. Some might be debatable for some people, but I think overall they apply to everyone fairly well and are applicable no matter your age, sex, religion, etc...

GOALS
No, I'm not talking about scoring points in a game (unless it's points in the game of life). Believe it or not, having goals leads to hopefully accomplishing them. The feeling of accomplishment is a necessity for mental health. Studies have shown that people who feel accomplished and productive actually maintain better overall mental health. To me, I feel like I'm able to set goals and redefine them as I see my life changing. Just because I had a goal when I was a kid to be a Firefighter doesn't mean I need to do that. By redefining goals (especially the longer ones), you're able to keep yourself motivated for what you want and also hopefully motivate yourself to accomplish them.

ENJOY THE SILENCE
Believe it or not, silence is extremely powerful. It lets you de-stress. I know sometimes when I'm in my car, I will intentionally have all noise and sounds off and just be alone in my car with the sounds of the wind and road around me. It's pretty peaceful and actually does a lot for mood. Now, I'm not advocating spending a majority of your time or life with silence (although I'm sure you parents wish you could!), but it's necessary to be able to not only actually be able to handle the silence, but to be able to enjoy it. I know plenty of my friends have a fit if they have to sit still with nothing around them to distract their audible sensations. Silence -- try it!

GRATITUDE
This one is extremely powerful. It's similar to having goals. People who express appreciation and gratitude for what they have are a lot happier. Additionally, they're a lot more at peace with their lives. When we focus on what we have instead of what we DON'T have, we end up being a lot happier. A lot of sense of discontent comes from jealousy and focusing on the negatives which aren't present in our lives. When we look at what we have that other people might not have, we get a great sense of appreciation. Try to feel blessed for what's in your life. When you focus on the good things and things you're thankful for, we increase our sense of serenity.

Untitled.png

KINDNESS & GENEROSITY
Being kind and pleasant to one another is extremely effective for increasing happiness in your life. It always baffles me how people can be so rude and impolite to one another. When you are positive and help one another out, you feel better as do the other people. Everyone wants people to be nice to them, so help return the favor. Things are definitely better when everyone is kind and generous with each other.

SLEEP
We all know we need this one. How many people actually prioritize it though? Personally, if I didn't have to sleep, I would love it. I definitely view it as a waste of time and an annoyance that I have to deal with it in life. It's necessary though, so I'll have to deal with it. As I'm sure everyone's noticed, things are better with more sleep, too (and more coffee). Definitely make sure you get enough sleep and you will see your zen level increasing.

CLEANLINESS
I just started thinking about this concept recently. I have noticed that I'm usually happier and less stressed when my environments aren't cluttered, messy and dirty. When we're in areas that are seemingly clean, it relaxes us more. Think about a time you went to a dirty bar or restaurant compared to a time when you went to a nice and clean one. Additionally, think about restrooms. Our intuition and subconscious feelings have us getting uptight and anxious in situations that are perceived as messy and dirty. That's because we typically associate these environments with being unsafe to our health. Keep up a clean environment and lifestyle and you'll notice serenity flowing easier.

Hopefully everyone experiences some great ways to enjoy peace, harmony, happiness, joy and love in your lives. If you have additional tips to share, please let me know! Thanks for all the love and support!

Sort:  

That was a great read. Reminded me of many things I put off and how unhealthy I can be at times trying give my kids and myself a good life. Working to much or to hard can suck the life out of you ! So many good reminders in this post. THANKS !!!! 100 percent up vote on this one.

Thanks so much! Glad you enjoyed :) I even forget a lot of these things too, so it's a nice reminder to write them out :)

Get your post resteemed to 72,000 followers. Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a

Thank you so much!

I think grateful to the circumstances we are experiencing now is a way to be happy

Definitely agree

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78