Baby Sam reminded me of myself from 31 years ago.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

I saw baby Sam two times this week.

My sister came around last Sunday for a fast visit but I quickly noticed that something changed.

He's scared of me...

Or....well...he took one look at me and quickly hid behind his mom....

He reminded me of myself from 31 years ago.

I used to be exactly like that and it lasted for a very long time!


Yes, this is me from a long long time ago.


fast forward six years

There is a famous story that I am reminded of almost every year for the last 27 years.

I was six.

It was my best friends Ben (@bennierex, yes, our @blockbrothers developer) birthday and he lived across the street.

He's two weeks younger than me.

He gave a birthday party but I wouldn't go there.

No way I was going to such a scary party alone.

I don't know how it happened but I remember in the end that all the kids from the party were standing on the other side of the street calling my name.

"Mark! please come! It's ok!"

I was standing in the doorway of our house next to my mom.

And that was it. I would not go. Too scared!

I never forgot and neither has Ben.

I saw the same behaviour in Sam. It was a true flashback.

At some point I grew out of it but it lasted for years.

I hope Sam will do better :)

Now the second time I saw Sam this week was yesterday.

My sister asked Bianca to babysit and I came with her.

Sam wasn't amused when my sister left.

He clung to Bianca like she was his saviour.

Again he didn't like me too much.

I choose to ignore him and just excist and do my thing.

It took 30 minutes but he eventually crawled towards me and looked up.

I was normal once again!

I picked him up and we had a laugh.


IMG_0878.jpg


My sister later told me this is a phase.

It's apparently normal for his age.

Now, what he doesn't' t know yet is that he's coming here for the whole day next Saturday.

His mom and dad are both very busy.

The last time he came here it went so well! I felt like a pro.

But this time I'm a little less confident.

We will both have to overcome some fears this time.

Fingers crossed!



I am a witness with our developer group @blockbrothers for the Steem blockchain. If you want to support us I would appreciate your vote here.

We build Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:


Sort:  

Beautiful .. Haha
Cute .. Beautiful boy
Thank you for sharing your story with us.

Kids of that age often show that behavior and it perfectly normal. My son did that a lot and often people in my family did not understand that. Instead of leaving him alone, they kept jumping on him and asking him to come to them. All of that frustrated him. Children become easily over-stimulated and this results in frustration. What you did with your nephew- leaving him alone and not overwhelming him by picking him when he didn't want to was a great strategy. When you do not apparently take interest n a child, you increase his curiosity and prompt him to come to you. So when a person does not give attention to my son and does not ask him to shake hands with him, my son himself goes to that person cos he wants him to take interest in him. Your next babysitting day with your nephew will go just fine. Just don't overwhelm him, stay calm and introduce activities to him without asking him to do them. If you want him to play with you, start playing on your own with a toy. If you do want him to try a food, eat it yourself first. Show him things but don't ask him to do something or even prompt him and he'll come running to you. Love and good luck!

Great advice. Thank you!

Yes as your sister said it is the phase of life. I have also experienced it in my life and now everything is OK. I do not know the reason behind it but hormones may be responsible for it.

He is so cute. This is normal for his age, my girls knew screaming if they did not love someone. It will come to him when he realizes that you are always in the mood to play with him and that you are an inexhaustible source of toys and money. And when he is 18 years old he will borrow the car.

Most kids are like that at his age. Even the mighty outgoing talkative @lordjames would not play with people. Except a few friends that were close. I learned I use to hold tight to our babysitter and would cry if anyone tried to take me from her.

But once they get used to you, you'll be begging for them to leave you alone.

He got an amazing smile.

Even the mighty outgoing talkative @lordjames would not play with people.

that made me laugh man! Glad to read I wasn't the only one.

child looks like you :))

I dreaded going to kindergarten as a child and even now I can remember the sheer terror of being "abandoned" there :)))

Sam is following the family traits... It is fascinating to know that some characteristics and traits are passed from generation to generation.

Oh yeah, it's a very pleasant story and the fact that Sam is nervous at your meeting with you, my friend, this is quite normal behavior at his age, since he is still young and he is more attached to women and as you notice he needs a little time, that would get used to men. Then most likely Sam completely gets used to you and from you already does not lag :) Sam is a wonderful baby! Thank you Mark.

Well the baby is really very cute and hey...did you say that was you at 6years old????

How did you guys manage to get a coloured camera that sharp way back then? Thought you guys made use of black and white cameras back then. Well you looked very cute.

Secondly , seems you were just scared of people generally when you were little. You couldn't even go hang out with your own age mates...well that's funny coz I was like that too. Very timid but I have since outgrown that just like you.lolzzz

Yeah, nowadays I'm very open and can talk with everyone. In the picture at the top I'm 1 or 2 years old I think. It was the 80's! They had color photo's back then :)

We had a kodak instant back in the 70's where you pulled the photo out from the side they we're incolour back then just not very cheap.

Being a father of 5 and an uncle of "Wait for it."
48 niece and nephews 12 great niece and nephews lol I am No.4 of 11 children 5 brothers 5 sisters
many children go through it don't worry and do what you have been doing and try not to push too hard.
Great jumper BTW =)

I was surprised too with the photo quality far back as the 80's. Back then in my place, journalist were still using pencil and paper to sketch events for newspapers and someone here were already playing around with colour photographs. Life is funny.

you looked the same like sam how cute that was and seems like sam is enjoying there no need to keep fingers crossed enjoy with sam :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78