8 hour slow roast brisket on the Green Egg with home made beer and my friends Fabio and Ben!

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Today was the day I have been looking forward to for a while.

Our first attempt of making a real brisket on the green egg.

Last night my friend Fabio (@fabrews) and I went to butcher Schell to pick up the meat.

We marinated it overnight.

This morning after making my vlog I went to my grill to start the session.

It was going to be a long wait! But o man! What a great attempt it turned out to be.


Snapseed 3.jpg


I filled the Green Egg fully with enough coals for 8 hours and lit them with 3 fire starters. After they went out I put in the convector plate and closed the green egg. I regulated the temp until it was a stable 110 degrees Celcius.


Snapseed 11.jpg

Snapseed 12.jpg


Then I put the meat on.


Snapseed 2.jpg


Fabio arrived around an hour later with a huge confession. He trimmed to much of the fat off. It was a mistake. Luckily I saved the fat and it was in the fridge. We opted for a very pragmatic option of just layering the fat back on.


Snapseed 10.jpg


Half way through the slow roast we got hungry and Ben had arrived to so we fired up my old grill and prepared part of the back-up meat.


Snapseed 14.jpg


After 4 hours we took the brisket of the grill and wrapped it in baking paper. According to our studies online this would preserve moisture in the meat. We then put it back on for another 4 hours.


Snapseed 16.jpg

Snapseed 13.jpg


After all that time I could finally get the meat of the grill and I let it rest for 45 minutes. I unwrapped it and it looked like this. We cut into it and juice just poured out. It was awesome!


Snapseed 15.jpg

Snapseed 7.jpg


To give a better of how moist the meat was I made this small video.



We served the brisket on a simple bun with a home-made coleslaw and we had one of those special beers Fabio and I brewed not long ago.


Snapseed 4.jpg

Snapseed 5.jpg


For a first try I was very happy with the result.

Yes, there is a lot of room for improvement no doubt. But this is now the base line.

It has made me pretty curious what a brisket must taste like made by one of those pit-masters with decades of experience you seen in cooking shows.

It must be out of this world.

The rest of the night we talked and had some more beers and enjoyed each-others company.

The night was everything I could have hoped for!

It was fantastic!



I am a witness with our developer group @blockbrothers for the Steem blockchain. If you want to support us I would appreciate your vote here.

We build Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:


Sort:  

Looking good. I wish I was there and help you guys eat some and drink some beers.
Keep on steemin’

Perfct work done by a man of high reputation

That’s creative thinking! Way to roll with the punches! Lol 😂

@exyle,
Wow I think it's time to buy a Green Egg! This looks delicious and yummy! I think you all enjoyed it well!

Cheers~

Looks Delicious wow yum!

The meat looks soo tender. And beer 🍺 to it, what else can you wish for. I always try to make my meat as tender and delicious as possible. This way you can really enjoy your portion of delicious food. I’m glad you enjoyed your day with your friends.

I gotta tell ya, that brisket looks amazing! Looks as good as most brisket I've seen here in Austin. Great first effort man! I love it that you had backup meat in the fridge to cook while you were waiting for the brisket to finish :D

The beer is looking damn good too!

Thanks! And the backup meat ended up being a snack instead of backup :)

Looks like it came out pretty good. Might I suggest a YouTube channel I been following for several years, they are experts at 'Low & Slow" cooking . The channel is BBQpitboys. I think you will enjoy it.

I'll check them out. Thanks for the suggestion!

Owk this brisket looks really yummy but to have to wait for 8hours????? That's what I dunno of I can do so I might just have to go get an already made brisket. Sure it's gonna be more expensive coz of the stress in making it but I rather buy it than keep looking at something this yummy for 8hours to get ready...lolzz

The green egg is pretty easy to keep stable. Normally you would only have to open it once to wrap the meat and that's it. You can do all the daily chores while it is cooking no need to watch it :)

Oh yeah, finally came the hour when we saw the famous green egg and this meat that was marinated since yesterday! The result is excellent and since I'm also a big fan of roast meat, I should note that the meat after frying looks simply delicious and I'm sure it's delicious! Well, with delicious beers and in a good company, the more it's nice to eat! Thank you Mark.

That is a fabulous brisket @exyle! What kind of beer are you guys drinking?

This was a home-made brew by @fabrews. here

Light-bodied with a fruity aroma, that's very much to my taste. I guess a bit of a home-grown stuff would also make a good addition to your evening :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70839.13
ETH 3563.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77